We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“What an amazing hotel” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Cotswold Gateway Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Cotswold Gateway Hotel
Ranked #5 of 8 Hotels in Burford
Certificate of Excellence
Hong Kong, China
Level Contributor
57 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“What an amazing hotel”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 March 2014 via mobile

Had a amazing stay here. Really nice rooms, good food but what really set this hotel above the standard was the fantastic service.
They were more than happy to help with any request. Dropping us off at the wedding to save us a taxis fare, making us breakfast rolls to eat in bed. Thank you, great stay. :)

Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Robert H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

461 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    267
    124
    42
    23
    5
See reviews for
112
198
13
34
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (98)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 March 2014

It is wonderful after a long day traveling to turn up at a hotel and get a warm welcome, like you would get fro your own family. This is the way I was welcomed at the Cotswold Gateway, this time and every time I have stayed here before. All the staff are very friendly, the accommodation very clean and food is fantastic. This is a great hotel for holidays, business or a meal and a few drinks.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AndyD76
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lichfield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 March 2014 via mobile

Just back from a lovely weekend in the Cotswolds. We were a family of 7 celebrating my Dads 70th Birthday. We stayed 1 night at the Gateway and had an excellent time. The staff were really helpful from the moment we called to book the rooms right through till the end of our stay. This included some special arrangements which were all sorted out just as we had asked for. On Saturday evening we dined there and the food and service were exemplary. The choice on the menu is extensive but not too daunting and we each had different main courses and all were delicious. It seemed to me that this type of service would not be possible in a chain which is one of the advantages of staying at a privately owned hotel.

Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank AlifromLichers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Towcester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
23 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 March 2014

As soon as we walked through the door for our short weekend break in the Cotswolds we received a warm and friendly welcome at the characterful Gateway. The room was clean , well appointed and of a very good size. Despite the A40 traffic passing close by , traffic noise was minimal and no problem due to the efficient double glazing and thick walls . Food was very good and service was friendly and efficient . The hotel had a really good atmosphere . One of few remaining family run hotels of this size it really showed in the no fuss, friendly service provided by management and staff at all levels. Criticism? Maybe the wifi could be a little better outside public area but we were aware of this when booking and wouldn't complain. Would definitely recommend and hope to return . Well done management and staff and long may you keep your independence !

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Paul M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wolverhampton, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 March 2014

My husband arranged a week away at this hotel as part of my 50th birthday present.
I was not disappointed, this hotel is a real Gem.
The staff are amazing, they are polite and courteous and the level of service is far superior to many of the 5* hotels we have stayed in.
Dinner on both nights was to an extremely high standard, excellent and varied menu and reasonably priced.
Breakfast is buffet style and again has an excellence choice and all cooked to perfection.
Our room was on the second floor and was very spacious and beautifully decorated.
The cleanliness of this hotel was second to none. not a speck of dust anywhere.
A very relaxing break, in excellent surroundings. The perfect getaway.
We will definitely be returning to this hotel.
Any one looking for a short weekend break this hotel is a must.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Helen C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tamworth, Staffs, UK
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 March 2014

Situated at the top end of Burford this hotel has lots of character. The staff are helpful and friendly. Food was good, we had both an evening meal and buffet style breakfast (with plenty of choice).
We were upgraded to room 14 on the second (top) floor which was spacious, quiet and with a four poster bed - perfect.

Room Tip: Room 14 has a four poster bed and is spacious and quiet
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank linda-2111
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chippenham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
184 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 90 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 March 2014

Had to be in nearby Carterton for Dads 82nd and horribly late due to traffic... Checked in to the hotel and requested a Taxi... Told 15 minutes to come to hotel.. Oh dear.. then guy working there (and it was busy), checked with 'boss' said I'll drive you to Carterton (4 miles or so away).. so made party in time for meal.. exceptional service and didn't charge - I did offer and beer later order of day.... Didn't get a chance to eat at hotel later in evening as late on after party but all staff were wonderful, friendly and attentive, plus room was warm and cosy... Will be returning to the Gateway again for sure.........

Room Tip: Stairs are safe and wide, but slightly steep and so use a first floor room if climbing a slight issu...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank BigBadBobbieBrown
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Burford
0.3 mi away
The Bull at Burford
The Bull at Burford
#3 of 8 in Burford
4.5 of 5 bubbles 475 reviews
2.4 mi away
The Maytime Inn
The Maytime Inn
#1 of 8 in Burford
4.5 of 5 bubbles 337 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Lamb Inn
The Lamb Inn
#2 of 8 in Burford
4.5 of 5 bubbles 646 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
The Bay Tree Hotel
The Bay Tree Hotel
#4 of 8 in Burford
4.5 of 5 bubbles 592 reviews
0.3 mi away
Golden Pheasant
Golden Pheasant
#8 of 8 in Burford
3.5 of 5 bubbles 301 reviews
8.6 mi away
The Slaughters Country Inn
The Slaughters Country Inn
#1 of 2 in Lower Slaughter
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,068 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cotswold Gateway Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cotswold Gateway Hotel

Property: Cotswold Gateway Hotel
Address: Cheltenham Road, Burford OX18 4HX, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cotswolds > Burford
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Burford
#2 Romantic Hotel in Burford
#2 Business Hotel in Burford
#4 Luxury Hotel in Burford
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Cotswold Gateway Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 20
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Odigeo, Priceline, Hotels.com, Hotel.de and Book Direct Rooms so you can book your Cotswold Gateway Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cotswold Gateway Hotel Burford, Oxfordshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing