We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic Lunch”
Review of The Lamb Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
The Lamb Inn
Ranked #2 of 8 Hotels in Burford
Certificate of Excellence
Slough, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
46 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“Fantastic Lunch”
Reviewed 12 June 2012

My wife and I were taken to lunch at the Lamb Inn in the bar all I can say is make the time for the Lamb Inn put it on the bucket list the bar, hotel and the Staff are perfict there is know other way to discribe the experience of the visit every ingredient is fresh and cooked to order.
Thank you all for a great time.
Thomas

Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank twdkelly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

710 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    457
    163
    56
    18
    16
See reviews for
93
465
6
15
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (143)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Hampshire
Level 6 Contributor
122 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 88 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 June 2012

In previous years we have always stayed here at the Lamb, however, this time I was a little late in booking and unfortunately they could not accommodate us on this occasion. However, we visited every evening for drinks one one evening and food and drinks on another. The atmosphere is soooo very lovely and the staff friendly. The NZ Sauvignon was excellent too!
This is our preferred choice in Burford in every way. The bar is comfortable as is the lounge area.
If I had one comment to make - I am not sure about the decor in the ladies! Not sure it is in keeping atall. After a drink or two walking in there, it certainly hits you in the face!

Anyway, a small comment in my opinion. We will return to stay without a doubt in the future.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LoriBar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
lincolnshire
Level 6 Contributor
101 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 101 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 June 2012

Had a pleasant lunch here in the sheltered and very pretty rear courtyard. Slightly off the main drag of Burford and all the nicer for it; less busy, gentler, unhurried service .

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank KJHlincs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hull
Level 4 Contributor
38 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 June 2012

I stayed at The Lamb Inn in March 2012 and loved it. Burford is a quaint place and the hotel/inn is lovely - very authentic and comfortable with a high standard of luxury. I dined at The Bay Tree (their sister hotel just up the street from The Lamb Inn) for the evening and the food was utterly out of this world! I did have breakfast at The Lamb Inn and was more than satisfied. I'm a veggie and the offering was more than adequate. Simply delicious scrambled egg too. The room I stayed in (I think it was named Stable on the first floor) had an en suite bathroom with full size bath and shower and was finished beautifully with a selection of luxury toiletries. I loved my stay and wouldn't hesitate to visit again - as I intend to.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lmm_122
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level 5 Contributor
25 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 103 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 June 2012

Based on other reviews, this was our second choice as our first choice was fully booked, however, the Lamb Inn did not disappoint. It is a very charming country inn with nice clean rooms that have a mix of country aesthetics and modern amenities. It is located in the lovely town of Burford, which is a very nice place to be based for day trips around the Cotswold. The staff at the Lamb Inn are very nice and helpful, and all our breakfasts and dinners at the Inn were delicious. The only faults I could find with the place were the occasional smokiness in the lobby and lounge areas whenever the fireplace was lit and the low shower water pressure in our room (The Barn).

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ukadvisor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reading
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 May 2012

We went to to The Lamb Inn for a weekend away. On arrival you are greeted by the perfume of a wisteria draped over the front of the hotel. We were welcomed in and our bags were taken up to our room which was pleasant, clean and pleasantly furnished. Bathroom was good with a good range of toileteries provided. We ate in the restaurant and found the food to be of good quality. All the staff were friendly and helpful. A great place for a weekend away.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sonnett
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Guildford, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
86 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 May 2012

We stayed her on a Sunday night as they have a special offer available which consisted of a three course Sunday lunch with a glass of wine, bed and breakfast. We had eaten there before and the food had been good so we expected a good lunch and it was very good. The wine was also good. The room we had was up a twisting narrow staircase which you would not want if you had mobility problems but they did have other rooms up a different staircase and a room on the ground floor. The room was a decent size and had two cushioned window seats as well as two armchairs and a small table. The supplies with the kettle were generous with a selection of teas. The bathroom was well fitted and had an over the bath shower and was suppiled with a non slip mat to go in the bath if required and the toiletries were very nice.
My only complaint was to do with service at breakfast. The lady came to take our order for a cooked breakfast almost as soon as we had sat down which would not have been a problem if she had then given us time to have some cereal but I was just half way through my cereal and my husband had not even started when she came back with the cooked meals. Talk about fast food! She did offer to take it away again and keep it warm but we prefered to have it fresh. My smoked salmon and scrambled egg was excellent, my husband had the full english but it came without blackpudding so he had to ask for it and although it was brought quickly it was a very thin piece and rather dry the rest of the breakfast was fine. On check out I was suprised to find that although the lunch was included in the special deal a 10% service charge had been added to the bill for the lunch. Not that I objected to it as I would have left a tip anyway based on the whole bill but nowhere had I seen a notice advising of this service charge. I expect it is in the small print somewhere. I was able to use the WIFI both in the bedroom and in the garden, which is very pretty. By the way, the Inn does not have parking but you can part in the carpark of the hotel next door as they are part of the same company.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kanga41
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Burford
8.3 mi away
The Slaughters Country Inn
The Slaughters Country Inn
#2 of 2 in Lower Slaughter
1,188 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Bull at Burford
The Bull at Burford
#4 of 8 in Burford
524 reviews
0.0 mi away
The Bay Tree Hotel
The Bay Tree Hotel
#3 of 8 in Burford
629 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.5 mi away
The Maytime Inn
The Maytime Inn
#1 of 8 in Burford
372 reviews
8.9 mi away
Lords of the Manor Hotel
Lords of the Manor Hotel
#1 of 1 in The Slaughters
1,073 reviews
9.2 mi away
The Old Stocks Inn
The Old Stocks Inn
#1 of 8 in Stow-on-the-Wold
328 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Lamb Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Lamb Inn

Property: The Lamb Inn
Address: Sheep Street, Burford OX18 4LR, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cotswolds > Burford
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 8 Hotels in Burford
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — The Lamb Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 17
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located on Sheep Street, in the heart of Burford; The Lamb Inn boasts 17 classic Cotswold bedrooms, with history around every corner. This dog-friendly hotel is also home to a traditional bar and comfy lounges, a beautifully manicured garden and a 3 Rosette awarded Brasserie. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Priceline, Ebookers, TripOnline SA and Evoline ltd so you can book your The Lamb Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Lamb Hotel Burford
The Lamb Inn Burford, Oxfordshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing