We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellence throughout”
Review of The Lamb Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
The Lamb Inn
Ranked #2 of 8 Hotels in Burford
Certificate of Excellence
London
Level Contributor
25 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Excellence throughout”
Reviewed 1 July 2012

Just back from a 2 night stay at the Lamb Inn. Our room (Windrush) was comfortable and spacious with a lovely window seat to chill in and read. Molton Brown toiletries in the bathroom contributed to the feeling of indulgence.The food in the restaurant where we ate both nights was very good indeed (especially the ten cheese cheeseboard). The staff were all very friendly and helpful. The lounge area is very comfortable and I wouldn't hesitate to recommend it.
Burford is a lovely town with a beautiful church and is well located for visiting the Cotswolds area.

Room Tip: Windrush is very comfortable and quiet despite being at the front of the building.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank KeziahLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

693 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    444
    160
    55
    18
    16
See reviews for
89
454
6
15
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (139)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Chester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 June 2012

We booked the Lamb Inn as a result of attending a friend's wedding at the Bay Tree Hotel, the Lamb's sister hotel. We had no expectations and were very pleased upon arrival. The hotel has plenty of character, the rooms are lovely and clean and you can tell the hotel pays attention to detail. Breakfast was excellent. As part of the wedding party, we ate in the Bay Tree and the food was exceptional, I would not be surprised if the Lamb Inn was in the same league. Very good value for money for the Cotswolds! We shall be back!

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MrsMihangel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Slough, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
46 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 June 2012

My wife and I were taken to lunch at the Lamb Inn in the bar all I can say is make the time for the Lamb Inn put it on the bucket list the bar, hotel and the Staff are perfict there is know other way to discribe the experience of the visit every ingredient is fresh and cooked to order.
Thank you all for a great time.
Thomas

Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank twdkelly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hampshire
Level Contributor
118 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 88 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 June 2012

In previous years we have always stayed here at the Lamb, however, this time I was a little late in booking and unfortunately they could not accommodate us on this occasion. However, we visited every evening for drinks one one evening and food and drinks on another. The atmosphere is soooo very lovely and the staff friendly. The NZ Sauvignon was excellent too!
This is our preferred choice in Burford in every way. The bar is comfortable as is the lounge area.
If I had one comment to make - I am not sure about the decor in the ladies! Not sure it is in keeping atall. After a drink or two walking in there, it certainly hits you in the face!

Anyway, a small comment in my opinion. We will return to stay without a doubt in the future.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LoriBar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
lincolnshire
Level Contributor
101 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 100 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 June 2012

Had a pleasant lunch here in the sheltered and very pretty rear courtyard. Slightly off the main drag of Burford and all the nicer for it; less busy, gentler, unhurried service .

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank KJHlincs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hull
Level Contributor
38 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 June 2012

I stayed at The Lamb Inn in March 2012 and loved it. Burford is a quaint place and the hotel/inn is lovely - very authentic and comfortable with a high standard of luxury. I dined at The Bay Tree (their sister hotel just up the street from The Lamb Inn) for the evening and the food was utterly out of this world! I did have breakfast at The Lamb Inn and was more than satisfied. I'm a veggie and the offering was more than adequate. Simply delicious scrambled egg too. The room I stayed in (I think it was named Stable on the first floor) had an en suite bathroom with full size bath and shower and was finished beautifully with a selection of luxury toiletries. I loved my stay and wouldn't hesitate to visit again - as I intend to.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lmm_122
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
25 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 103 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 June 2012

Based on other reviews, this was our second choice as our first choice was fully booked, however, the Lamb Inn did not disappoint. It is a very charming country inn with nice clean rooms that have a mix of country aesthetics and modern amenities. It is located in the lovely town of Burford, which is a very nice place to be based for day trips around the Cotswold. The staff at the Lamb Inn are very nice and helpful, and all our breakfasts and dinners at the Inn were delicious. The only faults I could find with the place were the occasional smokiness in the lobby and lounge areas whenever the fireplace was lit and the low shower water pressure in our room (The Barn).

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ukadvisor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Burford
0.0 mi away
The Bay Tree Hotel
The Bay Tree Hotel
#3 of 8 in Burford
621 reviews
8.3 mi away
The Slaughters Country Inn
The Slaughters Country Inn
#1 of 2 in Lower Slaughter
1,159 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Bull at Burford
The Bull at Burford
#4 of 8 in Burford
516 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.5 mi away
The Maytime Inn
The Maytime Inn
#1 of 8 in Burford
364 reviews
8.9 mi away
Lords of the Manor Hotel
Lords of the Manor Hotel
#1 of 1 in The Slaughters
1,058 reviews
0.3 mi away
Cotswold Gateway Hotel
Cotswold Gateway Hotel
#5 of 8 in Burford
506 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Lamb Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Lamb Inn

Property: The Lamb Inn
Address: Sheep Street, Burford OX18 4LR, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cotswolds > Burford
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 8 Hotels in Burford
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — The Lamb Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 17
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located on Sheep Street, in the heart of Burford; The Lamb Inn boasts 17 classic Cotswold bedrooms, with history around every corner. This dog-friendly hotel is also home to a traditional bar and comfy lounges, a beautifully manicured garden and a 3 Rosette awarded Brasserie. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Expedia, Ebookers, Hotels.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA and Evoline ltd so you can book your The Lamb Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Lamb Hotel Burford
The Lamb Inn Burford, Oxfordshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing