We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Cosy atmosphere--delicious food!”

The Highway Hotel Restaurant
Reserve with OpenTable
The Highway Hotel Restaurant is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #5 of 37 Restaurants in Burford
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Bar, British, Pub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Special Occasion Dining, Kids, Child-friendly, Romantic
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Breakfast, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Conway, MA
Level Contributor
169 reviews
86 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
“Cosy atmosphere--delicious food!”
Reviewed 8 April 2014

We have been eating at The Highway Hotel for many years on our twice-annual trips to England. Last fall the Hotel/Restaurant changed hands, so this was our first visit since then. The food was as delicious as always, and they still have real cask ales on offer. The service was very good, and the food wonderfully prepared. We enjoyed the pork belly dinner and would have it again on a future trip. We are so pleased that one of our favorite places to eat and drink in Burford has made such a successful transition to new owners. We'll be back!

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank the2vus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

240 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    157
    66
    9
    4
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
20 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Great food, cosy location”
Reviewed 21 March 2014

Have eaten here before but I think it may have changed hands since. The menu felt slightly limited, but that may have been due to a few things not being available. The food portion sizes were perfect and was really good. The atmosphere was so cosy and relaxed.. what you would think of a typical bustling pub in the Cotswolds - lovely!

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank EllieLO
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Lovely food and great service”
Reviewed 17 March 2014

Had a lovely lunch on Sunday with friends lovely food and great service nice choice of menu and good value for money.

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Steven L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
St Albans
Level Contributor
114 reviews
93 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
“Very good food - huge portions!”
Reviewed 10 March 2014

Visited one Saturday evening, walked in to a lovely warm bustling atmosphere and given a choice of tables. Menu quite good, starters a bit limited, also disappointed when enquiring about the fish of the day to be told by the waiter - all gone, no other comment or apology! However the food is really good (altough the portions are huge) interesting good value wine list, service from the two waitresses was excellent.

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank LACBStAlbans
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Definitely worth a visit.”
Reviewed 11 February 2014

I eat out quite often and I'm always keen to find a somewhere special, I definitely found it here.
I have eaten at The highway a few times now and food is excellent, staff are very friendly and the atmosphere is lovely.

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Katie8882
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Highway Hotel Restaurant also viewed

 
Swinbrook, Burford
 

Been to The Highway Hotel Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing