We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Quiet and convenient”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Travelodge Burford Cotswolds
Ranked #6 of 8 Hotels in Burford
Certificate of Excellence
Exeter, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
28 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Quiet and convenient”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 August 2013

If you don't want to pay a fortune to stay in Burford and are happy to take the short walk into Burford, then look no further than the Travelodge. I asked for a quiet room and was asked which floor I would prefer. I asked for the first floor and was allocated a room at the far end of the corridor on the first floor, overlooking the garden.
The room was clean, although there was a big, empty space by the window (not sure if there should have been a sofa there?) and the bed was comfortable.
The only down side was that I was woken by people coming back in the early hours of the morning to the room next to mine. They let the door slam shut, waking me up. Even if you have a quiet room, you can still have noisy neighbours! It was only when I came to check out that I realised the corridor was really busy with cleaners and other guests - I hadn't been aware of all the activity going on in the corridor - guess it was a quiet room after all.
I would definitely stay here again if I was visiting Burford.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CornishEm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

280 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    118
    113
    36
    7
    6
See reviews for
87
129
11
23
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (44)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Maidstone, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
17 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 August 2013

this Travelodge is conveniently placed in Burford near Bourton-on-the-water which in our view is the prettiest little village of 13 we visited in the Cotswolds.
reasonably priced even during holiday time.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Travelodge

Helpful?
1 Thank Cisela55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 July 2013 via mobile

When booking into a travelodge yes you expect similar things but you always worry that the room may look rather rubbish and univiting to stay don't you?! Well when booking to stay at this one you have nothing to worry about. Looks lovely on the outside, beautiful Cotswold stone and clean and tidy inside too. We were very lucky as our room was big and spacious as well as being clean and tidy!! Even though you are right close to a main road and the car park of the travelodge right outside...in our room we were not disturbed by the traffic at all!! - very happy!
There is a Little Chef next door and this surprised me as well, doesn't even feel like one. Lovely food, a little pricey though!
Definately would stay here again!!

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank misskirsty321
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
276 reviews
95 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 155 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 July 2013

Having not stayed at a Travelodge for some time and the last experience being a really bad one I arrived not expecting that much. It appears that this place has recently been refurbished and was much brighter than expected. The room was a large double minimally furnished but bright and "new". The bed was comfortable with crisp bed linen - the only let down was that the room could have been cleaner - food bits on the chair and a dirty wash basin. All that said I had a good nights sleep at probably the cheapest "hotel" in the area. The location is good - at the top of the hill down to Burford and right on the Cheltenham/Oxford road.

Room Tip: Ask for a room at the back of the Travelodge so as not to get any road noise
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JonnyBerlin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BritAbroad
Level Contributor
126 reviews
61 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 83 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 June 2013

Great welcome, smooth check-in, large recently refurbished room, comfortable bed (although the double was a bit small for us). Bathroom with shower, w.c. and good towels, but disappointed that no complementary toiletries, other than small bar of soap. Decent TV but no free wifi. Almost no mobile signal with O2. Out-of-hours access straight-forward. Location good on A40 with short walk into Burford village centre. Very quiet and got a good night's sleep, thus deserving of a 4th star.

Room Tip: We were at the back of the hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Britabroad22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Emsworth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
39 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 June 2013

This hotel is quite basic, but if all you want is somewhere too sleep that is comfortable, roomy, exceptionally clean, quiet and cheap compared to other establishments in Burford i would definately recommend this refurbished hotel. Reception staff and Manager were very cheery and were very helpful with our enquiries on local attractions etc.Note no bar or food but outlets are nearby.

Room Tip: Request a garden view, very tranquil.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Graham K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tonypandy, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 June 2013

We traveled from South Wales via M4 / M5 and then took country roads to find The Travelodge so easy to find at the main roundabout at the top of Burford Hill, full of interesting shops and nice Pubs we had the birthday dinner at the Bull where Lord Nelson stayed in the 1800's a realy good sleep and ready for the road home, only to find a flat tyre.The staff at Travelodge were most helpfull and we were on our way, must do it again!

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Davidmalcolm_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Burford
0.1 mi away
Cotswold Gateway Hotel
Cotswold Gateway Hotel
#5 of 8 in Burford
4.5 of 5 bubbles 476 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Bull at Burford
The Bull at Burford
#4 of 8 in Burford
4.5 of 5 bubbles 496 reviews
0.4 mi away
The Lamb Inn
The Lamb Inn
#2 of 8 in Burford
4.5 of 5 bubbles 669 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.4 mi away
The Maytime Inn
The Maytime Inn
#1 of 8 in Burford
4.5 of 5 bubbles 348 reviews
6.4 mi away
Premier Inn Witney Hotel
0.4 mi away
Golden Pheasant
Golden Pheasant
#8 of 8 in Burford
3.5 of 5 bubbles 308 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Travelodge Burford Cotswolds? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Travelodge Burford Cotswolds

Property: Travelodge Burford Cotswolds
Address: 40 Bury Barn Lechlade Road, Burford OX18 4JF, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cotswolds > Burford
Amenities:
Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Romantic Hotel in Burford
#6 Family Hotel in Burford
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Travelodge Burford Cotswolds 2*
Number of rooms: 40
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelodge Hotels Ltd so you can book your Travelodge Burford Cotswolds reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Travelodge Burford Cotswolds Hotel Burford
Travel Lodge Burford
Burford Travelodge
Burford Travel Lodge
Travelodge Burford Cotswolds Oxfordshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing