We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“DO NOT USE IF GOING OUT IN NOTTINGHAM - YOU WILL BE FINED”
Review of P and J Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
P and J Hotel
Ranked #33 of 49 Hotels in Nottingham
North Area
1 review
“DO NOT USE IF GOING OUT IN NOTTINGHAM - YOU WILL BE FINED”
Reviewed 20 May 2013

I booked the P & J through booking.com after reading generall good reviews on tripadvisor and other websites. I was not after an upmarked hotel just simply a couple of beds that 3 friends could use as a base for a night out in Nottingham.

The price of the stay was charged from my card 2 days prior to my arrival as it stated on the booking confirmation and there was no problems there. We arrived at the hotel and there was no porblems during check in, we only met one member of staff who was originally skepital of our booking as there was 3 people booked in a family room with a double bed and a sinlge bed. We assured her this would not be a problem as we would be willing to share a bed to prevent any unneccessary hassle. We followed the staff member up the labrinthe of staircases up to our room which we were initially impressed with.

Up to now the stay was good until we started to get ready for the night ahead. After a long day of travelling we all needed to shower etc. The shower was awful. The temperature had two options; either red hot or freezing cold. The pressure of the shower made it all the more difficult. It would have been a better option to put on shower gel and stand outside hoping for a spell of light rain.

The member of staff who was working phoned us a taxi to the city centre and so the night went on. We came back to the hotel around 3:15am and we were told earlier this would be no problem as we had a front door key and a room key and we were told if there were any problem to ring the hotel and we would be assisted. We came back with company which we were never told we were not welcome to do. We were not loud in any way as we madce our way through the hotel to our room. The company we had brought back left the hotel at around 8am quietly.

HOWEVER, the following morning when we were checking out we were summoned to the office by the same staff member who was overly nice on our arrival - making us feel like guilty school children!! She said that she knew what had gone on during the night and that it was unacceptable. If we had known this was a hotel rule that guests cannot bring company back we would have gone back to their hotel or never booked to stay at the P & J in the first place. She had told us (with no evidence to prove so, i.e. formal complaint letters) that everyone in the fully booked hotel except two people had complained about the noise levels of the night before and that the proprietor had been informed. She also told us that there was a charge that we must pay in cash before leaving that the proprietor had requested we pay of £20 each and if the charge was not paid it would have been taken from the card they have on file for the original booking. We told her we would go to the nearby cash machine and withdraw the money to pay the 'fine' but she closed the office door and told us she "can not let us out of her sight."

We chipped in together and paid the charge to avoid any other grief because we were in a rush to get home and wanted her to shut up. But now thinking back, this fine they charged us with was not at all warrented, they simply made it up on the spot and used £20 each as a random figure. I will be reading over the hotel rules and terms and conditions and being in contact again with them to discuss the issues. The £60 extra we paid was not recored, we were not given a recipt only a threat that the money would be charged from my card.

In summary, the hotel location is good, the price is cheap (initially) and the decor is okay but dated. HOWEVER, I WOULD NEVER CONSIDER USING THIS PLACE AGAIN AS IT MAKES UP RANDOM EXTRA CHARGES.I would not be surprised if I am sent a bill for something else like leaving a window open or using a towel.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank qwerty1NorthArea
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

153 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    65
    46
    24
    7
    11
See reviews for
40
29
22
24
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (22)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Market Harborough, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 30 April 2013

Stayed at P and J with a couple of friends. The 3 of us get together once a year for a football match and a few beers. Have stayed at other hotels that make 3 mates staying together feel uncomfortable. The lady that was working (it may have been the owner) was fantastic, really welcoming, easy to talk to and yet remaining professional.

Room was good, a bit tired in places, for certainly value for money. Breakfast was good, and whilst the service speed was fine, we didn't feel hurried.

If I stay in Nottingham in the future will certainly check P and J for availability.

Room Tip: Can't think of one! I imagine they are all good.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Croash R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tal-y-Bont
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 April 2013

This hotel is clean, comfortable, nicely decorated. Car parking with CCTV a bonus as well as proximity of bus to town.But most of all the staff is very helpful and friendly. Will definitely use again ( and I hope that by then the vintage jukebox will work!). Thanks again.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Cwmleri
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Preston, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 9 April 2013

Stayed here recently. The staff were lovely and provided a suitable room for my elderly mum, which mad her feel at home. The breakfast was delicious and fresh. We didn't want to leave!
We will definitely be booking a room here in the future and telling friends to stay too.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Stephanie_1-1-1-1-1-
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Coventry, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 March 2013 via mobile

Stayed here with a group of friends for a birthday night out in Nottingham town.. Was so Surprised at how lovely the rooms were for such a great price! Not to far in a taxi to the town centre!
Lovely breakfast cured our hangover!
Would return to the hotel !

  • Stayed November 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TLDX
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Guildford, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
123 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 March 2013

We stayed here while visiting our daughter at the university. It was good value for money and had off road parking where we could abandon the car for two days.

The bed was comfortable, the shower worked well and both the continental and full English breakfasts were up to the mark. We were even able to treat our daughter to a vegetarian breakfast on the final day and she wasn't even staying there.

As others have commented, the choice of furnishings and fittings is "eclectic". In our room there were four distinctly different styles but did that actually matter? Not to us.

The pricing that shows up on the online booking system didn't appear to follow much logic for the weekend of our visit. I will phone for prices and availability in future.

Would we stay there again? Yes.
Would we recommend it? Yes.

Room Tip: En suite room 10 is a decent size and away from the main road. Not all rooms are en suite.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank NeilD_London
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 February 2013

Me and my partner stayed here while on a trip to Nottingham and were made feel unbelievably welcome the staff were so nice and so friendly, we instantly felt at home. The room was at the back and out of the way of the busy road so we had a great sleep, very clean and modern decor. As we didn't want to be up to early the staff cooked our breakfast and wrapped it up for wen we wanted it so nice. We will definitely be returning again soon x

  • Stayed January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Meganof
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Nottingham hotels
0.6 mi away
Holiday Inn Nottingham
Holiday Inn Nottingham
#14 of 49 in Nottingham
679 reviews
1.7 mi away
Best Western Plus Nottingham Westminster Hotel
1.0 mi away
Travelodge Nottingham Central Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Travelodge Nottingham Riverside Hotel
1.5 mi away
Jurys Inn Nottingham
Jurys Inn Nottingham
#7 of 49 in Nottingham
2,307 reviews
1.4 mi away
De Vere Orchard Hotel
De Vere Orchard Hotel
#6 of 49 in Nottingham
1,496 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to P and J Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about P and J Hotel

Property: P and J Hotel
Address: 277 Derby Road | Lenton, Nottingham NG7 2DP, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Nottinghamshire > Nottingham
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #33 of 49 Hotels in Nottingham
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2.5 star — P and J Hotel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 20
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Odigeo, Expedia, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com and LateRooms so you can book your P and J Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing