We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“One Fine Stay”
Review of The Lamb Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
The Lamb Inn
Ranked #2 of 8 Hotels in Burford
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 18 September 2013

We stayed in The Lamb in beautiful Burford, such a pretty village. We stayed in The Barn room, which has wonderful old oak half tester bed, and was the most comfortable bed I have slept in for years. The room is quaint and smallish nicely decorated with quality furnishings. Breakfast superb hot and appealing to the eye. We had been travelling for four weeks, and had lots of luggage, which just fitted into room. Divine garden and in summer would be spectacular.. Would recommend and were sad to leave. Just one small detail dressing table under eave and no light for us ladies to put our make up on. There is no parking, but found easy in street. Highly recommend

Room Tip: If you have a lot of luggage, bigger room, and a room overlooking garden would be nice
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank phoebe199
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bill R, General Manager at The Lamb Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 21 October 2013

Thank you for your review. I am very please that you had such a wonderful visit and I hope you will return soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (731)
There are newer reviews for The Lamb Inn
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

495 - 501 of 731 reviews

Reviewed 13 September 2013

Review based on a superior room.
Very friendly and professional staff with excellent service at breakfast. Breakfast was very,very good and obviously cooked by a chef who knows his craft. We had a bar meal one night which was excellent.
Hotel itself spotless and cosy and very well maintained. Room very nicely furnished and equipped with a very comfortable bed.
Very close to the village but lovely and quiet.



Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
Thank fatangfatang
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bill R, General Manager at The Lamb Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 19 September 2013

With a title as honouring as above I am honoured to thank you for your kind words and visit.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 September 2013

The Lamb In in Burford was a beautiful surprise. We had booked with friends a romantic package which included dinner, champagne and chocolates...it was great value and highly recommended.
Burford is beautiful and the Lamb is full of both character and quality.
The staff were very good - in particular in the dining room. The dinner was excellent and the wine selection very good and reasonably priced.

Over all a great experience and I look forward to doing it again

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Andrew S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bill R, General Manager at The Lamb Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 19 September 2013

I enjoyed reading your review. I agree that our restaurant menu, the tasting menu and our match wine option offers very good value considering the style of food and service. It is wonderful to have this publically shared. Thank you.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 September 2013

It was a delight to stay in the lamb inn, the room (violet) was beautiful with period wooden beams and a 4 pain stained glass window. The room had a lovely ensuite the only flaw is that the was no shower over the bath, so your choices were to have a bath or hold the unit,

The bed was beautifully made, fit for a Tudor princess, for breakfast there was a range of choices and the cooked English was delicious.

The staff are very friendly, and I very much look forward to returning one day.

Apart from a rather loud guest snoring above me, it was perfect

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Katie_May303
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bill R, General Manager at The Lamb Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 19 September 2013

I am very happy to hear of your stay. Thank you and I hope you will visit again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 September 2013

Room was small, but decorated well. Loved having cocktails in the garden in the back. Perennials are in full bloom and the weather is fantastic. This is a small town with very little traffic. Do not tell Rick Steves about this place. It will become overcrowded. I am Loving the Cotswolds, it is still the same enchanting place I remember from 30 years ago!

Stayed: September 2013, travelled with friends
Thank Igiveuponthisdumbname
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bill R, General Manager at The Lamb Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 19 September 2013

Thank you for your kind review and we look forward to greeting you again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 August 2013

A really great pub with a relaxed atmosphere, helpful staff and splendid food. I hugely enjoyed an evening in this first rate hostelry with a group of friends and our children.They fitted us in at the last minute in one of the hotel drawing rooms and the waitress gave us her pithy and refreshingly honest opinions on the food.We had were cold after swimming in the Windrush and the warmth of the surroundings and the hospitality was hugely appreciated.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Service
2  Thank Alexander F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bill R, General Manager at The Lamb Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 19 September 2013

Please add in to your mental portfolio that now the weather has dipped we have our four open fires to add to the warmth of the Lamb. It is never a chore to read reviews whereby we have executed our goals…simple and effective catering in our bar/lounge. Thank you and I hope we will see you again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 August 2013

My partner and I stayed at this great hotel for two nights and wow we were not disappointed from the minute we walked in the door to the reluctant walk out of the door. The staff were excellent and could not do enough for us, the room was fantastic. We decided to eat in the bar on the first night and was certainly not disappointed, the following night we had the two for one Steak and Ale pie and what a culinary treat. Anyone thinking of coming to Burford, give them a try you will not be disappointed. I will certainly come back here.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Dragz_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bill R, General Manager at The Lamb Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 19 September 2013

I am very happy to read that you have had such a great visit and that our steak pie is finding fame, two reviews in a row! Thank you.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Burford
8.3 mi away
The Slaughters Country Inn
The Slaughters Country Inn
#1 of 2 in Lower Slaughter
1,248 reviews
2.5 mi away
The Maytime Inn
The Maytime Inn
#1 of 8 in Burford
386 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Bull at Burford
The Bull at Burford
#4 of 8 in Burford
548 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
The Bay Tree Hotel
The Bay Tree Hotel
#3 of 8 in Burford
645 reviews
8.3 mi away
The Slaughters Manor House
The Slaughters Manor House
#2 of 2 in Lower Slaughter
563 reviews
12.9 mi away
White Hart Royal Hotel
White Hart Royal Hotel
#1 of 3 in Moreton-in-Marsh
1,940 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Lamb Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Lamb Inn

Address: Sheep Street, Burford OX18 4LR, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cotswolds > Burford
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 8 Hotels in Burford
Price Range: £141 - £281 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The Lamb Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 17
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located on Sheep Street, in the heart of Burford; The Lamb Inn boasts 17 classic Cotswold bedrooms, with history around every corner. This dog-friendly hotel is also home to a traditional bar and comfy lounges, a beautifully manicured garden and a 3 Rosette awarded Brasserie. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Ebookers and Evoline ltd so you can book your The Lamb Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Lamb Hotel Burford
The Lamb Inn Burford, Oxfordshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing