We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Distinct lack of sleep!”
3 of 5 bubbles Review of The Bay Tree Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
The Bay Tree Hotel
Ranked #3 of 8 Hotels in Burford
Certificate of Excellence
Bourne, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
116 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 91 helpful votes
“Distinct lack of sleep!”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 April 2014

Visited the Bay Tree on a 2 for 1 offer staying in a master suite, £275 for 2 nights B&B which included dinner one evening. Check in is at 2pm but on arrival at 2.30pm our room wasn't ready. It would have been nice to have been offered complimentary coffee but this was not to be! On check in we were taken to the 'Oak' suite. This was extremely spacious with seating area and TV in the main bedroom and then a separate lounge area with TV. For the size of the room it is a real shame to see a standard double four poster inside - a king size or super kingsize would be so much better and the space would certainly allow for this. Good range of rea/coffee making facilities including Nespresso machine. Nice bathroom with whirlpool bath.

Our meal in the restaurant was very nice and staff attentive throughout. Although we have seen reviews reporting poor breakfast quality ours were very good with no complaints. Our second night we sampled food in the bar and again this was very good.

Sleep quality, or the distinct lack if it, is the reason we would definitely not return to this hotel. The bed, whilst quaint, creaks to high heaven. It is quite obvious that no one from the hotel has ever sat on or laid on this bed. Also, as a previous reviewer has mentioned the floorboards are appalling. We thought it may have been staff rooms above ours given the constant creaking of floorboards throughout the night and the sound of the TV from 6.30am but it was another guest room!

Overall a nice break in the Cotswolds but we certainly didn't leave The Bay Tree feeling rested. It could be so good with just a few tweaks. Sadly we left more than a little disappointed!!

Room Tip: Hopefully a top floor room will prevent creaking floorboards!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kibongi1965
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

607 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    386
    126
    47
    30
    18
See reviews for
111
339
9
19
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (157)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Norwegian first
  • Any
English first
Cheltenham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
195 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 April 2014

Stayed here a couple of times and love this little hotel. The staff are always very polite and accommodating and the rooms are beautifully furnished and just a little bit quirky (but in a good way).

The hotel has a car park which is something not to be taken for granted in Burford and it is within minutes walk of the main high street. I have eaten here before and found the food to be of good quality and the bar area is cosy, especially on a cold winter day where you get the lovely smell of wood smoke throughout the hotel. Also been here in a very hot summer and the outside garden is a lovely retreat, especially if sampled with a bottle of something cold!

Definitely recommend this hotel as a great base to explore the Cotswolds.

Room Tip: Ones in the main building are noiser than the modern ones in the annexe, however when I say noisy, t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Karen B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
East Hampton, New York
Level Contributor
88 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 April 2014

Stayed here for two nights while sightseeing in area. They have a mid week promotion that includes dinner if you stay for two nights or more and the restaurant is one of the best in the area.
Staff eager to please and the hotel has its own parking lot which is important in the Cotswolds. The downside is the rooms which need spiffing up. We had a "garden room" and the lighting is poor, especially in the bathroom and the bathroom floor seems to be some sort of "contact" material which is delaminating,. Actually a 3.5 star hotel in an area that could really use a 5 star inn,.

Room Tip: Did not see regular rooms, but they are in the main building which might be noisy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Hamptonstraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 April 2014 via mobile

I had really high hopes for The Bay Tree, having stayed at the The Lamb Inn twice previously. Although I can't fault the food, the service or the accommodation to any great degree it just felt like there was something missing. Having thought about it I'm going to put it down to the extra personal touch. We had Sunday Lunch in the restaurant which was served with military like precision but the same couldn't be said for breakfast. The continental buffet was disappointing. The famous drambuie marmalade was not on offer despite being on the menu and when we asked for marmalade just the standard type was provided. We waited quite a while for our cooked breakfasts and had to ask more than once for tea and coffee refills. In terms of the accommodation our room was lovely, but a little tired and in need of a little love. We were on the ground floor with windows looking out onto a small courtyard with many windows facing so we felt overlooked. There was also a lot of noise from creaking floorboards above us. I understand it's an old building and these things can't be helped, it's just one of those things I guess!! Overall we did enjoy our stay but when visiting Burford in future we would opt for the Lamb Inn for the more personal touch.

Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank SneakyRussian
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oxford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
32 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 April 2014

We had previously stayed at The Lamb next door but The Bay Tree had a 2 for 1 offer so we took that. As they are in the same chain a lot is similar such as the lovely traditional decor and the exceptional service which is notable in both places. We booked a master suite and had Old Justice room. This is just over the lane between the main hotel and the cottage building and looks over a small quiet courtyard. We had our own front door which was handy as we left our dirty walking boots outside. Inside was a separate living room and bedroom which a large bathroom (shower over bath). Very traditionally furnished with half tester bed. There was a TV in both rooms and a Nespresso coffee maker. It was lovely and spacious with well chosen furniture, pictures and ornaments. The only downsides were that it is slightly gloomy and that the bed is only a double. We have a king size at home so felt a bit squashed. Also the WiFi doesn't work well away from the main building but it didn't matter.

The service was very good. We asked for fresh milk, and in minutes it appeared. At breakfast I asked for more tea and a gigantic pot arrived immediately. Warm toast? No problem. The nice young man in the bar was equally attentive and must have a doppelganger as he seemed to do everything! The reception staff and the manager were so welcoming and helpful.

We had dinner on the first night which we enjoyed as part of the 2for1 deal. It was good but we also enjoyed the less formal bar food.

Would I book again? Yes, either there or the Lamb - both are excellent. I would also like to try out others in the group.

Room Tip: Ask for a king size bed if you like them. WiFi better in main hotel. Higher floors will be lighter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kate N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
England
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 April 2014

My husband and I stayed here for our 25th Wedding Anniversary weekend..we had the Master Suite which was warmly decorated, large and comfortable and we loved the Nespresso machine..great coffee..Nothing was too much trouble for the cheerful staff....a request for more milk was dealt with promptly ...The breakfast menu is really good and extensive... excellent Eggs Benedict... room service arrived on time and the very inviting restaurant served delicious fish and we also enjoyed the amuse bouches as they were different each evening! We both had a memorable and enjoyable weekend!

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank indexing
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
119 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 April 2014

We had a package that included a junior suite, flowers, chocs, champagne, afternoon cream tea and evening meal.
We had the champagne with the cream tea in the garden......great.
The suite was the smallest that we've ever stayed in, and I'd question whether 'suite' really describes it.. we usually have larger rooms that are not so described. We were offered fresh milk in the room on three occasions.. but it never arrived. There's a problem with the cold tap.
The evening meal was excellent for the main course, brilliant for the dessert, but the muse bouche and cold haddock soupy starter were an odd mix, and really didn't work.
We've stayed here before, in an ordinary room, when everything was fine... just shows that sometimes you don't get what you pay for.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Goldcat1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Burford
0.0 mi away
The Lamb Inn
The Lamb Inn
#2 of 8 in Burford
4.5 of 5 bubbles 670 reviews
2.4 mi away
The Maytime Inn
The Maytime Inn
#1 of 8 in Burford
4.5 of 5 bubbles 348 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Bull at Burford
The Bull at Burford
#4 of 8 in Burford
4.5 of 5 bubbles 496 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Cotswold Gateway Hotel
Cotswold Gateway Hotel
#5 of 8 in Burford
4.5 of 5 bubbles 476 reviews
12.8 mi away
The Manor House Hotel
The Manor House Hotel
#3 of 3 in Moreton-in-Marsh
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,028 reviews
9.0 mi away
The Swan Hotel
The Swan Hotel
#1 of 1 in Bibury
4.0 of 5 bubbles 870 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Bay Tree Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Bay Tree Hotel

Property: The Bay Tree Hotel
Address: Sheep Street, Burford OX18 4LW, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cotswolds > Burford
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#2 Luxury Hotel in Burford
#3 Romantic Hotel in Burford
#3 Family Hotel in Burford
#5 Business Hotel in Burford
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — The Bay Tree Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 21
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled away on a quaint side street in Burford is the Bay Tree Hotel, part of the Cotswold Inns and Hotels collection. The hotel has 21 stylish bedrooms and endless character with flagstoned floors, roaring log fires and a secret walled garden. This dog-friendly property is perfectly located for exploring Burford and its surrounding Cotswold villages. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U. and Evoline ltd so you can book your The Bay Tree Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bay Tree Burford
Hotel Bay Tree
The Bay Tree Hotel Burford, Oxfordshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing