We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely hotel - can't wait to go back!”
Review of The Lamb Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
The Lamb Inn
Ranked #3 of 8 Hotels in Burford
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 29 August 2014

We have stayed at a Cotswolds Inns Hotel before in Bibury and always wanted to stay in Burford when we next travelled to this lovely part of the world. We chose The Lamb and weren't disappointed. Our room - Violet - was on the ground floor and had a lovely olde worlde charm with low ceilings and beams, and was adequately supplied with coffee, tea, water and delicious flapjacks!
The gardens were lovely, nice to have somewhere to sit out in the early evening with a glass of wine, or two! The lounge areas were also nice to sit in the evenings with lovely comfy sofas.
Nothing was too much trouble for the staff and the meals we had in the bar area were superb, as were the breakfasts.
Can't wait to return!

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank ConcernedCheshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (769)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

448 - 454 of 769 reviews

Reviewed 25 August 2014

We have been coming to the Lamb for 4 years now since we stayed for our Ruby Wedding Anniversary & enjoyed it so much! The staff are extremely efficient but friendly and are quite obviously well trained in their very various roles. We stayed for 2 nights last week and found the same good service and excellent food. I have to say that when we feel like being pampered our thoughts immediately settle on the Lamb! Once again we thoroughly enjoyed our stay and our wanderings in Burford which is a delightful, working market town. Will almost certainly return for a treat before Christmas!! :-)

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Matilda07
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 August 2014

We stayed one night at the Lamb Inn and thoroughly enjoyed ourselves. We had the dinner bed and breakfast package. Dinner was great although if you prefer something less formal I suggest the bar area, which is nice and cosy.

Breakfast was revelation, probably one of best breakfast we've had in years.

Our room, the stable, was small but quite adequate, don't expect modern luxury, it was quaint and quirky. But nice and quiet.

Service was very good.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank hilary258
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 August 2014

Nice old inn, simply decorated with many thoughtful amenities. The location is quiet and within walking distance of the main street in town. I love beautifully decorated spaces, and though this inn was very pleasant, it fell a little bit short.

Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
2  Thank Bisou4U
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bill R, General Manager at The Lamb Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 21 August 2014

Thank you for taking the time to write a review on the Lamb Inn. Please do not hesitate to contact me directly to embelish on our short-comings as I would relish the opportunity to acknowledge and remedy these. manager@lambinn-burford.co.uk

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 August 2014 via mobile

The lamb is a stunning quaint building with a beautiful terrace garden. The staff really are very good and I cannot fault the service we received. We stayed in Rosie room which was dog friendly. The room was lovely however it was compact when I say compact I mean tiny. This didn't bother us as we had our own entrance and a small private garden which was great for the dogs and meant we didn't feel trapped in the compact room As had door open. However if this was winter and the door was shut would have felt claustrophobic. We had mini dogs which was fine but the room would have been to small For larger breed. The garden is lovely. We ate in the bar I had omelette and salad which was fine. Partner had steak which was bit overcooked. Bar is lovely setting to sit and enjoy a drink. Cooked breakfast was lovely but stone cold didn't complain as they had set up
A table in the drawing room so we could eat with dogs. We moved after 1st night as felt £169 was to much for the compact room & whoever was above us liked to walk heavily lol overall a
Lovely place would return but ask
For a larger room and hot breakfast.

  • Stayed: August 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank soliver1976
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bill R, General Manager at The Lamb Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 21 August 2014

Thank you for sharing the positives and negatives of your visit with us and I am pleased you enjoyed your visit. As you have suggested, we would be very pleased to tailor your next visit to you as much as we can.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 August 2014

Just had a wonderful meal at the Lamb Inn. Service wonderful, staff very attentive & polite.
I ordered the wrong wine but with no quibble it was changed. Charming Inn, great food, lovely staff. Wondering what the rooms would be like..?

Room Tip: Didn't stay in the hotel.
See more room tips
Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
1  Thank JacquiDownton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bill R, General Manager at The Lamb Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 21 August 2014

Please let us know when you next visit and it will be a pleasure to show you a few of our bedrooms. All are individual and traditional but lavished with Molton Brown, Nespresso machines, Cotswold Lavender and our Chef’s homemade flapjacks! Please stop by again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 August 2014

Great little place, we had an amazing room with a huge bathroom which was very quiet and not facing the road. Beautiful cream tea in the gorgeous gardens followed by a fantastic dinner, wonderful steak! We love Burford and feel this place is a superbly quaint old fashioned property. If you are the type that wants to be fussed over and enjoy bling or a contemporary style, it may not be for you, but we loved the very good service and friendly staff. Would thoroughly recommend a stay here with dinner and it is a great place from which to explore the beautiful Cotswolds.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank bunnylapeche
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bill R, General Manager at The Lamb Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 21 August 2014

Thank you. I will keep the title of this review in my head and keep repeating! We will continue to make sure that “bling” is kept away from the Lamb and keep our concentration on the genuinely natural product that is the Lamb Inn.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Burford
0 mi away
The Bay Tree Hotel
The Bay Tree Hotel
#4 of 8 in Burford
689 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Bull at Burford
The Bull at Burford
#2 of 8 in Burford
578 reviews
2.5 mi away
The Maytime Inn
The Maytime Inn
#1 of 8 in Burford
408 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.3 mi away
The Slaughters Country Inn
The Slaughters Country Inn
#1 of 2 in Lower Slaughter
1,356 reviews
0.1 mi away
Burford House
Burford House
#7 of 8 in Burford
310 reviews
17.3 mi away
Charingworth Manor
Charingworth Manor
#1 of 3 in Chipping Campden
1,076 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Lamb Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Lamb Inn

Address: Sheep Street, Burford OX18 4LR, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cotswolds > Burford
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 8 Hotels in Burford
Price Range: £105 - £304 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The Lamb Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 17
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located on Sheep Street, in the heart of Burford; The Lamb Inn boasts 17 classic Cotswold bedrooms, with history around every corner. This dog-friendly hotel is also home to a traditional bar and comfy lounges, a beautifully manicured garden and a 2 Rosette awarded restaurant. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd and Ebookers so you can book your The Lamb Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Lamb Hotel Burford
The Lamb Inn Burford, Oxfordshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing