We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent Option for the Cotswolds”
Review of The Lamb Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
The Lamb Inn
Ranked #2 of 8 Hotels in Burford
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 14 November 2013

Stayed here over a Sunday and Monday to do some Cotswolds exploring, and found the Lamb Inn to be a perfect option.

The room (Priory) although one of the smaller rooms, was adequate enough for our needs, given I wasn't planning on spending much time there. We also ate in the restaurant both nights after exploring Burford for other options and not seeing anything that bettered it, and the food quality was excellent on both occassions. Breakfast was also great, with plenty of choice.
We also had great service from the reception staff who were able to track down the artist for one of the paintings in their bar which had taken our eye, which was a great touch.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MarkShepherd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bill R, General Manager at The Lamb Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 25 November 2013

Thank you for such a glowing review and for your appreciation of the Lamb itself and what we provide. I wish you luck in your pursuit of the aforementioned artwork.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (755)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

502 - 508 of 756 reviews

Reviewed 13 November 2013

We attended last evening with our Italian parent company Finance Director. We decided not to have the full restaurant menu but to have the bar menu served to us in the end sitting room next to the log fire. So good so far.
Our order took ages to arrive - two soups arrived but the third starter didn't. No soup spoons were brought and by the time we did manage to get some and the next starter - the soup then was cold. It had to be sent back. Main courses again took forever to arrive - a well done steak was incinerated with chips that were overcooked and onion rings that were so overcooked there was no onion left. Quote our Italian guest - such service and food at this price would not be tolerated anywhere in Italy!!
Not a great evening - atmosphere let down by service and quality of food. A warning to those ordering gravidlax from the bar menu - it is a complete rip off - four tiny tasteless pieces at £9.95 - shame on you Cotswold Inns - you would do well to look at the prices and quality at The Feathered Nest in Westcote just down the road - a different league to what we endured last night.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Service
2  Thank Michael B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bill R, General Manager at The Lamb Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 25 November 2013

Please accept my apologies for what seems to have been an evening with little enjoyment. Please rest assured that events as described are not our normal. It is also fair to note that all food was eaten by you and your guests with courtesy quality checks receiving a positive reply.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 November 2013 via mobile

We found the Lamb Inn to be a classic English country Inn, where the renovations have not been allowed to ruin the charm of a building that has been around for centuries. It would be easy to strip out the beautiful flagstone floors, uneven plaster and the old joinery and to replace with modern materials. That would desecrate a lovely building, which we enjoyed.

If as a result of its age some wood lice appeared, that is surely not an issue. They are harmless, prehistoric creatures.

We also found the service superb and the dinner and breakfast in the dining room well prepared and attentively served by knowledgable staff.

The place was well maintained. There were large numbers of staff beavering away from the early hours keeping this lovely old place in an appropriate state.

We loved it. Our thanks to the Lamb Inn team.

  • Stayed: November 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Kishandes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bill R, General Manager at The Lamb Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 25 November 2013

I am very pleased that you have enjoyed your stay so much that you have taken the time to write such a lovely review. We love the Lamb and keeping it as it should be is something Cotswold Inns and Hotels are very proud of.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 November 2013

Lunch at the Lamb Inn is a must when in the Cotswolds. I went on a Tuesday 21/10/2013 a little out of season but the greeting on arrivel as well recived. the log fire was lit and the service was out standing from the staff. the food was first class and well cooked and presented well along with local beers can't wait to go back
Thank you Team Lamb Inn

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank twdkelly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bill R, General Manager at The Lamb Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 25 November 2013

Thank you for your return visit and subsequent follow up review. We strive to keep improving every aspect of our service and it is very worthwhile to have that recognised.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 November 2013

We stayed in The Allium room, which has the most wonderful bathroom! The bedroom was gorgeous too. This was a return trip for us, we had amazing memories of a visit 2 years ago and The Lamb did not disappoint.

Nothing was too much trouble for the staff, who were friendly and extremely helpful. They told us where to find the best bonfire for Guy Fawkes celebrations, booked taxis and accommodated my food allergies.

I wouldn't stay anywhere else in The Cotswolds and highly recommend it. We'll be back again next year.

Room Tip: Allium is very quiet with lovely views and lots of light.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Leoniebabs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bill R, General Manager at The Lamb Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 25 November 2013

Please note that there is no need to leave…an annual rate can be agreed! Thank you and we look forward to welcoming you again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 November 2013

Having just read the previous two reviews I can't believe we stayed in the same place! From the moment we arrived we were captivated. After a warm welcome we settled in our room, Signet (only negative here was the small shower) and were delighted with the flapjacks and Molton Brown toiletries.
We were booked in to the restaurant for dinner and both thoroughly enjoyed our meals, the steak cooked in hay was delicious. We finished our evening in the warm and friendly bar, only problem here loud obnoxious guests from across the pond but they can be found anywhere.
We were pleased to discover this is a dog friendly hotel and enjoyed meeting new canine as well as human guests.
Breakfast was enjoyable and all the staff were attentive and friendly. After a day in the Cotswolds we returned to a warm welcome and settled ourselves in the lounge where we enjoyed a lovely bar meal, the Cotswold pie was more than value for money and also tasted delicious. We met some fellow guests who were on their third visit here.
We will definitely return here and have recommended it to local friends. From the minute we arrived until the minute we left we were treated extremely welll. Those who have given negative reviews must be extremely hard to please. When we return we hope we will be there in a warmer season to fully enjoy the beautiful gardens.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Dozza
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bill R, General Manager at The Lamb Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 25 November 2013

Thank you for your kind and supportive review of our hotel. I also hope you have the opportunity to visit us when our garden is in full swing but regardless of season rest assured you will be welcomed with the same warmth.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 October 2013

We have just returned from 2 nights at the Lamb Inn. It was our 45th wedding anniversary celebration. Our room was the Auricula classed as superior. We had about 6 woodlice crawling over the carpet, no long mirror in the bedroom or bathroom & no shaving mirror. Two bulbs needed replacing and I would of thought by the second night they would have been replaced!!!Considering it was classed as a superior room I feel that this should be mentioned.
Our dinner in the restaurant was not up to the standard. The steak wasn't good after complaining twice! The restaurant manager dealt with us very fairly but it was disappointing as my choice was okay so I was finished long before my husband!!!
Staff were excellent very friendly, courteous and helpful. Bar and lounge very warm and cosy.
We are not ones to complain but felt for what we paid it wasn't up to standard
This is the 4th hotel we have stayed with in this chain and I must say not the best
Stayed 26th-28th October

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Peter C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bill R, General Manager at The Lamb Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 4 November 2013

I am terribly sorry that you have found your stay with us so disappointing. Please note the following. I have never had woodlice reported to me or witnessed them in any of our bedrooms. I have checked in Auricula every morning since your review and have found none. However, to ensure that the future will not bring woodlice to this room, there has been a simple treatment recommended and applied. I am not pleased to here that your light bulbs were not noticed and changed however a quick call to reception or management would have had this remedied immediately or at a time of your convenience. Although there was a problem with your beef, I am glad that you agree it was dealt with well but you have neglected to mention the reparations made.

I am very pleased that the staff service you received was excellent and public areas were to your liking.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Burford
8.3 mi away
The Slaughters Country Inn
The Slaughters Country Inn
#1 of 2 in Lower Slaughter
1,332 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Bull at Burford
The Bull at Burford
#4 of 8 in Burford
572 reviews
2.5 mi away
The Maytime Inn
The Maytime Inn
#1 of 8 in Burford
407 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0 mi away
The Bay Tree Hotel
The Bay Tree Hotel
#3 of 8 in Burford
683 reviews
17.3 mi away
Charingworth Manor
Charingworth Manor
#1 of 3 in Chipping Campden
1,072 reviews
18.1 mi away
Buckland Manor
Buckland Manor
#1 of 6 in Broadway
481 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Lamb Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Lamb Inn

Address: Sheep Street, Burford OX18 4LR, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cotswolds > Burford
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 8 Hotels in Burford
Price Range: £104 - £280 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The Lamb Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 17
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located on Sheep Street, in the heart of Burford; The Lamb Inn boasts 17 classic Cotswold bedrooms, with history around every corner. This dog-friendly hotel is also home to a traditional bar and comfy lounges, a beautifully manicured garden and a 3 Rosette awarded Brasserie. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia and Ebookers so you can book your The Lamb Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Lamb Hotel Burford
The Lamb Inn Burford, Oxfordshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing