We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Taylors from the southcoast” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hillborough House

Hillborough House
Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Hillborough House
Ranked #8 of 15 Burford B&B and Inns
Southampton, United Kingdom
1 review
“Taylors from the southcoast”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 September 2013

Stayed here for three nights in September 2013. Welcomed by Jane the owner on arrival and shown to our room. The room was large well decorated, nice and clean, with en-suite bathroom,
and large comfy bed. Breakfast was served by Anna, Janes indispensable daughter who had a great sense of humour, and served the best breakfast ever.Would definitely stay here again.
Great value for money. Ten out of ten.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Robert-john t
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

39 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    30
    8
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
14
17
1
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 August 2013

We stayed at Hillborough House in early August for two nights on the way home from the Lake District and on arrival we were immediately impressed with the beautiful Cotswold stone house.
We were greeted by the owners brother , who was very helpful in showing us to our room and giving us any information we needed.
We have stayed in Burford, Bourton and Stow many times and have often been disappointed with other B+B's rooms being cramped or noisy, but Hillborough House being a large family home originally, has very large, brick built rooms that are of a very good size and very quiet.
There was a family of six from America staying above us , including 4 children, and we never heard any noise from them at all.
The following morning where we were were met by the owner Jane and her daughter who were both really friendly - There was a choice of cereals and fruit , and while we were waiting for our "full english" breakfast , we were brought 2 warm croissants with tea and toast -
The breakfast itself was amazing , including very nice sausages made by a local butcher.
THE B+B is in a beautiful village called Milton Under Wychwood , only a few miles from Burford and approx 10 mins away from Stow on The Wold and Bourton on the Water by car.
We will definitely be returning in the future

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank CFFLONDON
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 August 2013

Spotlessly clean, superb comfy bed, great breakfast and a welcoming place. Will definitely go back. Very homely and the three cats made sure I did not miss my own. Lovely!
Thank you for a brilliant stay in the Cotswolds

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Deb C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bingley
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 August 2013

Recently enjoyed a 2 night stay at Hillborough House, we found it to be an excellent base for exploring the Costwolds. The family room we stayed in was very spacious, and we were happy with all the facilities. The owner and her daughter were very friendly, and were more than happy to advise us on places to see and things to do. Breakfast was excellent and extremely plentiful, and we would definitely stay again if we were in the area

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank PDav15566
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
19 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 July 2013

This family run B&B is beautiful, clean and wonderfully decorated. We hade a very comfortable stay during our two nights here (the bed was amazing) and Anna and her aunt and uncle were very welcoming and full of useful information which helped us get about.

Breakfast was delicious, not to mention huge. We felt really well looked after, and locals were very friendly to us. Some of the other reviews say that the village is slightly off the beaten track - which is true - but we found it easy to get about from there. We were driving mostly, but we also ventured into Burford by bus one day too which only took about 15 minutes.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jaidey123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wootton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 July 2013

lovely welcome,....... couldn't have been more accommodating,...... close to all the main Cotswold towns,...... ideal base for a short trip..........very comfortable beds, and a great breakfast - what more do you need.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank gib104
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
30 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 June 2012

Good things:

- Friendly reception and service throughout from the owner's daughter.

- Light, airy, spacious room (there are 3 rooms, we stayed in the Jade Room).

- Comfortable bed, crisp, fresh linen, quiet, great sleep quality.

- Tea, coffee, biscuits and kettle in the room.

- Lots of clean towels. Room made up daily.

- Lovely breakfast, ranging from cereal, fruit and yoghurt to a full English or veggie equivalent. All ingredients high quality local produce.

- Free parking available on-site

- Location is great if, as we were, you are visiting friends in Milton Under Wychwood. If you are not, and you are simply visiting the Cotswolds, then there is nothing really in Milton under Wychwood itself but provided that you have a car, then that is no problem as Burford is less than 10 minutes drive away.

Less good things:

- Only one gripe really, and that is that none of the 3 rooms have a proper shower, which I guess if ok if you like baths, but not so good if like me you prefer to shower.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank DC2008London
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Burford hotels
2.5 mi away
The Bull at Burford
The Bull at Burford
#4 of 8 in Burford
4.5 of 5 bubbles 477 reviews
2.3 mi away
The Maytime Inn
The Maytime Inn
#1 of 8 in Burford
4.5 of 5 bubbles 337 reviews
2.2 mi away
Cotswold Gateway Hotel
Cotswold Gateway Hotel
#5 of 8 in Burford
4.5 of 5 bubbles 462 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.5 mi away
The Lamb Inn
The Lamb Inn
#2 of 8 in Burford
4.5 of 5 bubbles 648 reviews
4.4 mi away
Inn for All Seasons
Inn for All Seasons
#7 of 15 in Burford
4.0 of 5 bubbles 294 reviews
2.4 mi away
The Highway Inn
The Highway Inn
#3 of 15 in Burford
4.5 of 5 bubbles 281 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hillborough House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hillborough House

Property: Hillborough House
Address: The House on the Hill Shipton Road | Shipton Road, Burford OX18 4BU, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cotswolds > Burford
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 15 B&Bs / Inns in Burford
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Hillborough House 4*
Number of rooms: 3
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Book Direct Rooms and Hotels.com so you can book your Hillborough House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hillborough House Burford, Oxfordshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing