We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely house with stunning owners”
Review of Nottingham Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Nottingham Lodge
Ranked #3 of 42 Nottingham B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Christchurch, New Zealand
1 review
“Lovely house with stunning owners”
Reviewed 26 May 2013

Lovely old house. Hospitality of owners stunning, couldn't do enough for you. Very friendly. Lovely breakfast, choice of cooked breakfast, asked to order this day before.
Beds very comfortable, especially in the single room. Excellent bathroom facilities. Lodge extremely clean, lovely fluffy towels changed daily.
I was using public transport, quite cheap using taxi from station. Lodge reasonably central, five. Minute walk to the Notts tram.
I felt very safe and well looked after, took sick, owners gave me every assistance.

Room Tip: All rooms very quiet. Single room very cosey if on own.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Elaine L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aluycious, Owner at Nottingham Lodge, responded to this review, 12 June 2013
Thank you very much for your most generous review.

We greatly appreciate those who take the time to tell the world about their positive experience here at Greenwood Lodge in Nottingham.

We hope that you are still enjoying your holiday and that you have not experienced any more health problems. It was a very pleasurable experience to have you to stay with us.

Once again thank you and just to say the plant you kindly bought is still thriving in our garden.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

158 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    126
    21
    4
    3
    4
See reviews for
29
65
17
26
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (27)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Newport, Wales
Level Contributor
17 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 March 2013

This is a lovely hold house, tucked away in the suburbs, full of antiques but not grand. I B&B with character. The Garden is mature and well tended, the lounge is a lovely old room full of antiques, the dining area in the conservatory looked lovely although we didn't eat there. Our room was on the top floor and slightly small and over full of old furniture but charming and comfortable. It was cold but they turned on the heating for us and were generally friendly and helpful about what to see and where to go.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lindi100
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
20 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 February 2013

Since we are innkeepers of a B&B we're pretty attuned to the many aspects of hospitality involved in running a B&B and these folks do a wonderful job. The physical environment is lovely and the hosts are attentive, kind and informative. We thoroughly enjoyed our stay and the excellent service. Food was very good, dining room most delightful. We liked being able to walk to pubs and other service establishments.

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank RobertandDeb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lymington
Level Contributor
26 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 November 2012

We had a couple of nights here visiting our niece. Very welcoming and comfortable. Old fashioned, but nothing wrong with that. Couldn't believe how quiet it was so near to the centre of the city. We will be back!

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank LymingtonSailorman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
25 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 October 2012

We stayed for a couple of nights for the Nottingham Trent Uni open day. We had room 1 with the king size four poster, and my daughter room 3, a single room. A lovely B&B with all the home comforts that you could wish for, coffee and tea toiletries etc, and wifi, beautifully presented, clean and warm.
A full choice for breakfast, perfectly cooked. Along with the friendly welcome and helpful local advice. A far more friendly place to stay than one of the big national hotel groups.

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mrsjburnett
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 October 2012

This is such a lovely house and really stunning rooms but we did feel like we were staying at our parent's house. From being asked not to creek the floorboards as their room was below us, to asking us to congregate in a certain room if we were coming back late. And then even mentioning in the morning how late we had returned! I wouldn't say the owner was unfriendly quite the opposite, it all just felt a little intrusive (and I usually prefer B&Bs for the personal feel but this is the first time I have felt like this).

Stayed October 2012, travelled with friends
Helpful?
3 Thank in2thewind
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Norwich, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
56 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 October 2012

Don't be put off by first impressions as you drive along Third Avenue - a little gem awaits you.
Once we left the car parking area, through the beautiful gardens to reception, we were met by Mr Doug Pearse (The Owner) whose quiet and unassuming manner we found most refreshing especially as we were used to the large corporate type hotels - we chose Greenwood as it is within easy reach of the FM Arena in the centre of Nottingham.
We had lovely comfortable rooms, particularly the beds, our rooms were nicely furnished as is the whole of the reception area, sitting room and conservatory. Tea and coffe available too.
Superb breakfast, served on time and exactly as ordered; this we had in the nice and bright conservatory overlooking the lovely gardens mentioned earlier.
We had a lovely stay at what we considered very low cost for what it provided.
A big "thank you" from John, Edward and Lucy Howard in Norwich.
Note to trip adviser: No silly spelling mistakes please - take your time when you re-write this review - (thank you).

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank John F H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Nottingham hotels
2.1 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Nottingham - Gateway
0.9 mi away
Roomzzz Nottingham City
Roomzzz Nottingham City
#1 of 49 in Nottingham
611 reviews
1.6 mi away
Jurys Inn Nottingham
Jurys Inn Nottingham
#6 of 49 in Nottingham
2,217 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
Lace Market Hotel Nottingham by Compass Hospitality
1.3 mi away
Ibis Nottingham Centre
Ibis Nottingham Centre
#19 of 49 in Nottingham
1,147 reviews
2.8 mi away
De Vere Orchard Hotel
De Vere Orchard Hotel
#5 of 49 in Nottingham
1,444 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Nottingham Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Nottingham Lodge

Property: Nottingham Lodge
Address: 5 Third Avenue | Sherwood Rise, Nottingham NG7 6JH, England (Formerly Greenwood Lodge City Guest House)
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Nottinghamshire > Nottingham
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 42 B&Bs / Inns in Nottingham
Hotel Class:5 star — Nottingham Lodge 5*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
True to its Edwardian spirit, Nottingham Lodge is situated less than a mile from the city centre. With its elegant victorian furnishings and a contemporary decor offering a home from home environment the 4 Star Bed and Breakfast is perfectly positoned in a quiet cul-de-sac away from all the hustle and bustle. Built in 1834, Nottingham Lodge is a fine late regency property offering most rooms with four poster beds or canopy beds. With a family room provided on request, all rooms come with Hungarian goose-down quilts/400 thread count Egyptian cotton sheets, curved flat screen TVs, safe deposit boxes, Nespresso coffee makers with delicious coffee pods! And to make your stay even better, you can enjoy the views of our glorious courtyard whilst you dine in our Glass House. Your stay is our top priority! Honeymoon suite available on request. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Ebookers, Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda and HotelQuickly so you can book your Nottingham Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing