We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“'Best bread and best bed'”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Burford House

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Burford House
Ranked #7 of 8 Hotels in Burford
Certificate of Excellence
Oxford, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“'Best bread and best bed'”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 May 2014

I booked a double room for my parents for a Friday evening, plus breakfast. They were very impressed with the quality of the room, which I believe was described as a superior double/twin, and my mother said it was the best bed (apart from her own) that she's ever slept in.
They enjoyed a delicious evening meal in the lovely restaurant, which included the best bread they've ever eaten. I popped in to say hello and the owner very kindly offered me a cup of tea, which was very hospitable.
In the morning my parents had to leave fairly early and had a cooked breakfast that was produced swiftly but was still of a high quality.

They thoroughly enjoyed their stay, short though it was, and I would like to thank the owner for making them (and me) so welcome and comfortable.

Room Tip: I'm sure they're all lovely
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SCC120812
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

281 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    169
    70
    19
    16
    7
See reviews for
42
165
6
12
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (70)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
31 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 May 2014

We loved staying in the cosy Burford House and being looked after by such pleasant people. There are comments written about its smell, but this is an old building with not very high ceilings and odours can linger, but not in a nasty 'Mrs. McGurgle boarding house' way of old, where tea spoons were tied to the table legs! This is the consequence of excellently cooked breakfasts - that dissipates quite quickly and the three times a week commendable evening meals that also leave a whiff but soon goes. I live in an old cottage and can have the same problem even with an extractor fan in the kitchen. Allowances should be made. Do you want to stay in a delightful heritage building or.... Within a few minutes your senses acclimatise, so enjoy the place, be tolerant and remember this is the result of lovely food for all to enjoy.

The dining room has some excellent modern art work on the walls and the two lounges are ideal for relaxing.

Our bedroom overlooking the courtyard was large, clean and well appointed with a gigantic bed. Loved the Penhaligon toiletries in the big bathroom. We stay in many hotels both in the UK and abroad and really enjoyed this place, which is ideally suited for exploring the Cotswolds.

Room Tip: Rooms at the back are away from the main road. There is no hotel car park but there is free parking...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Polly H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bedford, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 April 2014

Overwhelmingly bad smell upon entering, persisted throughout and in our room, the kind that makes you think the place hasn't been cleaned thoroughly in years. This is basic! Decor very dated and in need of some serious tlc. No mattress protector, dirty surfaces, encrusted radiators, greasy jar of biscuits. It felt sad and neglected. Staff friendly enough. Great location but this really is the only great thing about it. We didn't stay for breakfast.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Imo25
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bedford, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 April 2014

I'm afraid we were unimpressed by our stay at Burford House. As soon as we walked in to the hallway there was an unpleasant musty smell, which persisted throughout the hotel. Our room was not clean; the radiator was encrusted with dirt and dust; surfaces in our room were dusty; the toilet looked as though it hadn't ever seen bleach; the beds did not have mattress protectors, so nothing between the bottom sheet and the mattress; the furnishings are dated and have probably not been changed for decades. The room was spacious; it was warm; there was plenty of hot water; staff were friendly and helpful. And Burford is heavenly. But do not stay here if you have high standards of cleanliness and comfort and aesthetics matter to you.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sanchiabarlow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
20 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 April 2014

We stayed for one night as part of a trip to celebrate my birthday. A warm welcome from the manager, who carried out case up to a beautiful room with beams and a four poster bed (so, so comfortable!) The bathroom was also lovely, with a huge bath (if a little quirky in layout, but given the historical age of the hotel this is to be expected and I only think it adds to the character!)

Breakfast was of high quality (local honey, excellent portion of smoked salmon and soft scrambled eggs - the other half had a full english which he also said was very good.) Our only regret was that we didn't visit on a night where the restaurant was open as the menu looked fabulous. However Burford has many other foodie delights to offer so this really wasn't a problem. Would love to visit again.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Baconlover84
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
93 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 93 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 April 2014

Stopped off at Burford thanks to ghastly weather - and decided to find a hotel for the night. Checked out The Bull first (because we'd parked outside it) but it was fully booked so we walked a little further down the road and found Burford House.

A very warm welcome from the General Manager, Ian who carried our cases up to our very large double bedroom at the back of the hotel. Very prettily decorated, massive bed, filtered still water and glasses, tea tray with home-made biscuits and Teapigs teas/Nescafe coffee. Big bathroom, very clean, large bath, shower, heated towel rail, bath gel/shower gel/small vanity pack/shower hat/shampoo. Hairdryer was a little dated (old style that slots into its wall-mounted holder) but it works.

A very good night's sleep and very comfortable bed. The room was quiet although we could hear people talking in the lounge below us - however, this stopped at 10pm so we slept well without any disturbance. Woke up the next morning at 0830 to the sound of a distant builder's drill and birds!

Breakfast was very good and waitress was very friendly, efficient and pleasant. Prettily laid table, excellent freshly-brewed coffee, help-yourself orange juice/cereals/prunes. Main dishes served at your table - full English breakfast including poached/scrambled or fried eggs, two slices of well-cooked bacon, sauted mushrooms, grilled large tomato, tasty sausages (Lincolnshire-style, long and thin rather than short and fat!)

We didn't really use any of the lounges although they looked comfortable enough, deep seats, lots of reading material plus an outside terrace area but it was too cold to sit outside. We took a short walk around the other hotels in the area, all of which looked very pleasant especially the Lamb and its sister hotel The Baytree. They looked very cosy but were a wee bit more expensive. I guess the only thing we missed at Burford House was a nice, warm, welcoming open fire which apparently they do have occasionally.

Room Tip: Choose a room at the back of the hotel and maybe not over a lounge.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank karen1050
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dorking, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 February 2014

We stayed for 1 night at this smart and cosy little hotel. We were greeted by a very friendly lady named Charlie. She summed up the experience nicely. Warm, friendly, cosy and helpful. Thank you Burford House for an excellent night away.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ifyoucandream
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Burford hotels
0.0 mi away
The Bull at Burford
The Bull at Burford
#4 of 8 in Burford
4.5 of 5 bubbles 496 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Lamb Inn
The Lamb Inn
#2 of 8 in Burford
4.5 of 5 bubbles 669 reviews
2.4 mi away
The Maytime Inn
The Maytime Inn
#1 of 8 in Burford
4.5 of 5 bubbles 348 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Cotswold Gateway Hotel
Cotswold Gateway Hotel
#5 of 8 in Burford
4.5 of 5 bubbles 476 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Bay Tree Hotel
The Bay Tree Hotel
#3 of 8 in Burford
4.5 of 5 bubbles 605 reviews
0.0 mi away
Golden Pheasant
Golden Pheasant
#8 of 8 in Burford
3.5 of 5 bubbles 308 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Burford House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Burford House

Property: Burford House
Address: 99 High Street, Burford OX18 4QA, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cotswolds > Burford
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
#4 Business Hotel in Burford
#4 Family Hotel in Burford
#4 Romantic Hotel in Burford
#5 Luxury Hotel in Burford
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:5 star — Burford House 5*
Number of rooms: 6
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Odigeo, Hotels.com, Traveltool, S.L.U., Book Direct Rooms and Agoda so you can book your Burford House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Burford House Hotel Burford
Burford Hotel
Burford House Oxfordshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing