We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good Service in the Cotswolds”
Review of The Bay Tree Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
The Bay Tree Hotel
Ranked #3 of 8 Hotels in Burford
Certificate of Excellence
Sheffielduk
Level Contributor
238 reviews
86 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 157 helpful votes
“Good Service in the Cotswolds”
Reviewed 20 April 2013

Country town hotel with enough character to create a Cotswold charm. This hotel is big enough to provide a level of service we so often demand yet small enough to retain its character. Burford is a typical Cotswold market town and despite the traffic and the negative sides to tourism it retains a charm. The Bay Tree easily does it justice and if you have never visited the Cotswolds this is as good a place as any to start. The public rooms are very pleasant, cozy with log fires in the bar and lounges, and the dining room also welcoming. Plenty of car parking and efficient check-in.
We booked a superior room in a modern but in character wing and our room was entirely satisfactory with a 'Juliet' balcony overlooking a pretty walled garden. It was a good size and spotlessly clean. No minibar or fridge, no air-con (for heaven's sake this is England) but if you visit mid week and on a hotel package extremely good value. Just for the record the water pressure in the thermostatically controlled shower was fine. They still offer a turn down service which is a nice touch and they topped up the bits and pieces in the 'make your own tea/coffee' facilities which was appreciated. Newspaper on request charged to your bill.
The restaurant was very satisfactory with a good choice at all three courses. The food was entirely satisfactory and I imagine the chef was working pretty hard to provide an interesting menu and cook it freshly.
In particular a very good wine list; lots of choice, sensible mark ups, wines by the glass, and half bottles too. Somebody has used a good deal of experience and some cunning to put this list together, no money wasted on cellaring expensive wines nobody is going to order,
but if you enjoy wine there is a good bottle here for you.
Breakfast also was excellent, for a hotel of this size to provide such choice, good quality, with prompt service is a standard many establishments do not try to aspire to.
Check out was efficient and my bill was ready. A service charge was added and entirely justified. This is the first time ever for me a receptionist has highlighted a service charge and explained it can be removed if I was not comfortable with it. I was so shocked I forgot to delete it and hand it back in cash as is my usual practice in a friendly place. I'm ashamed.
I can thoroughly recommend the Bay Tree Hotel.If you can make it for a midweek dinner, bed & breakfast inclusive package it is a very fair deal.

Room Tip: We were pleased with our superior room. Quilts not blankets so warm as toast. We turned the radiator...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank indefatigable
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

614 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    390
    129
    47
    30
    18
See reviews for
112
343
9
19
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (160)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Norwegian first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
17 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 April 2013

We went for aFriday night over Easter. The room was lovely and cute but the shower was very poor with very low water pressure and the bed was small. Aside from these points, the service was excellent and felt very first class. The 3 course set menu in the restuarant was very good value and the setting was lovely. Good for a short break in the Cotswolds.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank LauraJS_101
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
58 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 April 2013

Stayed one night but could have stayed longer. Beatiful hotel off the busy main street in glorious Burford . Main bars are warm and welcoming. Bedrooms very tasteful and well appointed. Food was fantastic .Amazing choice for breakfast and the dinner at night was outstanding with superb service. Very friendly and obliging staff. Not cheap but worth every penny for a bit of luxury.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Pat H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
cheshire
Level Contributor
241 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 131 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 April 2013

Stayed at the Hare and Hounds,Tetbury last spring and decided to take advantage of the " 2 nights for the price of 1 with 1 dinner included" offer which the Cotswold Inns group feature.

We arrived mid afternoon to be advised by a rather officious receptionist that a minor repair was being made to our room and there would be a small delay in our room being available.We decided to have a pot of tea and were advised that this would be complimentary.It was at this point that we realised that "The Library" listed in the hotel description was only a small room
with a few books situated just below the bar.As it was occupied we had to sit in the bar area.
We had incorrectly assumed that there would be a lounge area similar to the excellent library/lounge at the Hare and Hounds

The Garden Room in the outbuilding was excellent and we had the advantage of the end of terrace room which means potentially less noise.The view out to the garden was lovely.The addition of a tea pot on the hospitality tray was a nice idea.The bathroom was spacious and well appointed.


We decided to have sandwiches in the bar on the first evening which were excellent and the Barman/Waiter was very efficient.As a beer drinker I was disappointed with the lack of choice that was available
.

Breakfast on both days was excellent with a large choice both from the table and the main menu.
The staff were very efficient.

We did encounter a few problems with dinner on the 2nd night.Having requested extra time to look at the menu before choosing whilst in the bar we were then forgotten and eventually made our way to the restaurant to order at the table.Our wine order was forgotten and the cheese was fridge cold.The restaurant food however was excellent .

Overall we had an enjoyable few days at the Bay Tree with a few minor hiccups

Room Tip: If reserving a Garden Room request the end room towards the car park
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank lgd23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
39 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 April 2013

We stayed Friday night 29.03.13 as a 'date night' and booked 1 week in advance. We have stayed at the other chain of Cotswolds Inn & Hotels - for the overall experience the Bay Tree is the best so far...

Car parking was easy and plenty of room considering the hotel was fully booked. We had the Junior Suite which was at the top of the Hotel building with the just the best bathroom. Yes the decor/DIY in both rooms needed fixing / patching up but nothing really.

We had fresh Cream Tea on arrival which was heaven. Twice there was no bar staff so very trusting :)
The dinner and overall service was really the very best and a must to experience. The hotel and staff must be very proud. We were overwhelmed with the quality and professionalism so much so we left 2 tips.
Breakfast (in bed) although not bad was not fantastic I was hoping for. Maybe next time we will walk to get it.
Thank you so much.

Room Tip: Junior Suite is massive, with the biggest and deepest Roll Top bath! If you need a view dont bother...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank bry328
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bedford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
18 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 March 2013

My boyfriend and I have just returned from an all too brief two night stay at this fabulous hotel. We treated ourselves to a mini-mini-break to break up our journey home from visiting my family in Cardiff and to celebrate my birthday.

The hotel was very easy to locate from the M4 and clear signage pointed the way to the hotel off Burford High street. A lovely warm welcome greeted us and we were shown to our room immediately. The room was tastefully decorated and felt cozy and in keeping with the "olde worldy" charm of the hotel and village. The bed was very comfortable, the TV had a good range of channels and the Molton Brown toiletries were a welcome treat.

We were initially a wee bit disappointed at the cozyness of the room as last year we stayed in The Hare and Hounds in Tetbury, a hotel within the same chain and the room there was twice the size, but the charm of the room won us over and we had plenty of space to occupy.

We stayed on a dinner and B&B basis with dinner being on our first night (my birthday ;-) The dinner was fabulous and will be one we will remember for a long time. Staff were attentive and professional. Breakfast too was delicious, you couldn't wish for finer produce and the homemade fruit jams were to die for!

The communal areas of the hotel were very welcoming an not too busy. We stayed on a Tues and Weds night and we were pleased that there were not too many folk around. Same could've been said for Burford as well. The weather was kind to us for mid-March and the town was lovely to stroll around arm in arm. Plenty of nice pubs for lunch and we ate in The Golden Pheasant on our second night which was super. Burford was an all-round good choice for a cheeky two-night stay but acknowledge that we were ready to leave its charm on the third morning and head home.

Room Tip: Welcome pack in room says Wi-fi is £6 an hour but it turned out after asking at reception that it is...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank kathwing
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brantham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
76 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 March 2013

went for a day at the races , so stayed there over night, we had a garden view ,the room were very good, but the bathroom were of very poor standerd ,the toilet at the bottom of the basin were stained badly , the plug in the bath were stuck so water wont run out when haveing a shower, the heating in the bathroom wasnt working , the toilet holder were loose and were hanging down,we were in the Lenthall ,it is down side o0f hotel,breakfast were ok but have had a lot better ,toast very poor,meals at night and wine ect were pricey , went out down town and found it a lot cheaper,

Room Tip: Lenthall room,very nice room but check toilet and heating in bathroom ,plus bath it wont drain plug...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank graham728
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Burford
0.0 mi away
The Lamb Inn
The Lamb Inn
#2 of 8 in Burford
4.5 of 5 bubbles 679 reviews
2.4 mi away
The Maytime Inn
The Maytime Inn
#1 of 8 in Burford
4.5 of 5 bubbles 357 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Bull at Burford
The Bull at Burford
#4 of 8 in Burford
4.5 of 5 bubbles 505 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Cotswold Gateway Hotel
Cotswold Gateway Hotel
#5 of 8 in Burford
4.5 of 5 bubbles 485 reviews
12.8 mi away
The Manor House Hotel
The Manor House Hotel
#3 of 3 in Moreton-in-Marsh
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,046 reviews
9.0 mi away
The Swan Hotel
The Swan Hotel
#1 of 1 in Bibury
4.0 of 5 bubbles 881 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Bay Tree Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Bay Tree Hotel

Property: The Bay Tree Hotel
Address: Sheep Street, Burford OX18 4LW, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cotswolds > Burford
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#2 Luxury Hotel in Burford
#3 Romantic Hotel in Burford
#3 Family Hotel in Burford
#5 Business Hotel in Burford
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — The Bay Tree Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 21
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled away on a quaint side street in Burford is the Bay Tree Hotel, part of the Cotswold Inns and Hotels collection. The hotel has 21 stylish bedrooms and endless character with flagstoned floors, roaring log fires and a secret walled garden. This dog-friendly property is perfectly located for exploring Burford and its surrounding Cotswold villages. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Odigeo, Ebookers, Traveltool, S.L.U., TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd and Hotel.de so you can book your The Bay Tree Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bay Tree Burford
Hotel Bay Tree
The Bay Tree Hotel Burford, Oxfordshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing