We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Home from Home”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of 16 Pilchergate

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Nottingham
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
16 Pilchergate
London, United Kingdom
1 review
“Home from Home”
Reviewed 26 November 2012

I stay at 16 Pilcher Gate whenever I return to Nottingham to visit family & friends. I am always met with a warm welcome and made to feel right at home. The rooms are fantastic, really spacious, clean and comfortable. I love the fact they have thought of all the things I may need for a weekend away, including a bottle opener for my wine!
The location is great, with lovely bars and restaurants on the doorstep and right next to the main shopping area - Bridlesmith Gate.
Val the manager is super friendly and nothing is too much trouble for her.
I look forward to visiting again next year.

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Good-Evans1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

39 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    28
    9
    1
    1
    0
See reviews for
12
7
5
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Dumfries, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
123 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 October 2012

I stayed at Pilchergate over a 3 week period in August primarily as I am working in Nottingham. I requested a studio apartment but ended up with a 2 bed one for my entire stay for the same price which was great value. The studio rooms do not have cooking facilities (except a steamer and microwave) whereas the 2 bed apartments have a fully equipped small kitchen and seperate living area. As I ended up staying for a prolonged period the studio would have been a bit difficult but this was fine as I had a 2 bed place- my family came down for a weekend so this was very convenient but Val did not charge me extra which was great.
The location is brilliant except it does mean you should expect a bit of noise late at night. Car parking is very convenient but as I was staying so long it did end up costing me quite a bit extra. The rooms are large with plenty of storage space. The only problem we had was when the hot water did not work over an entire weekend, although Val does not work weekends she did try to get it fixed but to no avail.
Overall I would recommend these apartments especially if you are staying in Nottingham for a city break due to the space and location. Val is extremely helpful as others point out and was very good to me especially accommodating me during a busy period as I ended up staying longer than expected. My only gripe (other than the hot water) was the lack of wifi, broadband just didn't work for me.

Room Tip: If you are staying for only a couple of nights the studios would be great value, for longer stays a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank claire2767
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
17 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 October 2012 via mobile

The apartments are in a great position near the city and train station.
Parking is right opposite at £10 a day (with a stamped ticket).
The owner (on the phone) and house keeper (Val) couldn't be more helpful and friendly.
Really well equipped kitchen in the two bed we had.
Very comfortable beds.
Nice clean bathrooms and both bedrooms were en suite.
Brilliant, I would definitely use again and definitely recommend.

  • Stayed October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ambkw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviewed 22 September 2012

We rented 2 one-bedroom apartments as well as a 2-bedroom apartment for four nights for a friend's wedding. We were extremely satisfied with the location and the competitive pricing. The city centre shops are about 2 minutes on foot and there is a car park opposite the building which allows you to park for £35 for a whole week which is very reasonable. Val the Manager was very helpful. We were given two rooms next door to each other and the double room was on the top floor. That had two bathrooms, as well as its own kitchen and living room. I would definitely stay there again. The accommodation made our stay even more fun.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Farrah S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
30 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 August 2012

I have stayed here many times and have never been disappointed. At £66 for a studio apartment (which is larger and better equipped than a 4 star hotel room) the value for money is excellent and Val, the House Manager, provides a very friendly welcome and ensures standards are tip-top. As Val is not usually around over the weekend, except to admit new residents, apartments are not serviced over the weekend, so be prepared to make the bed and do your washing up during a weekend break. That's a small price to pay for what is incredible value compared with a hotel room.

Although very close to the City Centre, the building is always quiet, even when full.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
1 Thank BarryMLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
pilchergate, Manager at 16 Pilchergate, responded to this review, 31 August 2012
I'd just like to thank all of my guests that have took time to put on a review.Thank you so much for all your feed back.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Næstved
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 July 2012

We stayed two adults and two kids in the penthouse for three Nights. The pictures are to believe; it is a fantastic penthouse. And Peter and Val were most helpfull as we were let down by another hotel. We Will certainly return next time in Nottingham. Henrik og Benedikte, Denmark

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Benedikte N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 23 June 2012

We recently stayed at 16 Pilcher Gate and was very impressed with the size of our 2 bedroom apartment. It was very spacious and comfortable and each bedroom had private ensuite and television. The beds were comfortable and was so happy to have big, beautiful, fluffy bath sheets after a warm bath. Definitely will book again when we come back to Nottingham. Thank you Peter for collecting us at the train station and thank you to Val for your help.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Julia K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Nottingham hotels
0.1 mi away
Lace Market Hotel Nottingham by Compass Hospitality
0.3 mi away
Jurys Inn Nottingham
Jurys Inn Nottingham
#8 of 54 in Nottingham
2,083 reviews
0.5 mi away
Roomzzz Nottingham City
Roomzzz Nottingham City
#1 of 54 in Nottingham
564 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Ibis Nottingham Centre
Ibis Nottingham Centre
#19 of 54 in Nottingham
1,112 reviews
0.1 mi away
Mercure Nottingham City Centre Hotel
0.4 mi away
Premier Inn Nottingham City Centre (Chapel Bar) Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to 16 Pilchergate? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about 16 Pilchergate

Property: 16 Pilchergate
Address: 16 Pilcher Gate | Lace Market, Nottingham NG1 1QE, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Nottinghamshire > Nottingham
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 17 Speciality Lodging in Nottingham
Hotel Class:1 star — 16 Pilchergate 1*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ideal location for Nottingham city centre attractions. Relax in luxury in our self-catering apartments offering 1 bed studios, 2 bed flats and a penthouse suite. Our value-added service also offers taxi service, laundry service and anything else you might need. Once you have been to 16 Pilchergate we can guarantee you will want to stay time and time again. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing