We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great steak again”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Cotswold Gateway Hotel
Ranked #5 of 8 Hotels in Burford
Portsmouth, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Great steak again”
Reviewed 31 May 2014 via mobile

This review is for a meal, second visit to this venue for dinner with friends, steak was melt in the mouth, best steak I have had in a long while. Deserts are just to die for, great, service, great, food, great atmosphere, great price. Highly recommend.

Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank Karen D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

546 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    289
    163
    58
    29
    7
See reviews for
134
241
17
40
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (107)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Dover, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 May 2014

Stayed as part of my husbands 50th birthday celebrations. Staff were very friendly and helpful and nothing was too much trouble. Four poster room was lovely and had delicious meal in the restaurant. Couldn't find any fault in our stay, it was super.

Room Tip: Four poster room was lovely over looking car park, but quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank riverkaren
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
Reviewed 13 May 2014 via mobile

Yet another fab visit to this lovely hotel. Friendly and receptive staff- nothing too much trouble. Food is amazing (best steak I have ever had). Young girl at breakfast was super efficient, helpful and friendly. I look forward to my next stay at this jewel in Burford!!!!

Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
Helpful?
Thank Jim R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shepton Mallet, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 May 2014

Me and my son have just spent two nights at try cotswold gateway hotel in burford. All the facilities provided were good. We had a lovely spacious family room which was clean and comfortable. All the staff were extremely friendly, helpful and chatty. Burford is a pretty village well worth a visit and only a five minute walk from the hotel. We ate in the hotel both evenings and the food was tasty and arrived promptly. There was a lovely selection at the buffet breakfast. My only slight gripe was the food was not hot enough. I would definitely go back.

Room Tip: We had a room on the first floor. because of the age of the hotel the floorboards we creaky. I was k...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Caroline A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oxford, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
4 reviews
Reviewed 4 May 2014

Did not stay in this hotel but went there with friends on a Tuesday evening for a meal.
Lovely steak and lovely atmosphere, service swift even though place was busy. highly recommend for good pub grub.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Karen507
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tewkesbury, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
53 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 May 2014

Stopped for a meal whilst visiting in the area. I had the salmon cooked in a tagine and it was lovely and moist and really delicious. It came with a generous portion of vegetables and potatoes. Staff were friendly and helpful. Didn't stay in the hotel so I am not able to rate this.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank countryretreat938
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Coalville, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
159 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 191 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 April 2014

Hotel is very good. Family ran. The Staff were all polite and helpful. Parking is free. Location is good just off the busy A40 and 5 mins walk into the village. Pretty village built mainly with Cotswold stone. Theres a few good pubs and restaurants, enough for a great weekends choice. We did not have time to dine at the Indian restaurant named the Spice Lounge, but by locals accounts its really good food and value. Our hotel served great food and dished up a hearty breakfast buffet to start the day ! My only gripe is about our shower in room 12. Needs a new one fitting asap. Apart from that this hotel justifies its No1 position in Burford.
Cheers.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TB16
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Burford hotels
0.3 mi away
The Bull at Burford
The Bull at Burford
#4 of 8 in Burford
537 reviews
0.1 mi away
Travelodge Burford Cotswolds
0.3 mi away
The Lamb Inn
The Lamb Inn
#2 of 8 in Burford
725 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.4 mi away
The Maytime Inn
The Maytime Inn
#1 of 8 in Burford
376 reviews
0.3 mi away
Burford House
Burford House
#7 of 8 in Burford
289 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Bay Tree Hotel
The Bay Tree Hotel
#3 of 8 in Burford
639 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cotswold Gateway Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cotswold Gateway Hotel

Property: Cotswold Gateway Hotel
Address: Cheltenham Road, Burford OX18 4HX, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cotswolds > Burford
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Burford
#2 Romantic Hotel in Burford
#2 Business Hotel in Burford
#4 Luxury Hotel in Burford
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Cotswold Gateway Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 20
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Odigeo, Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, 5viajes2012 S.L., Ebookers, LateRooms, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Cotswold Gateway Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cotswold Gateway Hotel Burford, Oxfordshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing