We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Authentic british food”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
The Priory Restaurant
Ranked #4 of 15 Burford B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 30 July 2014 via mobile

I was there on sunday and we all had the roast beef.
It was good served with delicious vegetables.
Bad thing was we had to wait because the place was so busy.
Staff was so kind i would repeat when i get to Burford again.

  • Stayed: July 2014
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
Thank Noelia187448
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (135)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

103 - 109 of 135 reviews

Reviewed 25 July 2014 via mobile

Had a fantastic lunch on Wednesday
They were busy but it was worth the wait for the great food.
The guy serving was really attentive although very busy and apologised for the delay
Fantastic
If your in the area try it first you won't be disappointed

Stayed: July 2014
Thank Julesandgaz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 July 2014

We were looking for somewhere to eat & most pubs in Burford had stopped serving food for the afternoon & we were advised to try The Priory Restaurant! It was a glorious afternoon & all the outside seating at the front was taken so we sat in the window seat looking out onto Burford's beautiful High Street although there is a rear beer garden too! The restaurant has a nice ambiance with low in-offensive background music. The menu had much to choose from & I plumped Steak & Ale Pie served with new potato's, broccoli, peas & carrots. It was delicious.....the pastry melted in my mouth! My partner had spicy fishcakes which she assured me were also gorgeous! Each meal cost less than £9 which I thought was excellent value! If you are looking for somewhere to eat in Burford, whether it be a meal or just tea & cake you cant go wrong here!

Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank Mark L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
prioryburford, Owner at The Priory Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 15 July 2014

Thank you we are happy you enjoyed your lunch at the Priory. We look forward to seeing you soon.
Many thanks Justin Evans

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 July 2014

I had a good feeling about this place when I booked it. Staff were friendly and extremely helpful and made us feel at home as soon as we arrived after a hard day's walking. The accommodation is basic but very clean and the beds were comfy and rooms had everything we needed. The breakfast was fantastic and set us up for the day's walk ahead. Staff could not have done more to help us, from sharing local knowledge to filling up water bottles, they really went the extra mile. It was the perfect walking weekend priced stopover. We will definitely be back.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank rufuschaka
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
prioryburford, Owner at The Priory Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 15 July 2014

Thank you, we are happy you enjoyed your stay and the service after your long walk. We look forward to seeing you soon. Many thanks Justin Evans

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 June 2014

I had a two night break at The Priory, and was very happy with my stay. I had a single room in the garden building, quite simple but with plenty of space for clothes etc. There was no ensuite or even a washbasin, but a washroom and shower were close by, an arrangement which I prefer to having an ensuite which takes up too much roomspace. The bed was very comfortable and there was a large supply of tea and coffee. I particularly appreciated the tea, as the teabags were very high quality, much tastier than those usually provided in B&Bs. The garden was delightful, and the Priory Special breakfast kept me going for the whole day, it was so enormous!

Room Tip: I you are travelling alone and on a tight budget, then go for the single room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank smallspender
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
prioryburford, Owner at The Priory Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 15 July 2014

Thank you we are happy you enjoyed your stay at the Priory and enjoyed the garden. We look forward to seeing you soon. Many thanks Justin Evans

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 October 2013

We were looking for reasonably priced rooms as we only had two nights in the area and would be out hiking most of the time. A friend mentioned the Priory to me and I must say that the photos on line were exactly how the rooms were. Excellent value for money and really cosy and I slept well even though the village strikes every hour through the night!!! TV, tea kettle in room and loo and shower right next to room. Wonderful breakfast and fabulous waitress.

Room Tip: there are only a handful of rooms there. The photos online were quite accurate in that they are bas...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Margaret A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 August 2013

I learned a useful lesson when looking on the spot for accommodation in Burford. The tourist information office could find nothing available in the village. I asked whether they had listings of all the possibilities in the village, and they said that they did not. I suspect that the listed properties pay a fee to be listed. So I walked out of the office and saw the sign at the adjacent Priory Restaurant which noted that they had B&B accommodation available. The rooms at the back were spartan, but clean and comfortable, also less expensive than B&B in a hotel or private home. Breakfast in the pleasant restaurant was quite good. Recommended.

Room Tip: Don't hesitate to check small hotels, pubs and restaurants for accommodation. They may not be li...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank GraycatbirdHHH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Burford hotels
0.4 mi away
Cotswold Gateway Hotel
Cotswold Gateway Hotel
#5 of 8 in Burford
588 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Bull at Burford
The Bull at Burford
#4 of 8 in Burford
564 reviews
0.4 mi away
Travelodge Burford Cotswolds
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.4 mi away
The Maytime Inn
The Maytime Inn
#1 of 8 in Burford
397 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Bay Tree Hotel
The Bay Tree Hotel
#3 of 8 in Burford
667 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Highway Inn
The Highway Inn
#2 of 15 in Burford
322 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Priory Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Priory Restaurant

Address: 35 High Street, Burford OX18 4QA, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cotswolds > Burford
Amenities:
Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 15 B&Bs / Inns in Burford
Price Range: £56 - £83 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — The Priory Restaurant 2.5*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We have 5 Bedrooms situated in the garden. The Garden can be used by the residents. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, getaroom.com, Odigeo, Ebookers and LateRooms so you can book your The Priory Restaurant reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Priory Restaurant Hotel Burford
The Priory Restaurant Burford, Oxfordshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing