We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excellent for breakfast”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
The Priory Restaurant
Ranked #6 of 15 Burford B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
St Albans
Level Contributor
114 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
“Excellent for breakfast”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 February 2012

The Priory serves an excellent breakfast. Service isn't always the quickest but the breakfast is well cooked so worth the wait. Service is excellent.

Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank LACBStAlbans
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

117 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    53
    45
    13
    5
    1
See reviews for
28
57
8
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (26)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
manchester
Level Contributor
142 reviews
68 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 January 2012

my wife and i had breakfast here my wife had the scrambled eggs which were eggcellant , my special was very average toast was served on my plate when removed my breakfast looked very small, one small egg, one pitifully small sausage 2 small rashers of bacon and a teaspoon of chopped mushrooms and half a grilled tomato !!!

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank biburybill
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wishing I was there
Level Contributor
20 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 October 2011

The shared bathroom & shower were the biggest drawbacks of this place, but location very good, free parking overnight and breakfast at the restaurant was a nice touch.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank jobeth2714
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cambridge, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 August 2011

We stayed here to go to a wedding elsewhere in the village. The room was fine, but felt a bit cramped, and the tiled floor wasn't very inviting. The shower room was very small - you got your feet wet when using the basin! Also the windows and door opened directly onto the back patio of the restaurant, which meant privacy suffered, and it must have been odd for those dining there to be just outside our bathroom window! We made the mistake of leaving the windows closed one night, which led to a lot of condensation in the room.

On the plus side, breakfast was good and generous, and the location was ideal for us, being right in the middle of Burford. We also found there was plenty of parking just outside, though it seemed to fill up during the day on Saturday.

I think if you're after something basic, the Priory would be absolutely fine, but we were left wishing we'd spent a little more on somewhere a bit nicer.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank richvdh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kalamazoo, Michigan
Level Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 April 2011

I booked the Priory for two reasons - the price was fabulous compared to everyone else AND most places were already booked and couldn't accommodate our group of six. While it wasn't perfect, it WAS perfect for what we were looking for - cheap sleep and good breakfast.

The location was great - behind the cute restaurant right on the main street of Burford. We booked rooms 1,2 and 3 which were two triple rooms and one single room that all shared a common bathroom and shower. The rooms were clean and nicely decorated. Each room had a heater in it and the two larger rooms had sinks. There were only two downsides - the beds were old and lumpy - but we still slept fine. And there was mold on the ceiling of the shower. If you can overlook those two things then I highly recommend the Priory. They have a beautiful garden patio area and were very hospitable. Breakfast was a full English breakfast with our choice of anything off the menu.

  • Stayed April 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank bargaincrazy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oxford
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 April 2010

I arrived at the Priory and was shown to my room around 1pm the day of a wedding which was being held in a very expensive hotel up the road and where no one could get in their rooms until 2pm, so that started my stay very nicely indeed. In addition, I paid £25 for a single room with shared bathroom but was upgraded to a double ensuite since no one was in it. The room was small and very basic but clean and comfortable.

A full English breakfast was included in the price. This was just what I needed after my late night celebrating with the happy couple and very welcome indeed. The owners struck the right balance between attentive but not watching over you and making you feel pressurised to gobble down your meal as fast as possible and get out of there.

The only issue I had was with the very cold floors - also mentioned in the previous review. But this was not a big deal and the owners had clearly listened to previous guests as they had put down some large rugs. I would still recommend a pair of slippers. But for such a good price and warm welcome, I would say that it is definitely worth a stay.

Basically, this is not somewhere you'd go if you are looking for a warm, spacious room with lots of fluffy cushions and freebies. However if you are looking for a good value, quiet, clean and friendly place in a great location, this is the perfect b&b for you.

  • Stayed April 2010, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank trisarahtopsOxford
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Worcester
Level Contributor
58 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 November 2009

Stayed on a saturday evening, didnt check in till nearly 6, Resturant was just closing.
Shown to our Chalets in the back Patio area, The En-suite rooms had the heating put on proir to getting in so they were warm & cosy.
Great location on the HIgh street in Burford, no parking but there is free parking in the high street or just behind there is a large car park - also free.
My only thing that was wrong was the tiled floor was freezing a rug each side of the bed would of been nice so advice would be take a pair of slippers or warm socks!!
Breackfast was top-noch - all round good stay.
Will stay again and they have some good mid week offers on.

  • Stayed November 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Snoopy1974
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Burford hotels
0.1 mi away
The Bull at Burford
The Bull at Burford
#4 of 8 in Burford
4.5 of 5 bubbles 496 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Lamb Inn
The Lamb Inn
#2 of 8 in Burford
4.5 of 5 bubbles 669 reviews
0.4 mi away
Cotswold Gateway Hotel
Cotswold Gateway Hotel
#5 of 8 in Burford
4.5 of 5 bubbles 476 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
The Bay Tree Hotel
The Bay Tree Hotel
#3 of 8 in Burford
4.5 of 5 bubbles 605 reviews
0.1 mi away
Golden Pheasant
Golden Pheasant
#8 of 8 in Burford
3.5 of 5 bubbles 308 reviews
2.4 mi away
The Maytime Inn
The Maytime Inn
#1 of 8 in Burford
4.5 of 5 bubbles 348 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Priory Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Priory Restaurant

Property: The Priory Restaurant
Address: 35 High Street, Burford OX18 4QA, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cotswolds > Burford
Amenities:
Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 15 B&Bs / Inns in Burford
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2.5 star — The Priory Restaurant 2.5*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We have 5 Bedrooms situated in the garden. The Garden can be used by the residents. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Ebookers, LateRooms, Traveltool, S.L.U., Odigeo, Hotels.com, HotelQuickly and Agoda so you can book your The Priory Restaurant reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Priory Restaurant Hotel Burford
The Priory Restaurant Burford, Oxfordshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing