We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wedding vow renewal”
Review of Colwick Hall Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Colwick Hall Hotel
Ranked #5 of 41 Hotels in Nottingham
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 24 February 2014

What a perfect day! The staff are brilliant and cant help enough.they are pleasant,polite and make you feel special.the food blew us away everyone loved it. The room was laid out exactly as we wanted and it was everything wed dreamt it would be and more. Rooms are stunning and location superb. Cant recommend enough. Thank you colwick hall.

  • Stayed: June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank tara206
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rajesh N, General Manager at Colwick Hall Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 25 February 2014

Dear tara206, Thank you for your kind words and am very pleased you had an amazing Wedding Vow renewal at Colwick Hall. I have just shared your review with the team and are always delighted to be of service. Kind Regards Rajesh

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (678)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

466 - 472 of 678 reviews

Reviewed 24 February 2014

We didn't stay or eat here with a party or wedding party - we were a one night leisure break attending a 40th birthday in town.

First impressions were lovely, but there are some key areas which really let this place down for the prices they are charging.

We stayed in room 209 - nice and quiet (just as we asked for) and big but devoid of much natural light - the only source being a less than 1m square window up the wall in the bedroom. But the room was big and clean and the bed was really comfy. The bathroom was good quality but showing signs of real wear and tear. (Tiny shower for MASSIVE bathroom tho). It was the finishing touches that disappointed - no flannels - toiletry bottles damaged and dinted and clearly refilled - mismatched cups for tea and coffee - instant sachets, no fridge, no safe, and lit by 2 strip lights for the main lighting (presumably as it was so dark) which made it feel cheap. Oh and the TV was temperamental at best, but did work once you found the knack.
The roman blind on the 1 very small window fitted badly, didn't cover the window and wasn't black out so really was a bit pointless.

We found the public areas to be constantly just a bit grimy - empty plates and glasses and the carpets needed a really good deep hoover - looked like the dust on the stair carpets had been there a long long time - random tables with grubby table cloths around outside room doors and the public seating shabby and a bit tired too.

In terms of catering, we paid around £9 for a pint of lager and a cup of tea the day we arrived which we felt was really expensive and opted for the cooked breakfast the following morning to see us on our way and wished we hadn't. What a shame as it could have been great - cheapest of cheap sausages and bacon which was tasteless and textureless, congealed scrambled eggs, mushrooms cooked in oil with no flavour (come on, a bit of butter and seasoning is all it would have taken) and cheap crumbly bread for the toast. Pepper on every table but no sign of any salt anywhere. First cup of coffee delicious then replaced with watered down rubbish. The Wilkins jams were a lovely touch but they didn't match the quality of the rest of the food. It was buffet and the food kept warm in bain maries which wasn't really a problem save for the quality and taste.

Now to the service - it was professional but not particularly warm, the catering staff were the same - a little disinterested as if things were a bit of a bother for them and in no rush which was also a shame as their motivation and positive engagement could have saved the day and pulled up the review a bit more.

However one person really stole the show here - Night Porter or late manager Ian - who gave us some exceptional customer service and went above and beyond the call of duty to help us - he is an asset to the business and we cannot praise him enough - he was the highlight of our stay.

At £158 including breakfast this wasn't a cheap option - If I'm honest, a premier travel inn would have given us as good of a bed for the night (although in smaller room) and their breakfasts were better than Colwick Hall - sorry Colwick Hall. I'd compare the price to a good Marriott weekend rate and it falls a long way short.

To top it off I was sent an e-mail with link to a customer survey which when I clicked through to leave this feedback told me the survey had closed last year.
It was an OK stay here, but that's all. Not great and not really awful. I would say poor value for money based on the price we paid.

Room Tip: Ask for a quiet room and one with a window - wedding below us went on until 1am. We were in 209 and...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank northerntraveller74
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rajesh N, General Manager at Colwick Hall Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 3 March 2014

Dear Northerntraveller74
Thank you for your constructive criticism and we take all customer feedback very seriously to continually improve and maintain high standards of service and quality. We have addressed all your points in great detail with our team and would sincerely like to welcome you again as your experience has clearly not been representative of our usual offering.
Kind regards Rajesh Nair

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 February 2014

I have stayed here twice recently on business. Both stays have been in William Pitt, The Younger (room 207). The room is very big as is the bathroom. The bathroom has some slightly loose tiles on the floor, but apart from this, I couldn't find fault.

Are in the restaurant on both stays (breakfast, lunch & dinner) and the food was good, although the menu didn't change between stays (January & February 2014). All were well presented and very tasty. Staff were very helpful, allowing my colleague and me to use a private area for our meeting.

All in all, very impressed & would like to go back for longer than one night with my wife!

Stayed: February 2014, travelled on business
Thank bigmac74
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rajesh N, General Manager at Colwick Hall Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 25 February 2014

Dear Bigmac74, Thank you for taking the time to write such a lovely review. I am glad that you enjoyed your stay on both occasions. We pride ourselves on offering consistently good service and food. . Kind Regards Rajesh

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 February 2014

Recently went here for 1 night for my birthday as a surprise from my boyfriend.
He booked on last minute and got a really good deal. We stayed in room 104, lovely room and really clean. HUGE bathroom, large stand alone bath - it was great/relaxing & lovely shower.
The water temp didn't get very hot, I like really hot baths and showers. The room was lovely and warm - perhaps a little too warm, got a bit too hot in the night.
Lovely view from the hotel window of the back of the house.
The staff were all lovely and treated us great. The breakfast was yummy, would have preferred a bigger selection of cereal and fruit though.
The hotel was lovely and peaceful, couldn't hear a sound and slept amazingly. We ate in the restaurant on the evening - lovely wine and food.
It was such a nice relaxing start and birthday, wish I could've stayed longer!!

Room Tip: We stayed in room 104, was lovely!! :)
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lucy1992
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rajesh N, General Manager at Colwick Hall Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 25 February 2014

Dear lucy1992, we are delighted to read your superb review and am so glad you thoroughly enjoyed your stay with us.

It was a pleasure to serve you and read your kind words about our hospitality and grand bedroom.
Kind regards Rajesh

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 February 2014

At the end of a week of the worst storms in the UK for many years, the rain held off long enough to squeeze in a wedding in Nottingham. Colwick Hall was the location for the reception and was where several members of the bride's family and friends stayed overnight.

Everything apart from the wedding ceremony itself took place at Colwick Hall. Photos, pre-reception drinks in the champagne bar, the reception in the ballroom and the evening disco. The previous evening we'd held a family dinner in the private dining room.

We'd had the chance to discuss arrangements with the hotel's events planner, and a menu tasting with the bride, groom and the groom's parents several months ago, where we had agreed the dinner with the head chef.

On the day the staff could not have been more friendly and helpful. The reception went without a hitch with good quality food served efficiently and hot to 70 guests. The ballroom was airy and simply dressed by the hotel, complemented with floral arrangements and candelabras supplied by our own florist. (The hotel coordinated well with the florist, the wedding cake providers, the photographer, the DJ and the fireworks display team.) The day will be special for many reasons, and Colwick Hall will remain as a contributor to such a successful occasion.

Rooms are decorated very much in keeping with the hotel's history of being home to the poet Lord Byron. They're large, warm and well-furnished.

We would highly recommend Colwick Hall as a wedding venue. The only drawbacks were a somewhat cold private dining room on the eve of the wedding and--mainly due to the listed nature of the building--some loss of privacy caused by the fact that there are communicating doors between some of the rooms.

Room Tip: Get a view--over the lake at the back, or over the racecourse at the front--because some of the room...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank colemorefarm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rajesh N, General Manager at Colwick Hall Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 25 February 2014

Dear Colemorefarm, It was indeed a pleasure for my team to serve you & your Guests for your Daughters Wedding. Thank you for your wonderful feedback and comments. We were honoured to serve you and your guests and it is simply our pleasure. Kind regards Rajesh

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 February 2014

My husband and myself decided we wanted to celebrate valentines day with something special as it was the first one after we got married.
We chose colwick hall to go for a meal as it looked lovely and the menu seemed impressive and at nearly £35 a head we considered it to be something we wouldn't do every day.
As we arrived and were shown to our table we were surprised that our coats weren't taken, we put these on the back of our chairs, as you would in any pub/casual eating establishment.
The service to begin with was ok, but the restaurant was quite empty at this point. Our food arrived promptly. The starter was nice. The main was disappointing. We ordered 'rib of beef with thyme Yorkshire pudding' what we got was a below average Sunday roast. I mean it was edible but we would have got better at Toby carvery. The beef was like the pre-packed slices you'd buy from a supermarket and the Yorkshire pudding was like a premade frozen one. Although the vegetables were all fresh, the whole thing was quite bland. There was no salt or pepper pots and no sauces for the beef available nor offered on the tables and by this point the restaurant was quite busy and it was increasingly difficult to catch anyone's attention.
The dessert was also nice (just nice - nothing special)
Our dessert pots were cleared and then according to the menu we should have been having 'tea,coffee and chocolate truffles' after half an hour of waiting for someone to come back, our glasses empty and several attempts at trying to catch someone's attention, we managed to order our tea and coffee, alas NO CHOCOLATE TRUFFLES :( also the coffee came in a tiny tea cup on a saucer that it didn't match.
Some of my points might seem like 'nit picking' and maybe our expectation were too high but in my opinion, that sort of price tag commands something a bit more special with attention to detail.
Had we paid £15-£20 per head, we would have been happy with that but we didn't and subsequently feel a bit 'ripped off' and very disappointed.
Needless to say we stopped off at mcdonalds on the way home,which was far more enjoyable.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Charlotte W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 February 2014

Like others I saws the mixed reviews which always casts a doubt but the hotel is rather quaint.

Public areas have been well looked after including a fabulous bar/brasserie.

We were put in the Mozart room which was massive, and a huge bathroom to match. Very Georgian in terms of look/feel and despite being large the room was very room thanks to an efficient heating system.

Breakfast was very nice, and no problems with noise. The only thing that stopped it getting 5 stars was that the carpet was a little tired, and one of the curtains was hanging down. Both could be fixed but needs a little more attention to detail.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MalcH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Nottingham hotels
4.9 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Nottingham - Gateway
4.0 mi away
De Vere Orchard Hotel
De Vere Orchard Hotel
#6 of 41 in Nottingham
1,538 reviews
2.2 mi away
Roomzzz Nottingham City
Roomzzz Nottingham City
#1 of 41 in Nottingham
670 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 mi away
Jurys Inn Nottingham
Jurys Inn Nottingham
#7 of 41 in Nottingham
2,421 reviews
1.6 mi away
Lace Market Hotel Nottingham by Compass Hospitality
6.0 mi away
The Nottingham Belfry - A QHotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Colwick Hall Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Colwick Hall Hotel

Address: Colwick Park Colwick Road | Racecourse Road, Nottingham NG2 4BE, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Nottinghamshire > Nottingham
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#3 Luxury Hotel in Nottingham
Price Range: £66 - £179 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Colwick Hall Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Four Star Country House ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Expedia, LateRooms and Ebookers so you can book your Colwick Hall Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Colwick Hall Nottingham

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing