We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great customer service - handy for Nottingham”

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Rockaway Hotel & Restaurant
Ranked #21 of 42 Nottingham B&B and Inns
Northampton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Great customer service - handy for Nottingham”
Reviewed 18 April 2013

My wife, myself and our 3 YO stayed here twice in recent months.
We find it very homely and Adam looked after us extremely well - customer service here is warm and welcoming.
The evening food and value for money is great.
The hotel is located near Beeston railway station which takes the hassle out of staying in more expensive city centre locations. It is also a five minute walk to two of the best pubs in the country (the Vic and the Crown).
We had a spacious room in the annex - which could comfortably have slept 4.
I think it is good value for money and has excellent homely food and service.
We are looking forward to going back.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Philmc_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

65 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    28
    17
    5
    8
    7
See reviews for
12
10
11
23
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Durham
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 March 2013

Stayed at this hotel recently, well I say that, I was actually taken to a nondescript old building across the road that had dated and cracked paintwork, stained ceilings on the staircases and dirty carpet. From then on in I regretted agreeing to pay £51 for the room. Lampshade was hanging off, , a small punch hole in the bathroom door, cold tap wouldn't turn off, no thermo control on the radiator and no bulb in the bedside lamp. Relaxing with a coffee and the TV didn't happen because the milk that I put in the coffee was off and curdled and the TV didnt work. Heating must have been completely turned off during the night as I had to put on some work thermals and sweatshirt and jogging bottoms and was still freezing. Had to go across the road for breakfast which was passable but nothing to write home about. The owner was pleasant enough and the ground floor of the main building seemed in a lot better condition than where I was put. Did I complain? no I didnt need the hassle and knew I wouldn't be staying again. To summarize, the room was worth no more than £30.

Room Tip: Insist on booking into the main hotel unless you want to pay hotel prices to stay in what is basical...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank John P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Exeter
Level Contributor
14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 March 2013

Arrived for a 3 night stay early in the day and was told No problem, come on - Very welcoming.

Very comfortable room, clean and excellent provision for tea and coffee.

2nd night - downstairs for a meal, great choice of food (I would recommend the Sirloin), a ful plate of freshly prepared food and service (although very busy) with a smile and nothing is too much bother.
This is how I know restaurants abroad to be and it is great to see the harm and manners of this restauranteer - Keep it up!

Will be coming back on a regular basis

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Paul H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Selby, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 February 2013

Booked in for one night to attend a wedding. The decor of the room was very dated and didn't seem too clean. Would definitely have benefitted by a visit from the 'Hotel Inspector'!!

The room was absolutely baking hot, the radiator couldn't be turned off by us, so we spent half the night barely able to breathe, then we finally gave in and opened a window about three am and was kept awake for the rest of the night by the still heavy traffic outside our window!

However, having said all that, the manager was super friendly and very welcoming, the food wasn't at all like the review by 'hagri' claims it was. It was hot, fresh and plentiful, with extras offered if wanted.

All in all, if the decor could be a little more up to date and carpets replaced, (and the radiator fixed!) then it would be a cracking place to stay!

Which I would do.

Room Tip: Booked in for one night to attend a wedding. Room was very dated and not brilliantly clean, would d...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sandra M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Selby, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 21 December 2012

Stayed at the Rockaway for roughly 3 weeks on and off as I was working nearby. Great hotel, great location, 10 mins walk from town centre. Stayed in the main hotel and the annex and they both provide decent internet access. Clean rooms, cumfy beds and chambermaid calls every day. Adam is a very nice bloke who does not see you as a guest but more as a friend, will have a drink with you and if there is anything he can do for you then you can consider it done. Nice food, decent bar and a log fire for the winter. Due back down there in March and I shall be booking this hotel again.

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank stevemcintosh123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
High Wycombe, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 December 2012

I must admit that having read the comments below I was a bit apprehensive, but I was pleasantly surprised by the quality of this hotel. I stayed in a double room in the main building that was very spacious, clean and warm and excellent value for money at £64 per night. Free wifi too. The double bed was very comfortable and warm and I must admit that I had the best nights sleep I've had in a long time. The fully licensed restaurant downstairs serves excellent food Monday to Saturday, and the fillet steak was cooked to perfection. Adam and the staff were very friendly and couldn't have been more helpful. I would strongly recommend you give this hotel a try, next time you're in the area. Don't believe all you read below!

Room Tip: If you can manage the stairs, I would recommend a double room on the top floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Barry W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 December 2012

Stayed here for one night when i arrived i regretted it the decor was so dated i thought i was in an old peoples home. The manager seemed ok but when leaving you could tell he was only after my money..creep the room was clean good size tv bed was as hard as the floor and once again the bad decor continued. Went for a shower couldnt get hot water only lukewarm..very annoying wifi wasfree but super slow breakfast was just about enough to fill a five year old and tasted 3 days old. Coffee was lowsy...overall overpriced and dissapoint stay. Rather stay with my nan. Would not return ever.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank hagri
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Nottingham hotels
0.3 mi away
Fairhaven Hotel
Fairhaven Hotel
#1 of 1 in Beeston
43 reviews
2.4 mi away
De Vere Venues Jubilee Conference Centre
1.9 mi away
Village Hotel Nottingham
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.0 mi away
Travelodge Nottingham Riverside Hotel
1.2 mi away
De Vere Orchard Hotel
De Vere Orchard Hotel
#5 of 49 in Nottingham
1,441 reviews
2.4 mi away
Holiday Inn Nottingham
Holiday Inn Nottingham
#16 of 49 in Nottingham
658 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Rockaway Hotel & Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rockaway Hotel & Restaurant

Property: Rockaway Hotel & Restaurant
Address: 209 Station Road | Beeston, Nottingham NG9 2AB, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Nottinghamshire > Nottingham
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #21 of 42 B&Bs / Inns in Nottingham
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Number of rooms: 30
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline so you can book your Rockaway Hotel & Restaurant reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing