We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best steak in Nottingham”

The Larder on Goosegate
Ranked #136 of 1,412 Restaurants in Nottingham
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$15 - US$44
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Groups, Special Occasion Dining, Business meetings, Local cuisine
Dining options: Dinner, Breakfast, After-hours, Lunch, Reservations
Description: Opened in 2006, The Larder is located in the Grade II listed Victorian building that was once home to the apothecary shop that went on to become the pharmaceutical giant Boot's. The house style is an emphasis on simplicity & quality of cooking, with a menu that changes daily to take advantage of seasonal ingredients. Service is knowledgeable yet relaxed & unpretentious. Michelin, Harden's & Good Food Guide listed.
Nottingham, United Kingdom
1 review
“Best steak in Nottingham”
Reviewed 3 May 2014

Two picanha steaks down and a couple of fantastic starters; I can heartily recommend this restaurant! Not too harsh on the wallet and the service was lovely. Make sure you give this place a chance at least once.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Sofie H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

375 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    196
    107
    38
    22
    12
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Bromley, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“a hidden gem”
Reviewed 23 April 2014

great atmosphere, great steaks and some very unusual cuts not boring old sirloin and rump and fab deserts, YUM!

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
Thank Nigel L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nottingham
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“An excellent experience.”
Reviewed 20 April 2014

We had a family meal at the Larder on 19 April. Our overall experience was excellent. The staff were helpful and knowledgeable while we were ordering. Standards of service and product knowledge were high. The food itself was delicious, and there was an excellent selection of wine and beer. The atmosphere in the restaurant was stylish and relaxing. The combination of the food, service and atmosphere meant that our experience was memorable. The Larder compares very favourably with other high-end restaurants in Nottingham, but manages to strike a more informal note. If you are looking for a special treat in sophisticated surroundings, don't hesitate to book.

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank mihangel71
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
92 reviews
86 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
“Can't find fault - 5/5”
Reviewed 19 April 2014

I visited The Larder for a long lunch and a catch up with a good friend last Saturday. The place itself is tucked up above two charity shops but the venue is cosy and welcoming. This was my first visit, my friend having picked it from a list of 'possibles' that I sent through. It was quite busy so we were glad to have booked in advance.

We decided to eat from the set lunch menu and picked out a £22.50 bottle of white wine to go with our meal. We were slightly disappointed that so few wines were served by the glass and nothing was served in carafe - saying that, we polished off the bottle and it was delicious, so there was no real issue there.

Our waitress was friendly, polite and bought us a jug of tap water for the table without us even having to ask, which was a lovely touch. The complimentary bread and garlic oil was delicious.

We both ate the cod cheeks to start and paid the £2 supplement for the steak main. Both were executed perfectly. My friend commented that she would have liked slightly less aioli with her cheeks but I had no such complaint!

Our steaks (rump cap or 'picanha') were tender, beautifully cooked and seasoned. The accompanying chips were divine and the salad was dressed with a lovely mustard dressing which brought the whole plate together. We elected to have the garlic and herb butter (£1.50), rather than a sauce, which worked brilliantly. I would wholly recommend.

For dessert I had the chocolate mousse. It was an excellent mousse, but I probably should had admitted defeat by this point and was slightly too full to enjoy it to the full! My friend veered onto the A La Carte dessert menu and chose the treacle tart, which she thoroughly enjoyed.

The bill came to £61 which we thought was perfect for the meal and wine we had enjoyed. We had occupied the table for around 2 hours by this point!

I would wholly recommend and hope to return soon.

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Crysannia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“First time”
Reviewed 7 April 2014

Our first visit to the Larder was prompted by adverts we had seen at the cinema showing a calm and relaxed atmosphere. However, we were seated next to a birthday party of 30 people. We got no warning of this when we booked the previous week and had to leave before dessert and coffee because it became impossible to hear each other speak even across a relatively small table. The salmon starter was delicious but marred by the fact that the few sprigs of watercress garnish were yellowing rather than fresh. The mains, pulled pork and arancini, were good enough though the arancini could have been lighter and less stodgy. The staff were very apologetic about the noise and we were given a voucher as compensation but it was not much help on what was meant to be a celebration evening out. A disappointing try out of this well recommended restaurant but , with the voucher, we may give it another try as perhaps we were just unlucky.

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Barrie E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Larder on Goosegate also viewed

Nottingham, Nottinghamshire
Nottingham, Nottinghamshire
 
Nottingham, Nottinghamshire
Nottingham, Nottinghamshire
 

Been to The Larder on Goosegate? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing