We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“ABOVE AND BEYOND”
Review of Star Cottage

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Burford
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Star Cottage
Ranked #4 of 15 Burford B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“ABOVE AND BEYOND”
Reviewed 23 February 2014

We had a lovely two night stay at star cottage this weekend. The room was lovely and spacious (with a great bath); the full english cooked breakfast was delicious and Peter and Sally went above and beyond the call of duty by picking us up from the train station (upon arrival) and then driving us to Oxford so we could then get the train home. Absolutely nothing to fault - even Digby the dog was on top form.

Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Bismark84
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

129 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    123
    5
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
26
77
1
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (31)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 January 2014

We just had a weekend staying at the Barn at Star Cottage. It was absolutely fantastic, the barn is just gorgeous and the people are lovely. The barn has everything you need, they even provide fair trade coffee and tea! Definitely recommend this accommodation.

Room Tip: The barn is fabulous
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank TE01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
UK
Level Contributor
59 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 January 2014 via mobile

Stayed in the barn over the new year period and had a lovely time. The barn is well equipped for a few nights self catering and we stayed in and ate on both evenings. The owners are very friendly and really looked after us, even bringing breakfast to our room each morning which was a nice touch. The barn is comfortable and modern with lovely interiors. We will definitely stay here again no doubt in 2014!

Stayed January 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
2 Thank Ozzycat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 December 2013

We stayed in the self-catering barn in late November and loved it. The hosts were really helpful and everything we needed was on hand. We would most certainly recommend it and hope to go back again. The location is perfect for Burford itself, Oxford and the Cotswolds and an excellent base for walks- which can be done from the door without needing to drive anywhere. Be prepared to bring some of your own supplies as Burford, although it has plenty of pubs and cafes, is short of general food shops. It's strong on independents but hardly the cheapest place to do the weekly shop!

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Arthur H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Canberra, Australia
Level Contributor
13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 November 2013

We stayed here one night after a recommendation from my parents. This BnB was more expensive than most of the accommodation we stayed in on our trip, but it was worth it. The room was spacious, modern and lovely, breakfast was divine and the welcoming cup of tea and biscuit on arrival were just what was needed after a busy day exploring the countryside. It is a short walk into the village, which has a number of pubs and restaurants to choose from. We wished we had stayed longer, not just for the excellent service but for the beautiful village and surrounding areas as well. Would definitely return if ever in that corner of the world again!

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank littleone89
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
12 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 October 2013

What a beautiful place to stay!!! We booked this B&B based on reviews we had read and were very thankful we did. We are a family of 4 (2 adults and 2 small boys) and stayed in the barn with the self catering option. The barn is very charming and extremely clean and comfortable. Peter and Sally are extremely welcoming hosts and happy to assist with anything. The town of Burford is really pretty and the locals are all very friendly. Our sons fell in love with Sally and Peter's dog, Digby who we even took for a long walk through the beautiful fields. We stayed here for 6 nights in october 2013 at the end of a 6 week vacation and felt relaxed and ready for our long flight/journey back to Australia. We highly recommend Star Cottages as a place to stay.

Room Tip: For families, highly recommend the barn.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Paul A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Copenhagen
Level Contributor
61 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 October 2013

This B&B is highly recommendable. The rooms are beautiful and the house is charming. The hosts are just so friendly and helpful. The breakfast was outstanding. Fresh, homemade and lots of choices. The surroundings are very nice, also.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank dkcsp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Burford hotels
0.6 mi away
The Bull at Burford
The Bull at Burford
#4 of 8 in Burford
516 reviews
0.7 mi away
The Lamb Inn
The Lamb Inn
#2 of 8 in Burford
693 reviews
0.9 mi away
Cotswold Gateway Hotel
Cotswold Gateway Hotel
#5 of 8 in Burford
506 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Travelodge Burford Cotswolds
2.1 mi away
The Maytime Inn
The Maytime Inn
#1 of 8 in Burford
364 reviews
0.7 mi away
The Highway Inn
The Highway Inn
#2 of 15 in Burford
295 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Star Cottage? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Star Cottage

Property: Star Cottage
Address: Star Cottage Meadow Lane | Fulbrook, Burford OX18 4BW, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cotswolds > Burford
Amenities:
Kitchenette Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 15 B&Bs / Inns in Burford
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Star Cottage 4*
Number of rooms: 2
Also Known As:
Star Cottage Hotel Burford
Star Cottage Burford, Oxfordshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing