We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“What a great little find...”
Review of Star Cottage

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Burford
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Star Cottage
Ranked #5 of 15 Burford B&B and Inns
York, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“What a great little find...”
Reviewed 16 September 2012

Star Cottage was a superb little find. A 3 bedroomed B & B within the Sawdays stable of guest houses. A wonderful welcome by Peter, beautifully equipped bedrooms, in a wonderful location near to a pub (Carpenters Arms) which we tried on one night (the pub was Ok but not amazing). The breakfast was delicious, fresh fruit inc nectarines, berries and oranges which was delivered in gorgeous crockery. Fresh juices and a huge selection of cooked items to suit all tastes. Well done Star Cottage - we will be back. :-)))

Room Tip: I had room 2 and it was lovely - shower was a tiny bit small but not uncomfortble.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jill S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

126 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    120
    5
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
24
76
1
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (30)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Hampshire
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 September 2012

We are a family of four who stayed for a family wedding for 2 nights in July.
We have never stayed in a b&b before, always opting for a large 5 star hotel.

Instantly we felt at home and were greeted warmly and shown our immaculate and very spacious family room. Peter and Sally have not scrimped at all. The sheets were Egyptian cotton and the pillows were fluffy and comfortable. There were home made biscuits, tea, hot chocolate, sewing box, etc, etc. We gave our breakfast order the night before and in the morning had one of the best cooked breakfasts we've ever had. Sally's fruit salad was amazing!
We wouldn't hesitate in going back. We all slept so well and didn't hear a thing all night, unlike some hotels!
The highlight for the children was Digby, Sally and Peter's lovely dog. They took him for a walk which made their day.

  • Stayed July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Torsy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cambridge, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 2 September 2012

This is the second time we have stayed at Star Cottage and it did not disappoint. The exterior of the cottage is bordering on the idyllic, and the interior decoration lives up to the outside. Peter and Sally gave a very warm welcome, and the cottage almost feels like home. We stayed in the smaller double bedroom which is beautifully decorated and immaculately clean, as is the rest of the cottage. The lovely downstairs breakfast room is a perfect place for a smoked haddock and poached egg or a croissant or too. The location is fantastic for Burford and the surrounding Cotswolds with parking on the road just outside. It is a magical little shining star in the Cotswolds and the owners should be very proud of their wonderful little establishment.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AWCMLF
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bingley
Level Contributor
39 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 July 2012

My sister and I brought our mum here for her birthday on 7th July, staying just the one night. We wish it had been longer. Not only is the village in which it is situated pretty but the accommodation at Star Cottage was simply lovely.

We stayed in the family room which was very spacious with a double bed and a single, the window overlooked the front garden. The en-suite bathroom was also very spacious and the whole room was beautifully decorated, comfortable and clean. The bathroom window overlooked the rear cottage garden.

In the evening we dined at the Carpenters Arms just 5 imns drive out of the village which was lovely. The staff there were again very friendly and welcoming. Food was lovely too.

Breakfast was lovely as were our hosts, very friendly and welcoming. We would strongly recommend Star Cottage to all and look forward to going back.

Room Tip: Family room is very spacious with a large bathroom
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank nickylamb40
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Herne Bay, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 July 2012

Stayed one night on the way back from a holiday in the Wye valley. Comfortable room, good breakfast.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank akennedy_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hertford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 July 2012

My wife and I stayed for four nights whilst we discovered Oxford and the Cotswolds. Star Cottage is beautifully decorated and very welcoming. A stairway from a stone floored attractive breakfast room leads up to two rooms. We stayed in a beautiful double room with a large bathroom overlooking the cottage garden. Our hosts (and Digby the dog) were very friendly and we can definitely recommend the breakfasts. It's only about 10-15 minutes walk into the centre of Burford, a picturesque Costwolds town with its honey-coloured stone buildings. The local pub serves some great food but the whole area is rich in fantastic restaurants and gastropubs. We can recommend the Rose & Crown at Shilton (less than 10 mins drive away). All in all, fantastic!!

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Simon H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oxford
Level Contributor
18 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 July 2012

A gorgeous B & B in a lovely location. Burford is a short taxi ride away (although on a nice day you could probably walk) and this B & B is in a gorgeous location. The owners are extremely friendly and hospitable and their dog, Digby, is a lovely added extra! I'm not usually a dog fan so if you're not fond of animals don't let this put you off. There are three rooms, two in the main house and one in an annex at the bottom of the garden. The rooms in the main house are both lovely and of good size. The shower in room two is quite snug so if you are tall/large you might struggle a bit. Lovely toiletries provided and a 'proper' hair dryer which is the measure of a good hotel/B & B in my book. Beds very comfortable, plenty of space in the rooms and large wardrobes. Room 1 is amazing, it's huge with a huge bathroom. Very tastefully decorated. The annex at the bottom of the garden is lovely - it has a decent sized fully equipped kitchen with a dining table so if you didn't want to go out you could easily cook and eat in. There is a mezzanine with a folding bed in this room, (as well as a double bed on the ground floor). Personally I wouldn't be able to sleep up here as it feels a bit exposed but the owner said that teenagers/older children in particular like it.
Breakfast was gorgeous - not the usual English breakfast but a menu which you select from the night before. Plenty of options and I would recommend the scrambled egg with thyme and chilli. We stayed here the night before my sister got married and had our hair and make up done at Star Cottage. The owners were so welcoming and friendly and even gave the beauticians tea and biscuits to keep them going. It really felt like a home from home and I can't imagine anyone being disappointed if they stay here.
The Carpenters arms pub is only a five minute walk away and is a lovely pub for food or just a drink.

Room Tip: Room one is the'master' room, the annex good if you want cooking facilities.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KMROxford
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Burford hotels
0.6 mi away
The Bull at Burford
The Bull at Burford
#4 of 8 in Burford
4.5 of 5 bubbles 504 reviews
0.9 mi away
Cotswold Gateway Hotel
Cotswold Gateway Hotel
#5 of 8 in Burford
4.5 of 5 bubbles 485 reviews
2.1 mi away
The Maytime Inn
The Maytime Inn
#1 of 8 in Burford
4.5 of 5 bubbles 356 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
The Lamb Inn
The Lamb Inn
#2 of 8 in Burford
4.5 of 5 bubbles 678 reviews
0.7 mi away
The Highway Inn
The Highway Inn
#1 of 15 in Burford
4.5 of 5 bubbles 289 reviews
0.6 mi away
The Angel at Burford
The Angel at Burford
#3 of 15 in Burford
4.5 of 5 bubbles 317 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Star Cottage? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Star Cottage

Property: Star Cottage
Address: Star Cottage Meadow Lane | Fulbrook, Burford OX18 4BW, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cotswolds > Burford
Amenities:
Kitchenette Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 15 B&Bs / Inns in Burford
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Star Cottage 4*
Number of rooms: 2
Also Known As:
Star Cottage Hotel Burford
Star Cottage Burford, Oxfordshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing