We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Baffled by poor reviews - first class wedding”
Review of Colwick Hall Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Colwick Hall Hotel
Ranked #9 of 41 Hotels in Nottingham
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 20 July 2014

There are a number of worrying reviews of this hotel. My wife and I were married here in April and the process from start to finish was exceptional. Dicta was our coordinator and nothing was too much trouble and the attention to detail was excellent. We had over 100 guests and almost everyone has commented on what an excellent venue it was, the day guests in particular we're hugely impressed with the quality of the food and attentiveness of the staff. We had visited countless local venues and without going into detail we definitely struck lucky with Colwick Hall.
When we attended for our menu tasting we got a little worried as a couple of the courses we had chosen were not at the standard we expected. We fed our concerns back, requesting some amendments. We were assured this would be dealt with and true to their word, on the day itself the food was excellent. I think a lot of people almost accept that mass catering at weddings will be average at best, however countless guests commented it was the best wedding breakfast they'd ever had.
We would 100% recommend Colwick Hall for a wedding, we stayed in the honeymoon suite which was a beautiful classic room, all the guests who stayed at the Hall said their rooms were also lovely. Therefore it would also make an excellent destination for a special break.
As explained we did have a slight issue at the restaurant however this was resolved and everyone who ate there during their stay said it was fantastic.
So whilst it might be a little more expensive than local alternatives, it is definitely worth it if you want to spoil yourselves. If you do have any issues just speak to the staff who will do everything to resolve any hitches.

Room Tip: All rooms are unique and decorated as you'd expect of a grand building. Talk to the bookings des...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank boyofdarovers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rajesh N, General Manager at Colwick Hall Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 10 August 2014

Dear boyofdarovers,

we are delighted to read your superb review and am so glad you & your Guests thoroughly enjoyed your Wedding day with us.

It was a pleasure to serve you and read your kind words about our hospitality .

Kind regards
Rajesh

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (733)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

500 - 506 of 733 reviews

Reviewed 18 July 2014

Firstly when contacting Cowlick Hall it was to organise plans for our wedding and our budget wasn’t an option, looking on the internet to myself it was perfect had everything elegant and beautiful.
We had arrange to meet the wedding events co-coordinator, having to travel 45-50 minutes straight after work we arrived first impressions were amazing, how upon entering the reception there wasn’t a single member of staff around, no one on reception after waiting 15 minutes with more people arriving I decided to go and have a look for a member of staff whom could help. If he could go and find a member of staff as the reception was becoming a little what busy, this was too much of an effort and no apology. Then when the young lady arrived at reception she said YES in a very harsh vocal to which I was taken aback by as I’m young myself and thought working in a venue such as this she would have at the least had some manners.
As you can imagine my fiancé was not impressed and stated were not getting off to a good start at all.
Then a lady came to out to us 15 minutes later to show us around, with no introduction to whom she was, no hand shake we followed her into what was known as the campaign lounge were she said “SIT”. We are not animals and would have appreciated a little bit more courtesy. When the lady started introducing the room we were sat in the, lady mid-way through conversation rudely spoke to a member of staff in regards to an undressed table. She then lead us into the civil ceremony (Grand ballroom) to where we got the impression that everything we wanted was not an option it had to be done their way or no way.
We had also wanted to have our reception in the marquee, however she said she was unable to show us around as the staff were preparing for an event. We can appreciate that people may have booked an event but the lady wasn’t to bothered that we didn’t see it anyway. And didn’t get shown any of the beautiful grounds that are externally at the rear of the hall.
We then got lead to lower stair case to where she went through the different rooms cowlick hall had to offer she stated that the cheaper room was better option, we continued into the breakfast room then got shown around the toilet with nothing being said.
My partner that asked if she could work out some prices and email them over to us, which she said we can go through them now (most helpful part of the visit). When going through what bespoke package we wanted we made our decision on the drinks and then she automatically assumed we wanted the cheaper main to which fiancé by this part was getting extremely uncomfortable. Then when discussing Buffett options, I stated option 2 the higher price out of the two. To her response was “It’s not for me to say but ARE YOU SURE”, like we were something on the bottom of her shoe. Literally by this point we had had enough, and couldn’t get out of there any quicker.
I have never felt so humiliated. Downgraded and spoken to with lowest of respect in my whole life. All because my partner didn’t walk in a Gucci suit, we felt like the filth under the hall itself with our experience of this venue.
I can assure you I would never recommend nor return to this venue.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Ashleigh8107
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 June 2014

This Inn/Hotel was built in the 1200’s. Room was huge but building and grounds need a lot of TLC. Much of the décor does not fit what age of the hotel. Windows need new shades/curtains. They do not offer wash cloths otherwise known as flannel. The restaurant was terrible. Worse food we had on our entire trip. could be a great spot if they would remodel and get a new chef

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank djf58
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 June 2014

Stayed for wedding anniversary. Stunning room,excellent food and great service.huge thanks to Sam,you went above and beyond for us. Laura and primod,superb service. Binoy always so friendly and polite.another lovely stay.

  • Stayed: June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank tara206
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 June 2014

Great location and a Stunning Building....very welcoming staff with an easy check in to a large beautifully furnished room.... huge quality fitted bathroom...all very well appointed....only slight downside disappointing rather corporate soulless Bistro Restaurant very out of keeping to rest of hotel...all in all a very pleasant stay.

Stayed: June 2014
Thank MontuDorset
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 June 2014 via mobile

Stayed for one night and was given a tiny bedroom. Was woken very early in the morning by the maid stomping around and slamming doors. We needed as much sleep as we could get as had a lot of driving to do that day. Because we were woken up so early I asked the receptionist if we could have a later checkout and was told this was not possible. On the plus side it is a very beautiful place and the surroundings were stunning. It's just a shame the noisy staff and tiny room ruined our stay.

Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
2  Thank scottimus13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 May 2014

Saturday night and only 3 other couples and our party of four in the restaurant gave us an initial impression that something was wrong. On arrival no-one offered to take our coats, so placed on the back of our chairs. Food only just OK, paid extra for a small dish of vegetables, but no means of getting them out of the bowl. Asparagus shoots were woody tough and fibrous, very little sauce with the blade of beef leaving it a bit dry. Mashed potatoes were obviously re-warmed having a strong starchy taste.
Sticky toffee pudding was only just warm and resembled something pre-packed from a supermarket. Only a spoon was provided to eat the pudding, so had to help ourselves to forks from the empty table next to us.
An ordered small lime and lemon drink turned up in a pint glass which was then simply poured into a half pint glass and was just a glass of soda water.
The staff clearly had no idea how to make coffees, or for that matter anything else. On an adjacent table two Cappuccino were ordered but something in latte glasses appeared and were questioned by the guests. The two Lattes we ordered turned up in two small tea cups and looked like flat white coffee. The girl apologized for the cups as she said they had no more latte glasses!!!! As the coffee was not latte by any standard we refused to accept it.

Overall a very poor showing and perhaps we now understand why the restaurant was devoid of customers for a Saturday night. Our advise is to ignore the "over-egged" pictures and web-site blurb and go elsewhere to get better value and better service.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
3  Thank Lowephi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Nottingham hotels
1.6 mi away
Lace Market Hotel Nottingham by Compass Hospitality
4 mi away
De Vere Orchard Hotel
De Vere Orchard Hotel
#5 of 41 in Nottingham
1,606 reviews
4.9 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Nottingham - Gateway
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.2 mi away
Roomzzz Nottingham City
Roomzzz Nottingham City
#1 of 41 in Nottingham
704 reviews
1.7 mi away
Mercure Nottingham City Centre Hotel
2.2 mi away
Hart's Hotel
Hart's Hotel
#14 of 41 in Nottingham
549 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Colwick Hall Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Colwick Hall Hotel

Address: Colwick Park Colwick Road | Racecourse Road, Nottingham NG2 4BE, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Nottinghamshire > Nottingham
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#5 Luxury Hotel in Nottingham
Price Range: £58 - £179 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Colwick Hall Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Four Star Country House ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia and Ebookers so you can book your Colwick Hall Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Colwick Hall Nottingham

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing