We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Delicious food, attentive staff, lovely evening”
Review of MemSaab

MemSaab
Reserve with OpenTable
MemSaab is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #25 of 1,421 Restaurants in Nottingham
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$17 - US$59
Cuisines: Indian, Pakistani
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special Occasion Dining, Groups, Romantic, Business meetings
Dining options: Dinner, After-hours, Delivery, Reservations, Takeout
Description: Winners of the Nottingham Post Best Indian Restaurant 2013 Overall City and County Award, Best Restaurant Runner-up in the Observer Food Monthly Awards 2011, 2012 and 2013 and recommended in the Michelin and Hardens Guides 2014, MemSaab continues to raise the standard of Indian fine dining whilst remaining accessible, affordable and most importantly enjoyable. Comfortably and stylishly designed, seating up to 200 with two private rooms. With it's Award winning chefs, extensive menu and impeccable service, MemSaab is the perfect host for A La Carte, private and corporate dining. The interior design combining traditional Indian craftsmanship and modern Indian art captures the essence of India whilst placing MemSaab firmly in the 21st century! "Exceptional Food and Service puts MemSaab amongst the top five curries in the Country" - The Observer Great Food Guide "Hailed as a 'Hot Indian' - the Sunday Telegraph
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Delicious food, attentive staff, lovely evening”
Reviewed 15 July 2014 via mobile

Went here for a birthday meal with my husband and we had a lovely evening. Mid week so quite quiet and slightly lacking atmosphere but I'm sure at a weekend it would pick up a lot. Food was delicious, beautifully coked and served by very attentive waiters. Extensive menu to suit all tastes. This is high quality Indian food and you do pay a little bit more for that. Highly recommend this restaurant.

Helpful?
Thank Baggers1978
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

901 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    625
    168
    69
    25
    14
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Kendal
Level 6 Contributor
162 reviews
114 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 86 helpful votes
“Sunday night after the cricket”
Reviewed 15 July 2014

This is Indian food at its best.
I started with a couple of poppidums with some really tasty spicy dips,while drinking a glass of Moet.
The menu is varied from the very hot to the mild.I started with some kebabs with a mint dip,and followed it with a lamb curry and excellent pilau rice with some lovely creamed spinach.
I had a sorbet for dessert that refreshed well!
This is the best Indian restaurant in Nottingham.
Enjoy!
Kendal mint

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank KendalMint
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lyme Regis, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
“Cricket and MemSaab (maybe cut out the cricket!)”
Reviewed 15 July 2014

We visit MemSaab whenever we can, particularly when we are in Nottingham for the cricket. The overall experience is excellent. This is not just an Indian restaurant, the kitchen staff fuse together tastes of herbs and spices neither one dominating the others but complementing the flavours. Food and service are really very good and we always feel most welcome. The people from the lady owner down are a delight. Making you feel that there was anything they would not do to make our visit a wonderful experience. Hope to see you next year MemSaab. Best wishes to you all from two cricket supporters from Devon

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Paul_M_K15
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lincoln, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Very Nice”
Reviewed 13 July 2014 via mobile

Had a lovely birthday meal here. You pay a bit more than the standard Indian restaurant but I think it is worth it. Will definitely be back.

Helpful?
1 Thank SteveB1978
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
35 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“This is it, the best”
Reviewed 12 July 2014

I have eaten here on at least 6 occasions, each time it seems to get better, not sure how this is as you tend to find that once you have experienced something so good it is hard to surpass, but Memsaab manages this, the service is always spot on, never too much but attentive enough that you feel looked after. A great thing is when the owners actually visit each table and display an interest that you have enjoyed your experience, this is, after all, an experience, there is a genuine interest from the owners that if you eat here you enjoy your time, I have never been disappointed, without going through the menu and advising on dishes it is easier to say that whichever dish you order you will not be disappointed, all are superb. On many occasions I have invited colleagues to eat here, often stating the fact that this is the best curry house they will have ever tried, on each occasion they leave stating just this, without any doubt Memsaab is the tops, no question, no doubt, simply the best curry I have ever had the pleasure of eating..

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Jez-G-123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed MemSaab also viewed

Nottingham, Nottinghamshire
Nottingham, Nottinghamshire
 
Nottingham, Nottinghamshire
Nottingham, Nottinghamshire
 
Nottingham, Nottinghamshire
Nottingham, Nottinghamshire
 

Been to MemSaab? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing