We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The Lamb Inn
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Burford House(Burford)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Lamb Inn(Shipton under Wychwood)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Old Swan & Minster Mill(Minster Lovell)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (784)
Filter reviews
784 results
Traveller rating
497
175
66
22
24
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
497
175
66
22
24
Show reviews that mention
All reviewslambbar menucourse tasting menusister hotelbar arealog firemolton brown toiletriesscallopshigh streeteggs benedictlow ceilingssunday lunchold world charmlovely gardenthe pubold buildingthe main street
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
543 - 548 of 784 reviews
Reviewed 14 October 2013

We had one night at the Lamb Inn and wish it had been a week. A lovely, traditional Cotswold inn. The room was beautiful and spotlessly clean. The staff were helpful and friendly. The bar was comfy and cosy with lovely log fires crackling away. Heartily recommended.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Steven C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bill R, General Manager at The Lamb Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 21 October 2013

Thank you for your comments. Being able to light our fires is the silver lining of the cloud at this time of year. It adds another dimension to the old and beautiful building we are so proud of.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 October 2013

Our first impressions? A beautiful Cotswold stone house with lovely, very tasteful and cosy décor and roaring fires. We arrived at The Lamb to a very warm and courteous welcome. We stayed in the 'Malt' room which was very comfortable with antique furniture and a four poster bed! We had our 2 young children with us (aged 9 and 11yrs) and so decided to eat in the bar rather than the restaurant for a more casual evening (even though the restaurant menu looked very tempting). The bar menu was excellent with several tempting specials. The staff could not be faulted during our whole stay, very efficient, friendly and helpful. One little disappointment the camp beds our children slept on were extremely uncomfortable and when raised with reception the next morning the response was very positive so hopefully when we next stay (which we will) they will have replaced them?! Infact based on our experience at The Lamb and a dinner at the Manor House Hotel in Moreton-in-the-Marsh my husband and I would like to try out all the hotels in this group!!!!

Room Tip: The garden is lovely and so a room overlooking it would be lovely!
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Gilly H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bill R, General Manager at The Lamb Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 21 October 2013

Thank you for your kind review. I remember your family well and hope you will visit again soon. I also hope your daughter won!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 September 2013

WE were traveling back from south wales after a short break in a rubish hotel and decided to try to find a hotel in the Cotswolds, so after looking on the booking.com web site this hotel had one of the highest scores, after been there we can see why,
A great hotel rooms superbly clean, staff friendly and welcoming, the food very good ( albeit a little pricy).they even took dogs in selected rooms ..
We had never been to Burford belfor so both the Hotel and the town is brilliant for a few days stopover.. Lots to do and see ...we will be back

Room Tip: If you take your dog Try Violet on the ground floor easy access to outside,
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank BeagleToby
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bill R, General Manager at The Lamb Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 21 October 2013

I am very happy that you stumbled across the Lamb after a poor hotel experience. You and your dog are most welcome again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 September 2013

We stayed in The Lamb in beautiful Burford, such a pretty village. We stayed in The Barn room, which has wonderful old oak half tester bed, and was the most comfortable bed I have slept in for years. The room is quaint and smallish nicely decorated with quality furnishings. Breakfast superb hot and appealing to the eye. We had been travelling for four weeks, and had lots of luggage, which just fitted into room. Divine garden and in summer would be spectacular.. Would recommend and were sad to leave. Just one small detail dressing table under eave and no light for us ladies to put our make up on. There is no parking, but found easy in street. Highly recommend

Room Tip: If you have a lot of luggage, bigger room, and a room overlooking garden would be nice
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank phoebe199
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bill R, General Manager at The Lamb Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 21 October 2013

Thank you for your review. I am very please that you had such a wonderful visit and I hope you will return soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 September 2013

Review based on a superior room.
Very friendly and professional staff with excellent service at breakfast. Breakfast was very,very good and obviously cooked by a chef who knows his craft. We had a bar meal one night which was excellent.
Hotel itself spotless and cosy and very well maintained. Room very nicely furnished and equipped with a very comfortable bed.
Very close to the village but lovely and quiet.



Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
Thank fatangfatang
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bill R, General Manager at The Lamb Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 19 September 2013

With a title as honouring as above I am honoured to thank you for your kind words and visit.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews