We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“recent stay”
Review of P and J Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
P and J Hotel
Ranked #33 of 49 Hotels in Nottingham
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“recent stay”
Reviewed 15 November 2013

Our daughter is at Nottingham University, so we have stayed in many of the normal well known brand hotels, in around the town

P and J hotel is like a home from home warm welcoming, especially Joe, how fantastic to find a homely family run hotel, with customer service at top of the list.

yes its old, but that adds character better than the clinical dull modern hotel rooms, Nothing was too much trouble for Joe Good value as well and parking which in Nottingham is difficult.
On direct bus route into town, and not far from a very good indian restaurant. Savera, with in walking distance as with the hotel the service was great and the food very good.

Highly recommend

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Marj166
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

153 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    65
    46
    24
    7
    11
See reviews for
40
29
22
24
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (22)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Murcia, Spain
Level 6 Contributor
162 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 86 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 September 2013

We spend 4 days in Notthingam to play a warhammer world tournament and of course visit the touristic places . The hotel is great, the staff was very kind, whenever we needs something like taxis, or indications, they always help us. Very close to the center (15 min by walk) and warhammer world (10 min by walk). The next time i will travel to Notthingam i will return to this hotel.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jmcarrillo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 September 2013

We stayed here 1 night last weekend while visiting friends. We were highly disappointed and felt ripped-off. The hotel looked really old-fashioned, just like Fawlty Towers. It was shabby and the mattress was lumpy. Also it seemed like they were really cutting down on costs as there was no toilet roll in the bathroom and one towel between us. When we asked about breakfast the next day we were told, they didn't do cooked breakfasts anymore. The continental breakfast was awful - a few very cheap-looking croissants. The icing on the cake was when the landlady told us not to go in the lounge after breakfast as there were people sleeping in it. Speechless!

Room Tip: Don't bother
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank joandrickt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin, Ireland
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 August 2013

Stayed here a number of times so it's time to commend them at this hotel . This is a lovely homely hotel where the The staff - in particular the staff on reception are always very welcoming and friendly. We stayed in one of the apartments which was very spacious, clean and beautifully furnished Everything you could possible need, parking included. The location is excellent - close to all amenities .We often stay at more expensive hotels, but to be honest, if it's a comfortable stay and a great location you want, you can't go wrong with this hotel. I wouldn't hesitate to recommend this hotel to couples, single travellers or groups.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Aliceann44
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin, Ireland
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 August 2013

Stayed at this Hotel on two occasions earlier this year The first time we stayed in the upstairs apartment .this was very spacious and bright .It had all the amenities we needed and really enjoyed our break as the hotel is just a short stroll from the city centre .The second time we stayed in one of the hotel rooms and had the same experince.The room was spotless clean. We found the hotel staff always very helpful and polite . As the hotel is an old building it had a lot of character. Good value for money .Will definitley be recommending it to family and friends.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Marian K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oxford, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
265 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 141 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 August 2013

Service 3*
Room 3*
Facilities 2*

Very basic hotel.

Got there to find our booking was made but we had to pay again (?). Will be following that up.

The hotel is an old large house type hotel, a bit Faulty Towers to look at. In the world of modern hotels this is great if you are visiting 1974 but otherwise i would go to a Travelodge.

The room was basic and clean but the fire alarm seemed t have been sealed over which was not reassuring. Wash facilities were basic.

If you are used to cheap hotels this will be fine. If you are used to prison life... again this will be fine.

If you are used to modern hotels... go somewhere else.

Would I stay there again. No, not because it was awful, just because I can find better.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank dysonsphere
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Southwater, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 3 August 2013

Friendly clean and staff really helpful, 2nd time I have stayed at this hotel and would not hesitate on using it again!

Room was clean and like a home from home!

Added bonus of car park and close to all amenities, good bus route into city centre.

Breakfast was lovely and a good choice.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Deb C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Nottingham hotels
0.6 mi away
Holiday Inn Nottingham
Holiday Inn Nottingham
#14 of 49 in Nottingham
679 reviews
1.7 mi away
Best Western Plus Nottingham Westminster Hotel
1.0 mi away
Travelodge Nottingham Central Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Travelodge Nottingham Riverside Hotel
1.5 mi away
Jurys Inn Nottingham
Jurys Inn Nottingham
#7 of 49 in Nottingham
2,307 reviews
1.4 mi away
De Vere Orchard Hotel
De Vere Orchard Hotel
#6 of 49 in Nottingham
1,496 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to P and J Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about P and J Hotel

Property: P and J Hotel
Address: 277 Derby Road | Lenton, Nottingham NG7 2DP, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Nottinghamshire > Nottingham
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #33 of 49 Hotels in Nottingham
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2.5 star — P and J Hotel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 20
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Odigeo, Expedia, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com and LateRooms so you can book your P and J Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing