We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Cotswold Gateway Hotel
Nearby Hotels
Burford House(Burford)
US$252
Hotels.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
The Lamb Inn(Shipton under Wychwood)(Great Value!)
US$168
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Old Swan & Minster Mill(Minster Lovell)
US$239
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Premier Inn Witney Hotel(Witney)(Great Value!)
US$138
PremierInn.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Lamb Inn(Burford)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Travelodge
View Deal
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
No availability for your dates from our partners
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (623)
Filter reviews
623 results
Traveller rating
313
192
75
33
10
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
313
192
75
33
10
Show reviews that mention
All reviewssteaklovely hotelfour posterbooked this hotelfamily roombusy roadcar parksunday lunchlovely roomlovely foodbar areawarm welcomeevening mealwell worth a visitpuddingcomfy bedthe pub
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
440 - 445 of 623 reviews
Reviewed 4 March 2014

Situated at the top end of Burford this hotel has lots of character. The staff are helpful and friendly. Food was good, we had both an evening meal and buffet style breakfast (with plenty of choice).
We were upgraded to room 14 on the second (top) floor which was spacious, quiet and with a four poster bed - perfect.

Room Tip: Room 14 has a four poster bed and is spacious and quiet
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank linda-2111
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 March 2014

Had to be in nearby Carterton for Dads 82nd and horribly late due to traffic... Checked in to the hotel and requested a Taxi... Told 15 minutes to come to hotel.. Oh dear.. then guy working there (and it was busy), checked with 'boss' said I'll drive you to Carterton (4 miles or so away).. so made party in time for meal.. exceptional service and didn't charge - I did offer and beer later order of day.... Didn't get a chance to eat at hotel later in evening as late on after party but all staff were wonderful, friendly and attentive, plus room was warm and cosy... Will be returning to the Gateway again for sure.........

Room Tip: Stairs are safe and wide, but slightly steep and so use a first floor room if climbing a slight issue.....
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank BigBadBobbieBrown
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 March 2014

We have stayed at this excellent hotel many times now and they never fail to please. The management are so very helpful and friendly and can't do enough to help and make your stay the best. The cleanliness of the rooms is excellent, very up to date and modern, lovely crisp bedding. Dinner and breakfast excellent. My only tiny comment is that the bar area is a little dark when eating I like to see the food I am eating but otherwise first class. We will return!

Room Tip: Speak to Management always the best advise.
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Sallystar_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 February 2014

We stumbled upon this charming hotel by chance, not having booked anything. They went out of their way to welcome and accommodate us. Spacious beautifully furnished rooms en suite, lovely bathrooms and the best food in the Cotswolds. My son and I intended to spend each of our nights in different places but so loved The Cotswold Gateway that we used this as our base to explore the Cotswolds and returned here for our evening gourmet meals. Free wifi through out that works.
Friendly, well managed, well run, Highly Recommended and we stayed here during November and it was busy.

Room Tip: All the rooms are different and all charming so you won't be disappointed what ever room you get.
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Pamela F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 February 2014

, service was excellent. The food was fine, (could have been slightly warmer). Lovely surroundings.. . First class place, first class service. I will recommend this place to my friends and family. I will be going again.

Room Tip: I would expect the rooms to be as good as the place itself.
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jacqueline H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews