We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“An historical and grand hotel with down to earth staff”
Review of Colwick Hall Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Colwick Hall Hotel
Ranked #5 of 41 Hotels in Nottingham
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 16 June 2014

Stayed for wedding anniversary. Stunning room,excellent food and great service.huge thanks to Sam,you went above and beyond for us. Laura and primod,superb service. Binoy always so friendly and polite.another lovely stay.

  • Stayed: June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank tara206
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (678)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

448 - 454 of 678 reviews

Reviewed 15 June 2014

Great location and a Stunning Building....very welcoming staff with an easy check in to a large beautifully furnished room.... huge quality fitted bathroom...all very well appointed....only slight downside disappointing rather corporate soulless Bistro Restaurant very out of keeping to rest of hotel...all in all a very pleasant stay.

Stayed: June 2014
Thank MontuDorset
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 June 2014 via mobile

Stayed for one night and was given a tiny bedroom. Was woken very early in the morning by the maid stomping around and slamming doors. We needed as much sleep as we could get as had a lot of driving to do that day. Because we were woken up so early I asked the receptionist if we could have a later checkout and was told this was not possible. On the plus side it is a very beautiful place and the surroundings were stunning. It's just a shame the noisy staff and tiny room ruined our stay.

Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
2  Thank scottimus13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 May 2014

Saturday night and only 3 other couples and our party of four in the restaurant gave us an initial impression that something was wrong. On arrival no-one offered to take our coats, so placed on the back of our chairs. Food only just OK, paid extra for a small dish of vegetables, but no means of getting them out of the bowl. Asparagus shoots were woody tough and fibrous, very little sauce with the blade of beef leaving it a bit dry. Mashed potatoes were obviously re-warmed having a strong starchy taste.
Sticky toffee pudding was only just warm and resembled something pre-packed from a supermarket. Only a spoon was provided to eat the pudding, so had to help ourselves to forks from the empty table next to us.
An ordered small lime and lemon drink turned up in a pint glass which was then simply poured into a half pint glass and was just a glass of soda water.
The staff clearly had no idea how to make coffees, or for that matter anything else. On an adjacent table two Cappuccino were ordered but something in latte glasses appeared and were questioned by the guests. The two Lattes we ordered turned up in two small tea cups and looked like flat white coffee. The girl apologized for the cups as she said they had no more latte glasses!!!! As the coffee was not latte by any standard we refused to accept it.

Overall a very poor showing and perhaps we now understand why the restaurant was devoid of customers for a Saturday night. Our advise is to ignore the "over-egged" pictures and web-site blurb and go elsewhere to get better value and better service.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
3  Thank Lowephi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 May 2014

We had afternoon tea in Byron's Brasserie, the service and food were excellent. We had with a big pot of tea (PG Tips), sandwiches and quiche and a platter of cakes. This included scones, jam and clotted cream, fruit cake, cookies, strawberry tarts and a Pimms jelly.

All the food was lovely!

Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
1  Thank redbrowny
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 May 2014

The formal dinner event we recently had at Colwick Hall wasn't a failure in any particular area, but more lacked the sort of finesse and silver service that their website seems to suggest. Being a group of students, I can see and do not take exception to the staff taking a slightly more relaxed attitude to the event then perhaps they would for a wedding.

However, out of all the male staff I saw, not a single one had their top button or tie done up, which I believe is just disrespectful to us as paying customers. This was really my main gripe, the staff were incredibly friendly, although a few more wouldn't have gone a miss, as the wait between plates being cleared and the next course being served was substantial.

The food and the DJ were also mediocre at best; the potato cakes had the distinct taste of having been microwaved, and the DJ had a very frosty demeanour, as well as an un-original selection of wedding hits type music that I can imagine is simply regurgitated at all the events he hosts. So I am afraid that if asked, all in all, I wouldn't recommend Colwick Hall to a friend!

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Henry W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 May 2014

We have stayed at cowlick hall hotel a couple of times. Beautiful rooms and friendly staff. Our friend missed his train and all hotels in nottingham were fully booked. Colwick Hall opened up the annex next to our room and made up a bed. Very impressed with how helpful and flexible the staff are.
Will definitely be coming back again
Will and Christien Bird

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Christien B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Nottingham hotels
4.9 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Nottingham - Gateway
4.0 mi away
De Vere Orchard Hotel
De Vere Orchard Hotel
#6 of 41 in Nottingham
1,538 reviews
2.2 mi away
Roomzzz Nottingham City
Roomzzz Nottingham City
#1 of 41 in Nottingham
670 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 mi away
Jurys Inn Nottingham
Jurys Inn Nottingham
#7 of 41 in Nottingham
2,421 reviews
1.6 mi away
Lace Market Hotel Nottingham by Compass Hospitality
6.0 mi away
The Nottingham Belfry - A QHotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Colwick Hall Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Colwick Hall Hotel

Address: Colwick Park Colwick Road | Racecourse Road, Nottingham NG2 4BE, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Nottinghamshire > Nottingham
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#3 Luxury Hotel in Nottingham
Price Range: £66 - £179 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Colwick Hall Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Four Star Country House ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA and Ebookers so you can book your Colwick Hall Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Colwick Hall Nottingham

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing