We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (834)
Filter reviews
834 results
Traveller rating
518
191
72
25
28
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
518
191
72
25
28
Show reviews that mention
All reviews lamb bar menu sister hotel bar area log fire molton brown toiletries scallops high street sunday lunch the pub old world charm old building lovely garden fish and chips bay tree the main street lovely room
Filter
Updating list...
597 - 602 of 834 reviews
Reviewed 18 September 2013

We stayed in The Lamb in beautiful Burford, such a pretty village. We stayed in The Barn room, which has wonderful old oak half tester bed, and was the most comfortable bed I have slept in for years. The room is quaint and smallish nicely decorated with quality furnishings. Breakfast superb hot and appealing to the eye. We had been travelling for four weeks, and had lots of luggage, which just fitted into room. Divine garden and in summer would be spectacular.. Would recommend and were sad to leave. Just one small detail dressing table under eave and no light for us ladies to put our make up on. There is no parking, but found easy in street. Highly recommend

Room tip: If you have a lot of luggage, bigger room, and a room overlooking garden would be nice
Date of stay: September 2013
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank phoebe199
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bill R, General Manager at The Lamb Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 21 October 2013

Thank you for your review. I am very please that you had such a wonderful visit and I hope you will return soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 September 2013

Review based on a superior room.
Very friendly and professional staff with excellent service at breakfast. Breakfast was very,very good and obviously cooked by a chef who knows his craft. We had a bar meal one night which was excellent.
Hotel itself spotless and cosy and very well maintained. Room very nicely furnished and equipped with a very comfortable bed.
Very close to the village but lovely and quiet.

Date of stay: September 2013
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank fatangfatang
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bill R, General Manager at The Lamb Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 19 September 2013

With a title as honouring as above I am honoured to thank you for your kind words and visit.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 September 2013

The Lamb In in Burford was a beautiful surprise. We had booked with friends a romantic package which included dinner, champagne and chocolates...it was great value and highly recommended.
Burford is beautiful and the Lamb is full of both character and quality.
The staff were very good - in particular in the dining room. The dinner was excellent and the wine selection very good and reasonably priced.

Over all a great experience and I look forward to doing it again

Date of stay: September 2013
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lemonjen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bill R, General Manager at The Lamb Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 19 September 2013

I enjoyed reading your review. I agree that our restaurant menu, the tasting menu and our match wine option offers very good value considering the style of food and service. It is wonderful to have this publically shared. Thank you.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 September 2013

It was a delight to stay in the lamb inn, the room (violet) was beautiful with period wooden beams and a 4 pain stained glass window. The room had a lovely ensuite the only flaw is that the was no shower over the bath, so your choices were to have a bath or hold the unit,

The bed was beautifully made, fit for a Tudor princess, for breakfast there was a range of choices and the cooked English was delicious.

The staff are very friendly, and I very much look forward to returning one day.

Apart from a rather loud guest snoring above me, it was perfect

Date of stay: September 2013
  • Trip type: Travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Katie_May303
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bill R, General Manager at The Lamb Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 19 September 2013

I am very happy to hear of your stay. Thank you and I hope you will visit again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 September 2013

Room was small, but decorated well. Loved having cocktails in the garden in the back. Perennials are in full bloom and the weather is fantastic. This is a small town with very little traffic. Do not tell Rick Steves about this place. It will become overcrowded. I am Loving the Cotswolds, it is still the same enchanting place I remember from 30 years ago!

Date of stay: September 2013
Trip type: Travelled with friends
Thank Igiveuponthisdumbname
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bill R, General Manager at The Lamb Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 19 September 2013

Thank you for your kind review and we look forward to greeting you again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews