We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent service!”
Review of The Bay Tree Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
The Bay Tree Hotel
Ranked #3 of 8 Hotels in Burford
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 5 June 2014

Having seen some previous reviews, we were slightly anxious about taking our 2 children (2 and4) to dinner. Happily our fears were unfounded. The staff were amazing with the children and really helpful and attentive. We really enjoyed our stay; beautiful location, comfortable rooms and good food. Without exception, we found the service to be excellent.

  • Stayed: June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Emma074
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (657)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

324 - 330 of 657 reviews

Reviewed 5 June 2014

As an occasional visitor to Burford I always jump at the opportunity to stay at The Lamb next door. Unfortunately next door was full so I booked The Bay Tree as the hotel belongs to the same parent company and from the exterior, looked similar but sadly there the similarity ends. I was promised a pleasant room, as I explained how much I enjoyed The Lamb. I was shown to a room in the annexe behind the hotel, pleasant enough but a little dated and careworn but they had tried with new cushions, bedhead and upholstery. I had had a bad experience with a tyre en route so needed a hot bath and a little R and R. The room was cold and I turned the radiator and towel rail up but with no reaction. I telephoned down and Mark came to investigate. He had no explanation for the non functioning but decided to move me to another room. I queried that this did have working heating and he reassured me. The alternative room was death by toile de jouey, on the walls, ceiling, curtains and everywhere!! ( NB if you don't know what t d j is it's that print of scenes that runs all over the substrate ofte, as this was in faded blue and yellowing white) Unfortunately, when I pointed out this room also had no heating I was told the" heating didn't come on until 7pm as it had been warm over the preceding days" I then decided to adjourn to The Lamb to eat. Needless to say an exquiste evening was spent with superb food and refreshment and I returned to a now lukewarm room next door. My next problem was that the kitchen extractor fan, cunningly painted green to blend with the ivy made sleep impossible even fuelled by a very satisfactory meal at The Lamb. I eventually called down at 11pm and an offer was made to turn it down and in actuality I think it was switched off. Breakfast the next day was not again up to the standard next door. I seated myself, was not offered any service and eventually in frustration stopped a waitress and queried whether it would be possible to order breakfast. On checkout I was offered an audience with the Manager however the delay at breakfast had made me late for a meeting so I merely outlined my grievances to the receptionist. Suffice to say I will look elsewhere if The Lamb is full

Room Tip: Go next door! It could be that the main building is better. The bar and restaurant looked okay
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank HonW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 May 2014

Stayed here on a midweek 2 nights for 1 deal which included dinner on one night. Had the Oak Master Suite at the front of the hotel which was superb value - massive bedroom with four poster bed, sofa and open fireplace; a separate lounge with sofa, armchairs and another fireplace; and a good sized bathroom with large jacuzzi bath.

The hotel has a lovely relaxed atmosphere and the staff were all extremely helpful, courteous and efficient from the moment we arrived. Lovely spacious dining room looking out on to the garden. The breakfast selection was among the best I have experienced in all my travels and the evening meals were good too.

The hotel is located away from the main street, which means that it is very quiet but still only a short walk to the shops.

In summary, a perfect place to get away from it all when you get the chance!

Room Tip: Oak Master Suite is lovely - four poster bed, separate lounge and jacuzzi bath.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank psalmon64
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 May 2014

We stayed at the Bay Tree for one night as we had a wedding nearby. With a 2.5 year old we are always wary of room sizes for his travel cot and how child friendly places are, plus the mrs likes somewhere nice to stay. After looking at all the websites for hotels in the area we decided to go for the Bay Tree and we weren't disappointed. The staff were extremely helpful (we had to get into the room early to set up travel cot before the wedding) and very friendly (posted our forgotten night light back to us). The hotel itself is lovely, we had a garden room in one of the out buildings and it was very comfortable and just what we needed. The breakfast was lovely too!

I would definitely recommend this hotel to anyone wanting a warm, inviting place to stay whatever the purpose of your visit to Burford.

Room Tip: If you want a nice view get a garden room, nice and spacious too and away from the main building sli...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank monkeyneil
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 May 2014

We had our wedding reception in the Bay Tree Hotel in early February 2014.

This was the first venue that we looked at but from the moment we walked in we knew this was an amazing hotel and had such a lovely setting to hold our wedding reception. We were not wrong.

The day itself was perfect. The hotel looked amazing. The rooms were superb. The food was excellent. The service of ALL members of staff involved on that day was outstanding. I have to mention Maureen who did an amazing job of co-ordinating everything and took the stress out of many of the arrangements in the lead up to the wedding (thank you!!)

The whole day felt very relaxed. We had the whole place to ourselves which meant the kids could run about and play and parents wouldn't worry.

Many of our guests remarked on how lovely the place was, the service, the food etc. We couldn't have asked for anymore.

For us it was perfect and we are so happy with our wedding day, we would not have changed one thing. Would definitely recommend!

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tammasyn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 May 2014

My wife and I had a wonderful Christmas and looked after very well. We had a suite I think it was the Oak Room with a four poster bed which we had a set of steps each so we could get into bed.
In all public rooms they had log fires. The food was good. Nothing was not to much trouble.
This was the first time we had been away at Christmas on our own, we will do again. This was December 2012.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank John W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 May 2014 via mobile

Bay Tree is in the picturesque village of Burford. The buildings are really spectacular and the hotel is covered in flowering wisteria. The hotel is quaint with flag stone floors and a fire in the snug. Our room Kempster was large with comfortable bed, sitting area and bathroom
With molton brown toiletries. We loved our room which looked out to the garden. We went to the Lamb next door for a drink which was equally as lovely. The bar at the bay tree had limited drink options.
Location is just off the main road and ideal walking distance. I would recommend the hotel as a place to stay but not to eat. The down side was we had 2 day meeting and the lunch food was disappointing - we had chips which were ok, sandwiches limited selection and bread slightly dry and soup which was cauliflower and was tasteless no one ate it. We did raise this and asked for day 2 to have salad and selection - the service was slow and for example we did not have plates had to ask for these - sandwiches were again limited and dry, the salad was limp. Breakfast had a buffet which was fine with good selection, ordered poached egg and toast, the egg was cold and the toast was cold and more bread than toasted. Overall lovely venue and would use the hotel but choose to eat elsewhere as a selection of good pubs close by.

  • Stayed: May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank soliver1976
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Burford
0.0 mi away
The Lamb Inn
The Lamb Inn
#2 of 8 in Burford
737 reviews
2.4 mi away
The Maytime Inn
The Maytime Inn
#1 of 8 in Burford
394 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Bull at Burford
The Bull at Burford
#4 of 8 in Burford
556 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Burford House
Burford House
#7 of 8 in Burford
298 reviews
0.3 mi away
Cotswold Gateway Hotel
Cotswold Gateway Hotel
#5 of 8 in Burford
572 reviews
8.3 mi away
The Slaughters Country Inn
The Slaughters Country Inn
#2 of 2 in Lower Slaughter
1,269 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Bay Tree Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Bay Tree Hotel

Address: Sheep Street, Burford OX18 4LW, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cotswolds > Burford
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#2 Luxury Hotel in Burford
#3 Family Hotel in Burford
#3 Romantic Hotel in Burford
#5 Business Hotel in Burford
Price Range: £119 - £232 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Bay Tree Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 21
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled away on a quaint side street in Burford is the Bay Tree Hotel, part of the Cotswold Inns and Hotels collection. The hotel has 21 stylish bedrooms and endless character with flagstoned floors, roaring log fires and a secret walled garden. This dog-friendly property is perfectly located for exploring Burford and its surrounding Cotswold villages. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Hotels.com, LateRooms, Ebookers and Evoline ltd so you can book your The Bay Tree Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bay Tree Burford
Hotel Bay Tree
The Bay Tree Hotel Burford, Oxfordshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing