We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“excellent location and quality of apartment”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
SACO Nottingham - The Ropewalk
Reviewed 3 July 2014

We hired an apartment here for a trip to Nottingham - walking distance to great shops and eateries and relatively protected from city centre madness on a Saturday night. Quite a trek from the central train station however - you might take a taxi when you arrive by public transport.,

Apartment was extremely well equipped with great toiletries and kitchen utensils. The apartments themselves have been newly updated and are very clean and tasteful, although the entrance and stairwells are still in need of some redecoration..

The one big disadvantage to this provider is the huge (£500) safety deposit you are required to pay a few days before you arrive. This is twice the deposit I've paid elsewhere for an apartment, however, this may serve as a deterrent for those wishing to trash the accommodation. I'd definitely recommend these apartments however for a comfortable city break at affordable prices if you book in advance.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Rhossiligg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JennieGM, Manager at SACO Nottingham - The Ropewalk, responded to this reviewResponded 6 March 2015

Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to review your stay at SACO Nottingham. We are delighted you enjoyed your stay with us.

We look forward to welcoming you back when you are next in Nottingham.

Kind Regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (72)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

47 - 53 of 72 reviews

Reviewed 29 June 2014

After staying in a hotel for several days decided to treat myself with an apartment, wish I'd picked The Ropewalk earlier. Very comfortable one bedroom apartment, welcome pack a great feature. The information pack provided was very helpful sad that other places aren't as thoughtful. Will definitely stay at a SACO apartment again.

Room Tip: I chose a one bedroom apartment! very roomy, get an apartment on 1st floor or higher for light and v...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Smurf186
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JennieGM, Manager at SACO Nottingham - The Ropewalk, responded to this reviewResponded 6 March 2015

Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to review your stay at SACO Nottingham. We are delighted you enjoyed your stay with us and the welcome pack you receive on arrival.

We look forward to welcoming you back when you are next in Nottingham!

Kind Regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 May 2014 via mobile

We were really impressed. Perfect location close to the town centre.
The apartment was big, clean, nicely maintained and really well stocked with everything we could have needed in the kitchen. Nice little welcome touches too. Will definitely use again.

Stayed: May 2014, travelled with friends
Thank Nicky W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JennieGM, Manager at SACO Nottingham - The Ropewalk, responded to this reviewResponded 6 March 2015

Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to review your stay at SACO Nottingham. We are delighted you enjoyed your stay with us and location was perfect for your needs.

We look forward to welcoming you back when you are next in Nottingham.

Kind Regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 March 2014

Our apartment in The Ropewalk in Nottingham was ideal for staying over in Nottingham whilst my boys attended a excellent MT13 hockey camp at Beeston/Highfields Hockey Club. Far better to have an apartment,home away from home, than to stay in a hotel and have to pay for every meal when the boys were tiered after three days training! Will definitely use again and tell our friends! Also excellent to be round the corner from Browns Brasserie - an old favourite - to treat my niece at Sheffield Uni to lunch:)

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Alison N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JennieGM, Manager at SACO Nottingham - The Ropewalk, responded to this reviewResponded 6 March 2015

Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to review your stay at SACO Nottingham. We are delighted you enjoyed your stay with us and the SACO home from home experience.

We look forward to welcoming you back when you are next in Nottingham!

Kind Regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 November 2013

I booked this hotel as a surprise night away for my boyfriend, we walked there from the train station which took around 15 minutes so not a bad walk, although there were a couple of hills so wouldn't recommend if carrying lots of heavy bags.
When we first arrived at reception it didn't really feel like a hotel as reception was a small office and could have felt a bit more welcoming, however staff were friendly enough and we were told all that we needed to know.
When we went into our room, we were pleasantly surprised with how much space there was. I knew that it would be an apartment style but the standard of the décor, cleanliness and space was excellent. Although the décor was neutral it still felt very homely and welcoming.
The appliances and freebies provided were fantastic with everything we needed.
The location is great, only a 5 minute walk into the centre.
We paid £84 for this room which was £1 cheaper than the local premier inn, I would say this was a bargain!
We would definitely stay here again, our only complaint is that we were not staying longer!

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank penny2503
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JennieGM, Manager at SACO Nottingham - The Ropewalk, responded to this reviewResponded 6 March 2015

Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to review your stay at SACO Nottingham. We are delighted you enjoyed your stay with us.

We look forward to welcoming you back when you are next in Nottingham!

Kind Regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 September 2013

Stayed her with 3 friends for my 30th birthday, Have visited Nottingham previously so was familiar with the city centre but not the location of the apartments.

On arrival we were aware that we could not check in until 4pm, which is slightly late and almost a day wasted. However, having paid for car parking in advance we were allowed access to the underground car park immediately having asked at reception.

The underground car park is small but we stayed Friday to Sunday and the most cars we saw in there was 3. Very secure and well lit. Would definitely recommend over their outside facilities which seem to be on the pavement and room for roughly 3 cars??!!

We looked around the city, which is literally 10 minutes walk away, and returned to the apartments at roughly 4pm. We had the code to unlock the safe on reception where our keys were available. Turns out we had been given the top floor, not sure if this was intentional based on our booking, but we were very excited!

The apartment itself was lovely. The photos on here are of the one we stayed in by the looks of it. 2 bedrooms, 2 bathrooms, kitchen and dining area. Plenty of space for us and very bright and clean. We were surprised to see the welcome pack containing milk, tea/coffee and cereal but was very much appreciated! The views were fantastic, although I'm sure the neighbours get used to people looking out!

Everything was very easy to use, the "apartment guide" came in handy when trying to operate the central heating. Everything you could imagine is provided, including a safe.

I wish I had booked in to this apartment complex on my previous stay, it is so convenient and comfortable, much better than being stuck in your hotel room, communal areas are so much more sociable.

I would recommend this apartment to everybody, no matter what your reason for an overnight stay is. On the top floor we heard no noise apart from the local church bells, I couldn't tell you if we had any neighbours but we certainly didn't hear anything.

My only criticism would be that the windows were a little breezy and the late check in time is a little inconvenient. However, parking on the roadside is only £1 all weekend and there was plenty of it. So don't avoid arriving early as you can leave your car and the reception staff are most helpful. One more point, the reception is not staffed 24/7, although we didn't find we needed anybody other than on arrival, it may delay any plans if you arrive outside the staff hours.

I will definitely use this company again, not only in Nottingham but in other cities too. The £500 security deposit is quite high, although this money (touch wood) has not been taken from me and I have now returned from our stay. It was suppose to have been taken 2 weeks ago!

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Phoenix172003
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JennieGM, Manager at SACO Nottingham - The Ropewalk, responded to this reviewResponded 6 March 2015

Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to review your stay at SACO Nottingham. We are delighted you enjoyed your stay with us.
We look forward to welcoming you back when you are next in Nottingham.

Kind Regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 September 2013

Myself and two friends were in Nottingham for the first Ashes Test at Trent Bridge. We struggled to find suitable hotel accommodation in Nottingham and came across the Ropewalk Apartments and decided to stay there. We were delighted with our choice. Conveniently located in a quiet part of town, two of the rooms were on the second floor and were bright, spacious (separate lounge and kitchen) and well equipped for a substantially longer stay than our 3 nights. Both had queen beds. The third room was on the bottom floor and didn't have the same amount of natural light. It also had two single beds. While it was adequate, would suggest making sure you get a room on the second floor or higher.

Room Tip: Make sure you get a room on level 2 or above.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Derek B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JennieGM, General Manager at SACO Nottingham - The Ropewalk, responded to this reviewResponded 6 September 2013

Dear Guest

Thank you for your review, it was very pleasing to read that you enjoyed your stay at SACO Nottingham and we hope to welcome you back in the near future.

Kind regards

Majella McGeown
Apartment Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Nottingham hotels
0.9 mi away
Jurys Inn Nottingham
Jurys Inn Nottingham
#6 of 41 in Nottingham
2,515 reviews
0.2 mi away
Roomzzz Nottingham City
Roomzzz Nottingham City
#1 of 41 in Nottingham
688 reviews
0.3 mi away
Park Plaza Nottingham
Park Plaza Nottingham
#21 of 41 in Nottingham
2,013 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.8 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Nottingham - Gateway
0.7 mi away
Lace Market Hotel Nottingham by Compass Hospitality
0.7 mi away
Holiday Inn Nottingham
Holiday Inn Nottingham
#19 of 41 in Nottingham
720 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to SACO Nottingham - The Ropewalk? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about SACO Nottingham - The Ropewalk

Address: Saco House The Ropewalk, Nottingham NG1 5DQ, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Nottinghamshire > Nottingham
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 13 Speciality Lodging in Nottingham
Price Range: £69 - £157 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — SACO Nottingham - The Ropewalk 4*
Number of rooms: 27
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated on The Ropewalk, these stylish and contemporary one and two bedroom apartments have commanding views over The Park, and are conveniently located for the city centre. Each beautifully furnished apartment has a large living and dining area, fully equipped kitchen, master bedroom with king size bed and separate bathroom. Two bedroom apartments have king size beds and additional en-suite shower rooms. Reception is by arrangement. *Broadband access now available in all apartments* ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Expedia, LateRooms, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your SACO Nottingham - The Ropewalk reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing