We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A jewel!”

Spice Lounge Burford
Ranked #3 of 36 Restaurants in Burford
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Indian, Balti
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special Occasion Dining, Groups, Cheap Eats, Business meetings, Kids, Child-friendly
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, After-hours, Accepts American Express, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wine and Beer
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“A jewel!”
Reviewed 11 July 2014

This wonderful little restaurant was an unexpected treat. I spent a week in the lovely Burford for Royal International Air Tattoo and stumbled upon Spice Lounge during an evening stroll. Went in for dinner and very glad I did. Returned twice, once with group of eight; all were effusive in their praise. Restaurant is tidy and a bit upscale with fresh cut flowers and white linen. Staff is skilled, outgoing and efficient. Good selection on the menu, and everything coming out of the kitchen is delicious (personal favorite is Kurai lamb - just the right herbs and dash of heat). I'm one of those with 3+ million miles of international travel under my belt, and don't come across a jewel like this often enough. A keeper!

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank John B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

432 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    276
    97
    29
    20
    10
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
manchester
Level Contributor
310 reviews
179 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 202 helpful votes
“Bloody lovely”
Reviewed 1 July 2014 via mobile

I really enjoyed this little gem. The staff are quick and friendly and nothing is too much trouble for them.
There are some dishes I've never tried before so I was happy to give these dishes a go and I'm glad I did.
As for the prices they were cheap for this area.
Tip- try the lemon fried rice!

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
3 Thank starrtravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
43 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“Definitely worth a visit”
Reviewed 29 June 2014

The food was delicious & we didn't leave feeling bloated like we have done eating at other Asian restaurants. I like the fact that the menu wasn't too big & the food all looked lovely. The staff were friendly too. I would recommend a visit to the Spice rooms

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank sunburn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
50 reviews
42 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Food average at best, staff very pleasant”
Reviewed 22 June 2014 via mobile

Have eaten here a few times and each time the food has only been average, though the service is always friendly
The food is just bland, nan bread had very little keema inside, curry not very tasty at all and it tries to be upmarket but the food is nowhere near the quality of an upmarket restaurant in London
As far as Indian restaurants in the area, the ones in Stow and Moreton have better food and also slightly cheaper
Staff very pleasant always helps

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank P G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leafield, null, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
22 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“So delicious and welcoming”
Reviewed 9 June 2014 via mobile

Had a lovely meal here on Friday night. The food was delicious and the service both friendly and efficient. The meal was flavoured beautifully and the flavours so fresh, we will be back!

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank Kate T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Spice Lounge Burford also viewed

 

Been to Spice Lounge Burford? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing