We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Had great experience in part nights”
Review of Colwick Hall Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Colwick Hall Hotel
Ranked #5 of 49 Hotels in Nottingham
Certificate of Excellence
Derby, United Kingdom
1 review
“Had great experience in part nights”
Reviewed 28 December 2013

Stayed in this hotel on December 19 with friends. The hotel has nice view with a late passing by every one will like the lovely location. We had great experience. We got pleasant welcome in the reception. The lake side pavilion was very well decorated. The staff were very polite and we'll dressed. The love the food there (bread roles, starters, turkey, dessert) its very delicious. The manager was so kind and he organised the party in perfect way. The Dj was superb I loved the music. The rooms are fantastic for the low price paid.
Beds very comfortable with tea coffee making facilities.

Bathrooms are a little on the small side but again serve the purpose.
Hotel is very secure too, key card needed to gain access to building and elevator.

Would not hesitate to book this hotel again mainly due to nice and lovely locations hitch takes 10-15 mins from bus station.

Room Tip: I highly recommend this hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Phil D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

647 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    366
    134
    73
    37
    37
See reviews for
138
249
18
116
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (138)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 December 2013

Had great day at colwick hall on Boxing Day , the staff were very friendly and the food really good for the Money we paid . The experience exceeded my expectations. Drinks where reasonably priced when a mistake was made with the deserts it was soon resolved, and extra coffees were offered. The grand ballroom was a lovely venue and overlooked the lovely grounds . This was a great treat for me as had cooked christmas dinner for six the day before. The hotel is stately but not stuffy and we felt very relaxed . Just the ticket after a stressful Christmas Day. We liked it so much that we will probably book again for next year.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sylvana186356
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nottingham, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 27 December 2013

Absolutely awful christmas dinner experience - only the camaraderie of other incredibly disappointed diners could save the day.

Terribly understaffed, and those who were employed were remarkably incompetent.

Some important lessons to be had though:
1) 'baked peach' appetizer - baked is a synonym for canned! I had no idea, but am happy to understand this now as it will save me much time in my own kitchen
2) 'gravy' can really be any sort of burned tasting, inedible grease that is poured over dried out meat
3) keep your shoes on, mysterious wet spots can appear anywhere!

clearly an attempt at maximising profits that went horribly, horribly wrong

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank anonymoose2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
reading
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 December 2013

We arrived for a two night stay on a Friday night asked if we could dine if we had been told no it would not be an issue. We were seated in Bryons , given menus ordered drinks and meals and were drinking our wine when we were told by Alex the manager the General manager had told him to move us to a reception area or another room as this was for Christmas dinners only and not for guests who are paying £140 a night !!!!. After a great deal of time Selva Muthalagappan who says he is owner came to speak to us ,he's attitude was that's the way it was eat in an area elsewhere on your own or don't eat at all. Based on his response we decided to leave the hotel then and stay elsewhere .

Having a lot of business intrest in tourism myself , I have tried to contact fellow director Kumar muthalagappan who unbelievably was on the visit Brittian committee , but seems to have the same not intrested attitude.

If this is the way he runs the product he is offering heaven help british tourism . Maybe early next year when he has an empty Bryons and hotel ,customer service may hit home.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank asmith907
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chelmsford, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 27 December 2013

We wanted to be away for Christmas as it had been a bad year and it needed to be in the Nottingham area. Colwick Hall Hotel was recommended. We could not fault the food or the regular staffs attitude. Christmas lunch in the Lakeside Pavilion was lovely; the food was hot and tasty. The peach and goats cheese starter was delicious; unfortunately it was my sisters! However, my meal was lovely. We also ate on arrival in the Brasserie and that was also very good. A visit and gift from Santa made my youngest granddaughters day. The break was only let down by the attention to detail. Our room was lovely but no seating area as per web site. You couldn't sit at the dressing table either. Also someone's boxer shorts and socks were still in one of the drawers; on checking the room prior to departure we also found a lady's shoe under the bed. We had a family room for 3 but only mugs for 2, and they had to be rewashed. Also, only 4 pillows between 3. Breakfast on Christmas morning was served in a different room to usual; the room had no Christmas decorations at all, and the curtains needed redressing and hooks reattaching. Not festive or that welcoming. Little things, but not top notch. Also, my youngest granddaughters bed broke while she was asleep in it and she spent the night sharing her parents bed. On examination it was obvious the bed was already broken and should not have been used. Conclusion - a lovely hotel with great food and great staff which should be top notch but isn't.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Susan W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
34 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 December 2013

We booked a family christmas dinner but unfortunatley my grandchildre contracted chicken spots the day before, okay not colwick halls fault, but they were not at all sympathtic, not even the offer of avoucher for another day, but we still went who could. Meal should have been for seven adults and three children, but it seems there was no communication between management and kitchen staff, because on the arrival of our starters we re eived every one of the, which was chaotic to say the least! On asking us if we would like drinks only three of the six of us were asked, and the staff did not know what drinks were available, so we did not get what we wanted, I asked for ahalf pint glass, but was told it came in a bottle, then got a pint glass, not very elegant for christmas day! We waited nearly an hour for mains, only to be brought milk for coffee, and whilst I got up to ask about the maIns the rest of the table were asked what they woukd like for dessert!, when the mains came tney were terrible
le, instant mash, carrots not peeled or topped, tasteless meat soggy veg, and no condiments on tne table, waiters had no idea of what they were doing, didnt seem trained at all, and we were not the only people to complain,. If you are thinking of going to colwick hall dont waste your money, we did get a refund, but that does not make up for a completley ruined christmas day, never again

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Glyn F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nottingham, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 21 December 2013

Attended X'mas party nights with my friends on 13th December 2013, got a warm welcome with drinks. We felt so comfortable being there in Colwick Hall Lakeside Pavilion. Perfectly organise with choice of starters, it followed by main course meal. The food was so tasty and highly hygienic, Also, well appreciated for cleanliness. Highly trained staff willing to serve in no time. Me and friends enjoyed the party to the fullest. Also, we are looking forward for the party on big Christmas day!!! Guys don't miss out the party here.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Nick W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Nottingham hotels
4.9 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Nottingham - Gateway
1.5 mi away
Jurys Inn Nottingham
Jurys Inn Nottingham
#7 of 49 in Nottingham
2,307 reviews
1.6 mi away
Lace Market Hotel Nottingham by Compass Hospitality
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.0 mi away
De Vere Orchard Hotel
De Vere Orchard Hotel
#6 of 49 in Nottingham
1,496 reviews
2.2 mi away
Roomzzz Nottingham City
Roomzzz Nottingham City
#1 of 49 in Nottingham
640 reviews
1.7 mi away
Mercure Nottingham City Centre Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Colwick Hall Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Colwick Hall Hotel

Property: Colwick Hall Hotel
Address: Colwick Park Colwick Road | Racecourse Road, Nottingham NG2 4BE, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Nottinghamshire > Nottingham
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#3 Luxury Hotel in Nottingham
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Colwick Hall Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Four Star Country House ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Ebookers and LateRooms so you can book your Colwick Hall Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Colwick Hall Nottingham

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing