We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“This will do us!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Burford House

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Burford House
Ranked #7 of 8 Hotels in Burford
Certificate of Excellence
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
25 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“This will do us!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 August 2014

We stayed one Sunday night at Burford House in August. Our only regret is that we could not stay longer. When we initially telephoned to reserve a room, the owner, Mr Hawkins, could not have been more helpful. He described each room, which was available, and gave us time to decide which we wanted. He also pointed out that the best Sunday deal, which was a very good offer, included a lunch but, unfortunately, we were unable to accept that due to other circumstances. We subsequently opted for 'Fulbrook', a first floor room overlooking a courtyard at the rear of the premises. This was clean, well furnished, and equipped with a bath and a king sized bed to die for. Beware that bed - we had one of the best night's sleep in many a long time and it was tempting not to get up next morning. Although the hotel did not officially serve meals on a Sunday evening, Mr Hawkins went out of his way to ensure our comfort and he quite willingly prepared sandwiches and a salad for us. The breakfast menu also offered a good choice of meals, which were well prepared. We have read other reviews, criticising the appearance of this hotel, the attitude of Mr Hawkins and his staff, and the standard of meals. We can only say our experience belies these complaints. There are two very comfortable lounges, a pleasant courtyard (which can be a suntrap in sunny weather) and we were made to feel so welcome. Some persons have described the cost of meals as a rip-off. We can only say we felt we received value for money. We shall return there in the future.

Room Tip: Rooms overlooking the rear courtyard are possibly quieter and do not have as much road noise
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank 49brianl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

277 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    167
    69
    18
    16
    7
See reviews for
42
161
6
12
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (68)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Cirencester
Level Contributor
14 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 July 2014

Living in the Cotswolds we are served by many very good restaurants, The Burford House Hotel has, to us, just trumped them all. this is food of exceptional quality, served by friendly, competent staff.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Archirover
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Swindon, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
41 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 July 2014

We booked here for our wedding anniversary meal and we could not have been more pleased - the food was out of this world. From being made so welcomed as soon as we walked into the Hotel till we left. We both had warmed Brie tart with walnut pickle on a bed of lettuce, followed by 3 different Lamb with broccoli, Mike had Steak with Mushrooms then we both had fresh Strawberries with Marshmallow and Strawberry ice. It was all delicious from start to finish washed down with Rose for me and a deep red for Mike (hubby) The restaurant was very clean and the tables had fresh clean white table cloths on them. The menu is not very big but still lots to choose from - and yes we will be going back there again.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Samson153
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cirencester
Level Contributor
85 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 109 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 July 2014 via mobile

We ate in the Centre Stage restaurant last night - the restaurant within the Burford House Hotel. The food was simply superb. The Maître D (bless him) was a little inexperienced and got flustered on a few occasions but he made us so welcome and his service was very good. The head chef is a lady called Zoe and she can certainly cook! We both had the scallops for our starter (after a very enjoyable complimentary Amuse bouche) and sublime pork belly for our mains. It was a proverbial pork fest! We opted for a sweet but we were too full to finish it! Following dinner we enjoyed coffee in the charming walled garden at the rear of the hotel. A really enjoyable evening.

The restaurant was not busy which was a shame. The proprietor (Ian) told us that Burford hotels are struggling to attract clientele at this time. With food like they serve at this hotel the customers should be spilling out of the windows!

Sincere thanks to all concerned at the Burford House hotel for making this such an enjoyable evening. Zoe...this is one day job that you should definitely not give up!

Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
3 Thank BarrynEileen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Merseyside
Level Contributor
16 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 July 2014

Sadly..we were only booked in for one night at this wonderfully old building full of charm and character!
On arrival we were given a warm welcome by Ian the General Manager. First things first...we enjoyed an excellent beer sitting in the sunshine in the little beer garden.
Our rooms were lovely...clean with big comfortable beds. The attention to detail is what makes Burford House such a perfectly delightful place to stay. The lounge and restaurant are inviting and tastefully furnished. Breakfast was beautifully presented and was quoted by a (well-travelled) friend of mine as being just about the best hotel breakfast he has ever been served..and that is high praise indeed.
The service was excellent, wonderful menu, crisp white tablecloths, gleaming silverware and top notch food all served with a smile!! The attention to detail was very impressive indeed.
My only regret is that we weren't staying long enough to have dinner there but we will definitely be back again to put that right!
We were attending the Summer Ball at RAF Brize Norton that evening and Ian was very helpful even going as far as arranging our return transport.
Very deserving of its AA 5 star rating!! Thank you to all staff at Burford House!

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sooby29
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gloucester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
39 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 July 2014

As we live fairly near we have visited Buford House a few times before over the last two years or so and have never been disappointed, it is nice to know some restaurants can still maintain consistently high standards. On this occasion we wanted somewhere special to celebrate our 44th Wedding anniversary. The Cotswolds are not short of good restaurants but the Buford House cuisine is rather special. Our host is of the old school utterly professional but not intrusive. The restaurant itself is traditional also, crisp white tablecloths, perfect cutlery and glassware, spacious and quiet surroundings. The menu is not extensive but reflects the chef's concentration on quality not quantity. Our meal started with an amuse bouche, how traditional is that? We then had three splendid courses, the meats were delicious and cooked to perfection, the wines were very good value for money and we finished the evening having a coffee and liqueur or two in the cosily comfortable lounge bar, a perfect end to a perfect and special evening, thank you Burford House.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Marc B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 June 2014

Me and my girlfriend stayed here for one night in a deluxe four poster bedroom. Our stay was very very pleasant, the room was spacious and was very tastefully decorated. The bed itself was very comfortable and we had everything we could have needed in the room. The staff were very friendly and offered us advice on where to go to eat, drink etc. The location of the hotel is fantastic, Burford is such a lovely little town with many others surrounding it. Just a minor put off point is that our room was located at the front of the hotel on the high street and did get fairly noisy with traffic around 7am but this was to be expected and didn't take away anything from our stay. Overall the hotel is fantastic and we shall definitely visit again.

Room Tip: Rooms at front hotel could be slightly noisy due to traffic on high street but is down to preference...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Matt D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Burford hotels
0.0 mi away
The Bull at Burford
The Bull at Burford
#4 of 8 in Burford
4.5 of 5 bubbles 477 reviews
2.4 mi away
The Maytime Inn
The Maytime Inn
#1 of 8 in Burford
4.5 of 5 bubbles 337 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Lamb Inn
The Lamb Inn
#2 of 8 in Burford
4.5 of 5 bubbles 648 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Cotswold Gateway Hotel
Cotswold Gateway Hotel
#5 of 8 in Burford
4.5 of 5 bubbles 462 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Bay Tree Hotel
The Bay Tree Hotel
#3 of 8 in Burford
4.5 of 5 bubbles 595 reviews
0.0 mi away
Golden Pheasant
Golden Pheasant
#8 of 8 in Burford
3.5 of 5 bubbles 301 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Burford House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Burford House

Property: Burford House
Address: 99 High Street, Burford OX18 4QA, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cotswolds > Burford
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
#4 Romantic Hotel in Burford
#4 Business Hotel in Burford
#4 Family Hotel in Burford
#5 Luxury Hotel in Burford
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:5 star — Burford House 5*
Number of rooms: 6
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Travel Republic (UK), Agoda, Book Direct Rooms and Hotels.com so you can book your Burford House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Burford House Hotel Burford
Burford Hotel
Burford House Oxfordshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing