We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Very comfortable stay”
Review of Star Cottage

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Burford
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Star Cottage
Ranked #5 of 15 Burford B&B and Inns
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Very comfortable stay”
Reviewed 19 June 2014

Peter and Sally made us very welcome and were very helpful and keen to make us comfortable. The cottage is in Fulbrook a few minutes drive outside Burford. it is a characteristically pretty Cotswold stone house with a lovely garden. My husband and I stayed in the Barn at the end of the garden. It is beautifully fitted out with a kitchen and dining area. The bathroom is small but sensibly arranged and the shower is excellent. Our friend stayed in an upstairs room in the main house which was also beautifully furnished and decorated. We were self catering for breakfast so did not sample the breakfast but we saw other people eating and it looked good.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Ruth J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

126 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    120
    5
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
24
76
1
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (30)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 May 2014

We thoroughly enjoyed our stay in the barn at Star Cottage. The location was perfect for our day trips out to explore further afield in the Cotswolds and a short walk to visit the centre of Burford as well. The hosts are friendly and welcoming, including their dog who became immediate friends with our daughter. The accommodation is clean and comfortable and the barn is nicely equipped for a mini-break. The fresh cooked breakfasts were marvellous. Would definitely return if in the area again. Thanks for helping make our holiday memorable!

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank MJSto
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kent
Level Contributor
28 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 May 2014

I am pleased to say that our recent visit with family was our second stay here. We do not normally go back to the same place to stay, but our first trip was so nice we could not resist when we were going back to the same area. We were not disappointed. We were treated like old friends and given tea and homemade cake that was delicious. The rooms were lovely as before and the breakfasts were everything we expected. Thank you for a lovely stay.

Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
2 Thank AndyandChrisKent
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
105 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 May 2014

This was a beautiful B&B, incredibly reasonably priced for the area, and right by Burford, without actually being in it.
The owners are friendly and accommodating, and do a great breakfast. Accommodation is to a high standard, clean, massive bathroom and comfy bed. They have a lovely self-contained barn out the back which would make for a great mini-beak stay, with it's own little kitchen..
There's also an incrdibly eccentris but lovely spaniel named Digby!

Would definitely return if staying in the area again.

Room Tip: The barn is only a little bit more, but you get a mini kitchen and mezzanine floor, so would be a gr...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank LisaTakesTrips
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ParsleyThyme, Owner at Star Cottage, responded to this review, 7 May 2014
I am pleased you enjoyed your stay and found the barn a good place to recommend to others. The dog, Digby, provides hours of amusement to our guests and is therefore a valuable member of staff!
Thank you for your review and hope to see you again.
Peter & Sally
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
lincolnshire england
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 March 2014

We stayed two nights in this wonderful B & B. Charming feel in peaceful location, just a stone's throw from Burford centre. Delicious breakfast, beautifully decorated and furnished to a high spec, with cosy feel. Crisp bedding, The White Company toiletries, beautifully made curtains and cushions. All in all a very pleasant place to stay. Would stay again if in the area. Thank you to Peter and Sally and Digby the dog.

Room Tip: We stayed in the family room and would recommend this.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank E P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Uppingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
89 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 March 2014

Had a good nights stay at the Star Bed and Breakfast. We enjoyed the breakfast that was served to us. We would stay again but would not choose Room2 due to the very small shower room. their is very little space and this made it very difficult .
Everywhere was clean

Room Tip: Choose Room 1 as it has a full size bathroom. Room 2 has a very small ensuite which has been made ou...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Jean D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 February 2014

We had a lovely two night stay at star cottage this weekend. The room was lovely and spacious (with a great bath); the full english cooked breakfast was delicious and Peter and Sally went above and beyond the call of duty by picking us up from the train station (upon arrival) and then driving us to Oxford so we could then get the train home. Absolutely nothing to fault - even Digby the dog was on top form.

Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Bismark84
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Burford hotels
0.6 mi away
The Bull at Burford
The Bull at Burford
#3 of 8 in Burford
4.5 of 5 bubbles 505 reviews
0.9 mi away
Cotswold Gateway Hotel
Cotswold Gateway Hotel
#5 of 8 in Burford
4.5 of 5 bubbles 486 reviews
2.1 mi away
The Maytime Inn
The Maytime Inn
#1 of 8 in Burford
4.5 of 5 bubbles 359 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
The Lamb Inn
The Lamb Inn
#2 of 8 in Burford
4.5 of 5 bubbles 681 reviews
0.7 mi away
The Highway Inn
The Highway Inn
#2 of 15 in Burford
4.5 of 5 bubbles 289 reviews
0.6 mi away
The Angel at Burford
The Angel at Burford
#3 of 15 in Burford
4.5 of 5 bubbles 318 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Star Cottage? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Star Cottage

Property: Star Cottage
Address: Star Cottage Meadow Lane | Fulbrook, Burford OX18 4BW, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cotswolds > Burford
Amenities:
Kitchenette Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 15 B&Bs / Inns in Burford
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Star Cottage 4*
Number of rooms: 2
Also Known As:
Star Cottage Hotel Burford
Star Cottage Burford, Oxfordshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing