We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“An excellent place to visit.” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Cotswold Wildlife Park and Gardens

Cotswold Wildlife Park and Gardens
Ranked #1 of 11 things to do in Burford
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Closer to Wildlife! Stroll around the Park discovering over 260 different animal species in 160 acres of beautiful parkland and stunning gardens. Get eye-to-eye with Giraffe, walk with Lemurs in our Madagascar exhibit and watch Zebras and Rhinos graze in front of the Gothic listed Manor House, with only a ha-ha in between you. Take a ride on Bella the Train around the Park or let the kids explore the adventure playground. Have lunch in our restaurant or picnic on our spacious lawns. Pet the goats in the Farmyard or watch the Penguins being fed (daily at 11am & 3pm). If your're brave take a peek in our Reptile house with Crocodiles, venomous snakes and lizards or watch the bats flying around in the Bat house or see the creepy crawlies in the Insect House. Stroll around our Walled Garden with Meerkats, Otters, Prairie Dogs, Penguins and Tropical House with free-roaming Sloths, bats and birds. Along with beautiful exotic plants, cactus beds (in the warmer months) and spectacular bedding, all of which make a beautiful backdrop to the animals.
Useful Information: Wheelchair access, Activities for older children, Bathroom facilities, Activities for young children
Lancashire, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
109 reviews
11 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
“An excellent place to visit.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 June 2014

This was the 2nd time we've visited this park & it was a very sunny day which made it even better its nice to walk round looking at the animals. the food is reasonable & there were long queues for food when we were there, there is a little train if you do not want to walk around. The variety of animals is very good.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank Neil1953
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,328 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,637
    583
    81
    17
    10
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
44 reviews
23 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Nice Sunday out”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 June 2014 via mobile

We had a lovely day at Cotswold wildlife park.
There are plenty of picnic areas plenty of drink and ice cream kiosks and a lovely restaurant.
It is well organised for all ages and abilities.
Plenty of disabled parking and wheelchair hire if needed.
All routes are pushchair and wheel chair friendly.
We'll written descriptions of animals and there habitat and diet and maps around the park to point you in the right direction.There is a train that goes around the park but it is a pound extra charge which I personally thought was a bit mean considering what you pay to get in but it's personal .There is a children's play area and petting corner and animal feeding times are well displayed.All in all a great day out.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank Julie N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cradley Heath, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Great day out!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 May 2014

Very well kept grounds, animal enclosures clean and well kept. Lots of variety of animals. Great value for money (£14.50 adults £10 children unders 3's free) all money goes to the upkeep of the animals & gardens. it rained on us but can't help the weather. If you get a sunny day would make an amazing day trip for the kids. Mine (3 boys aged 4, 2 & 8 months) loved it!
Train ride is £1 each and restaurant/cafe around £7-8 each meal. Kids play area with a carouselle 80p each ride. We enjoyed the day and the animals who all seemed happy and well looked after, would defiantly visit again. FAB!!

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank R30XAN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
175 reviews
25 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
“A great day out!!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 May 2014 via mobile

I visited the Cotswold Wildlife Park with my 5 yr old daughter, grandparents and their dog! We had a great day it is a really well laid out and maintained park. A wide selection of animals who all look very well cared for.

Whilst pretty big the park does not take that long to walk around and you are never really that far from the restaurant or cafe or the various kiosks. My daughter was happy to walk around all day, if you've for younger children is probably take the pushchair/buggy.

As well as the animals, there is a play area and also the train to take a ride on (it's a pound) and the farmyard where you can get a bit closer to the animals, particularly the goats.

The restaurant is nice, we only had some chips and coffees and they were good. The rest of the food looked nice and there was a good range from baked potatoes to sweet and sour chicken. All priced at around what you'd expect for this sort of place (£6-£8 for the meals) although there are also a number of picnic areas both covered and uncovered if you want to take your own food.

Altogether a really good day out and great value for money.


Helpful?
Thank Johnathan M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stratford Upon Avon
Level Contributor
81 reviews
41 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
“Good on a summers day”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 May 2014

First the prices:
Admission to the attraction - adults £14.50, Children £10, under 3s free.
Additional costs:
train ride around the park - £1 each
Food - allow about £10 per head. Cup of tea £1.40. If you take a picnic you have to eat it outside.
Car parking free on site.

Now the facilities:
Pretty good, although needs updating. Many hot taps do not work in the toilets. Toilets are dotted around the site and are well placed in all areas.
Food is available, both hot and cold. Hot food is served from 11:30, but once lunch has finished no more hot food is available (around 3:30ish). Jacket potato about £6, hot pub like meal about £9.

The animals:
This depends on your point of view. Personally I would not go back there or support the park as after seeing them as I thought they were in quite confined areas, particularly the birds. When I was there the giraffes were engaging in repetitive walking up and down which I believe is a sign of stress.
I think a lot of the animals seemed rather bored too.
However, they have no predators where they are, so I guess that is one less stressor. Additionally, the zebras seemed pretty happy, along with other animals there, and they seemed to have some of the animals breeding in captivity.

Kids enjoyed it, but there was a lot of walking.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank Jeremy_Stratford
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Cotswold Wildlife Park and Gardens also viewed

Stourton, Shipston-on-Stour
Bourton-on-the-Water, Cotswolds
 
Moreton-in-Marsh, Cotswolds
Guiting Power, Cheltenham
 

Been to Cotswold Wildlife Park and Gardens? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing