We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely B&B”
Review of Hillborough House

Hillborough House
Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Hillborough House
Ranked #11 of 15 Burford B&B and Inns
London
Level Contributor
19 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Lovely B&B”
Reviewed 29 July 2013

This family run B&B is beautiful, clean and wonderfully decorated. We hade a very comfortable stay during our two nights here (the bed was amazing) and Anna and her aunt and uncle were very welcoming and full of useful information which helped us get about.

Breakfast was delicious, not to mention huge. We felt really well looked after, and locals were very friendly to us. Some of the other reviews say that the village is slightly off the beaten track - which is true - but we found it easy to get about from there. We were driving mostly, but we also ventured into Burford by bus one day too which only took about 15 minutes.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jaidey123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

41 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    31
    8
    1
    1
    0
See reviews for
15
18
1
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Wootton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 27 July 2013

lovely welcome,....... couldn't have been more accommodating,...... close to all the main Cotswold towns,...... ideal base for a short trip..........very comfortable beds, and a great breakfast - what more do you need.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank gib104
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
30 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 June 2012

Good things:

- Friendly reception and service throughout from the owner's daughter.

- Light, airy, spacious room (there are 3 rooms, we stayed in the Jade Room).

- Comfortable bed, crisp, fresh linen, quiet, great sleep quality.

- Tea, coffee, biscuits and kettle in the room.

- Lots of clean towels. Room made up daily.

- Lovely breakfast, ranging from cereal, fruit and yoghurt to a full English or veggie equivalent. All ingredients high quality local produce.

- Free parking available on-site

- Location is great if, as we were, you are visiting friends in Milton Under Wychwood. If you are not, and you are simply visiting the Cotswolds, then there is nothing really in Milton under Wychwood itself but provided that you have a car, then that is no problem as Burford is less than 10 minutes drive away.

Less good things:

- Only one gripe really, and that is that none of the 3 rooms have a proper shower, which I guess if ok if you like baths, but not so good if like me you prefer to shower.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DC2008London
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wokingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
25 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 May 2012

We chose this B&B for a Bank Holiday trip to the Cotswolds and had absolutely no regrets. Our host, Jane, welcomed us on arrival shortly after 4pm on the Saturday and throughout gave us helpful tips for dining and directions.

Our room, a double on the first floor with en-suite bathroom was spacious and comfortable with views across the Green to the front. Tea and coffee making facilities were available in the room and Jane was on hand to offer us fresh milk in case we wanted a drink on arrival. Parking is no problem and located on site. A final word is saved for the breakfast which was substantial and cooked to order along with toast and croissants and a selection of cereals and yoghurt should you desire. With all the walking, we were glad to have eaten as well as we did.

The location, Milton-under-Wychwood is a little off the beaten track but, only 4 miles north of beautiful Burford, it's well located for getting to all the local attractions and beautiful Cotswold scenery. Though there are many wonderful little towns and villages to visit the area is really quite compact. We visited Bourton-on-the-Water, Stow-on-the-Wold, Moreton-in-Marsh, Broadway, Burford, Blenheim Palace (Woodstock) and the beautiful Hidcote Gardens during the course of our visit.

We will definitely return to the area and highly recommend this B&B to all.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank NeilFoley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 31 October 2011

We stayed overnight for a 40th party nearby. The room was clean well maintained and very comfortable. Breakfast was superb - well cooked and not greasy. A lovely place to stay.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mark e
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ashford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 September 2011

A most comfortable room, bed and lovely view. Jane and Anna (Mother and Daughter) were completely attentive to all our needs, with answers to all our questions about the Cotswolds. They were friendly, with a great sense of humour that made us feel so at home. The breakfast was superb, with all the local ingredients being very tasty. We stayed for three nights, but would have been happy to have stayed longer. We will definitely stay there again, the next time we are in the area.
Thank you, Jane and Anna.

Room Tip: Room 1 had it all!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank David H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
England
Level Contributor
103 reviews
62 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 July 2011

We were so looking forward to staying here as part of our holiday on the way to Cornwall. We arrived about 2.45pm to be told our room wasn't ready. So we deposited our luggage in the room and went out for several hours. On our return we showed ourselves into the room. It was very tired with a mismatch of old furniture. The beds and bed linen were fresh and clean and the bed itself was very comfortable. But there was no hair dryer and only a bath in the bathroom. No shower proved a problem as one of us is unable to get out of a bath. The hand held shower unfortunately went all over the bathroom when we used it.
We had to ask for some fresh milk as well as a replacement toilet roll.
However, the breakfast was good although the dining area a little austere and clinical - it could have done with some low classical background music or the daily papers available.
It was also a little cold in the northfacing room - a fan heater was provided.
Could do with a little more tender, loving care, especially the room.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank EnglandRuddles
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Burford
2.5 mi away
The Bull at Burford
The Bull at Burford
#4 of 8 in Burford
516 reviews
2.2 mi away
Cotswold Gateway Hotel
Cotswold Gateway Hotel
#5 of 8 in Burford
506 reviews
2.2 mi away
Travelodge Burford Cotswolds
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.6 mi away
The Lamb Inn
The Lamb Inn
#2 of 8 in Burford
694 reviews
2.3 mi away
The Maytime Inn
The Maytime Inn
#1 of 8 in Burford
364 reviews
3.7 mi away
Old Swan & Minster Mill
Old Swan & Minster Mill
#1 of 1 in Minster Lovell
1,759 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hillborough House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hillborough House

Property: Hillborough House
Address: The House on the Hill Shipton Road | Shipton Road, Burford OX18 4BU, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cotswolds > Burford
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 15 B&Bs / Inns in Burford
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Hillborough House 4*
Number of rooms: 3
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Ebookers, LateRooms, Book Direct Rooms and Evoline ltd so you can book your Hillborough House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hillborough House Burford, Oxfordshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing