We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“FABULOUS..........”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of The Lamb Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
The Lamb Inn
Ranked #2 of 8 Hotels in Burford
Certificate of Excellence
buckinghamshire
Level Contributor
11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“FABULOUS..........”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 August 2014

Great little place, we had an amazing room with a huge bathroom which was very quiet and not facing the road. Beautiful cream tea in the gorgeous gardens followed by a fantastic dinner, wonderful steak! We love Burford and feel this place is a superbly quaint old fashioned property. If you are the type that wants to be fussed over and enjoy bling or a contemporary style, it may not be for you, but we loved the very good service and friendly staff. Would thoroughly recommend a stay here with dinner and it is a great place from which to explore the beautiful Cotswolds.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bunnylapeche
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bill R, General Manager at The Lamb Inn, responded to this review, 21 August 2014
Thank you. I will keep the title of this review in my head and keep repeating! We will continue to make sure that “bling” is kept away from the Lamb and keep our concentration on the genuinely natural product that is the Lamb Inn.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

668 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    424
    158
    54
    17
    15
See reviews for
80
444
5
15
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (136)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
oxford
Level Contributor
134 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 August 2014

We found this up a quiet side-street. Staff were extremely polite and service was excellent. The atmosphere inside is friendly and old-fashioned with stone floors and lots of charm. The food was very good: we had mixed platters and everything was fresh and full of flavour. I would highly recommend this pub.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank thestars
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bill R, General Manager at The Lamb Inn, responded to this review, 21 August 2014
Or deli-boards have been a fixture on our menu for a long time and this is from feedback like you have provided. Thank you and I hope you will visit again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hampshire
Level Contributor
33 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 August 2014

We had a nice nights stay in a suite at the Lamb inn and overall the hotel is very nice. I didn't think the standard of the bathroom overall though was at all upto what you would expect for the money. The bathroom has been fitted in to an old building but even so the shower pressure was poor and the general condition of the tiles and towels wasn't great.
Nice meal in the bar thoigh and Burford itself is very quant and the hoel does have a lovely garden and tables outside.
The other negative experience was that we bought an ornamental elephant for £55.00 from the charity "elephants parade" collection in a shop in the high street called the Oxford Picture Company and when I got home I decided to order another one and discovered that they where in fact only £29.95 if you bought them direct from the chairty website so we were properly ripped off as "tourists". Awful when you think that these items are being sold for a good cause and so that is what you think you are paying a premium for. If you want to buy one buy direct from the charities website.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank tripersareus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bill R, General Manager at The Lamb Inn, responded to this review, 21 August 2014
Thank you for your kind review. I am not pleased to hear that your bathroom had a negative impact on your visit and I have taken your comments on board. I hope that in the future we can organise “Allium” for you as this is our senior room and the bathroom does not disappoint. Please note that the room you stayed in is not a suite and is graded as a four-poster bedroom where the bed itself is the main feature.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gloucestershire
Level Contributor
16 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 August 2014

We stayed for 2 nights, 25 & 26 July. What a fabulous hotel! The room was very comfortable and clean and a great power shower in the bathroom. The hotel has loads of character and is beautifully presented. The garden is delightful and very peaceful. However, the best thing about the hotel is the staff, they are all, without exception, fantastic! Nothing was too much trouble. The welcome was sincere and everyone was kind, courteous and helpful. It really felt as if their main purpose was to make sure our stay was as perfect as possible and they achieved it. We will have no hesitation in recommending The Lamb and will definitely return before too long. Thank you all at The Lamb for a perfect weekend.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Wanderer091
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bill R, General Manager at The Lamb Inn, responded to this review, 21 August 2014
Your review is very warming to read and fills me with pride. We frequently have our staff recognised for what is our 100% genuine desire for you to have as pleasant a stay as is possible. Your review is more than just recognition and has been very well received. I look forward to welcoming you back to the Lamb Inn.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
61 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 July 2014

Very interesting place to stay. Staff extremely helpful, food excellent.
It has been a long time since I had stayed in such an old hotel, but it was great fun. Even the bedroom floor sloped, which was interesting if you had to get up in the night!!
Room was very clean, as was the bathoom, which again had everything you needed.
Gardens were beautiful, and we had our evening dinner outside as it was so nice.
Parking was a bit of a problem, but we parked in the sister hotel carpark down the road after unloading.

Room Tip: Around the back, away from the road.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Business_ClassLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bill R, General Manager at The Lamb Inn, responded to this review, 1 August 2014
Old indeed. In 2014 the oldest part of the Lamb Inn is 612 years old! Thank you for your review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
yorkshire
Level Contributor
70 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 July 2014

The Lamb Inn in Sheep Street! What a cliché that would be were it not the true address of this characterful old inn in what is supposed to be the most perfect ancient town in England, maybe Britain. It really does have stone flagged floors, low ceiling and beams to bump your head on. We were there in a heat wave but in winter open fires light up all the public rooms. The outside garden is large and well organised with proper tables and chairs for comfortable garden eating. Full service is provided, no having to place ones order at the bar as the very helpful staff are as attentive to tables at he bottom of the garden as to those inside.
Receptionist friendly and helpful on arrival. Manager bothered to make our acquaintance, waitress staff friendly and efficient as only Eastern Europeans know how.
Rooms as to be expected in an old inn are small (US citizens note well!) but fully equipped even down to as proper espresso coffee machine. Toiletries were of the best. Milk is not the usual UHT carton but brought fresh on request from the kitchen.
Evening meal is either in the formal dining room (expensive) or in the bar/garden. We ate twice in the garden with the evening sun highlighting the well tended floor beds.
Breakfast was of the top rank, better than many 4* hotels with fresh squeezed juices, proper fruit compote and if cooked breakfast is required (included in the B&B price) then it is cooked to order not retrieved from the hot tray.
Burford itself could be an architectural gem but see separate review of how it has been ruined.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank hotelchris
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bill R, General Manager at The Lamb Inn, responded to this review, 18 August 2014
Thank you for your glowing review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ickleton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
195 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 July 2014

Stayed for one night, but wish it had been more. The room was on the small side, but really nice and beautifully equipped. The food in the bar was sublime and the service second to none. Can't recommend highly enough. Best bit was we took the dog (allowed in certain rooms) and the room we had, (Rosie), had a private garden for him to run about in

  • Stayed July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JonG371
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bill R, General Manager at The Lamb Inn, responded to this review, 1 August 2014
We try our best to keep the Lamb as traditional and uniquely English as it always has been and it is very nice to have this noted. Thank you and I hope you will join us again with your dog.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Burford
0.0 mi away
The Bay Tree Hotel
The Bay Tree Hotel
#4 of 8 in Burford
4.5 of 5 bubbles 605 reviews
2.5 mi away
The Maytime Inn
The Maytime Inn
#1 of 8 in Burford
4.5 of 5 bubbles 347 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Bull at Burford
The Bull at Burford
#3 of 8 in Burford
4.5 of 5 bubbles 496 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.3 mi away
The Slaughters Country Inn
The Slaughters Country Inn
#1 of 2 in Lower Slaughter
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,100 reviews
0.3 mi away
Cotswold Gateway Hotel
Cotswold Gateway Hotel
#5 of 8 in Burford
4.5 of 5 bubbles 474 reviews
8.4 mi away
Number Four at Stow and Cutler's Restaurant
Number Four at Stow and Cutler's...
#2 of 8 in Stow-on-the-Wold
4.5 of 5 bubbles 941 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Lamb Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Lamb Inn

Property: The Lamb Inn
Address: Sheep Street, Burford OX18 4LR, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cotswolds > Burford
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 8 Hotels in Burford
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — The Lamb Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 17
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located on Sheep Street, in the heart of Burford; The Lamb Inn boasts 17 classic Cotswold bedrooms, with history around every corner. This dog-friendly hotel is also home to a traditional bar and comfy lounges, a beautifully manicured garden and a 3 Rosette awarded Brasserie. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, Traveltool, S.L.U. and Evoline ltd so you can book your The Lamb Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Lamb Hotel Burford
The Lamb Inn Burford, Oxfordshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing