We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great for a cheap, comfy night in Burford”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Travelodge Burford Cotswolds
Ranked #6 of 8 Hotels in Burford
Oxford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
287 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 126 helpful votes
“Great for a cheap, comfy night in Burford”
Reviewed 5 July 2014 via mobile

We stayed here for a friend's wedding in Burford. As you'd expect from a Travelodge the accommodation is basic, but it has everything you need and is very clean. Staff were very friendly, providing local recommendations and making us aware of additional things like irons, hair dryers, fans etc. if we needed them. Have to say I was quite impressed with the service here compared to other travelodges I have been to.
Hotel is close enough to walk to Burford centre with its lovely cafes, pubs, shops. Note: the high street is on a steep hill so ladies who are wearing heels might want some flats for the walk home!! Little Chef next door if you need breakfast.

All in all, very pleased with this place - would stay here again.

Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank Helly21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

290 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    120
    119
    38
    7
    6
See reviews for
90
135
11
23
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (45)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
manchester
Level Contributor
317 reviews
76 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 203 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 July 2014 via mobile

This is a modern Travelodge with clean comfortable rooms.
On arrival I found the staff polite, friendly and helpful.
We had a room on the front and on hot days the room was stifling hot even through the night, and smokers would stand outside the front and the smell of smoke enters your room making it hot and smelling of smoke, so if you want to avoid this stay in the back rooms.
One point for management, why put a toilet roll holder so close to the toilet when it's already up to the wall. Every time I sat down I collided with it.
Little chef is ok for breakfast.

Stayed July 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank starrtravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Liverpool
1 review
Reviewed 30 June 2014

We had heard good reviews about this Travelodge and they didn't disappoint. The hotel was welcoming and clean, staff were very polite and competent and the room was just was we needed for an overnight stay.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Travelodge

Helpful?
Thank KatieB562013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Swansea
1 review
Reviewed 27 June 2014

Recently refurbished Travelodge, which was spotlessly clean and modern. Good convenient location and very friendly and helpful staff. Little Chef based next door and plenty of parking available. Beds in the Travelodge are not always the most comfortable but the pillows were improved!

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Travelodge

Helpful?
Thank Mark L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Guernsey, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 June 2014

An ideal place to stay if you are visiting the Cotswolds. The staff are efficient and very helpful and do their utmost to make you stay a very present experience. Within walking distance of Burford town

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Travelodge

Helpful?
2 Thank Sally C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Solihull, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
30 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 June 2014

Whilst attending a Wedding in Burford I stopped overnight at the local Travelodge £92 is far to expensive especially when the same room is available for £52 mid week.

Acknowledge that Burford is a major tourist resort in the Cotswolds but £92 is far too much money for a very basic room

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Travelodge

Helpful?
1 Thank MarkP0well
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Witney, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 May 2014

Stayed 3 nights from May 19th in connection with business trip. The Burford is well located on the A40 although not so obviously signposted and you can miss it because it's not easily visible from the road.

The room was spotless and well aired. Had quiet room at the back. parking is free and it's usually always possible to find a place.

My main gripes were:
1) poor provision of toiletries i.e. just a small bottle of liquid soap to cover washing and shampooing
2) very limited choice of TV channels, really just the 5 main channels and ITV 3! OK so one doesn't stay at the Travelodge to watch TV but compared with all the local hotels and B & Bs where I've stayed recently not good because every other place had the full range of TV channels
3) you are charged for Wifi. Again all the other local places where I've stayed do not charge for wifi..

As far as the pricing is concerned I paid an average of around £ 65 per night with the wifi charge which places Travelodge somewhere in the middle category so not brilliant value for money but at the same time not a rip off.

We are now coming into the main tourist season so Travelodge is likely to be booked up most nights and also charging higher prices so it will probably be autumn before I return.

I feel Travelodge needs to offer a few more extras in order to retain my long term patronage.

To end on a positive note the Burford Travelodge has had a refurb since I last stayed here back in 2010 and the change is noticeable!

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Travelodge

Helpful?
1 Thank Mark L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Burford
0.1 mi away
Cotswold Gateway Hotel
Cotswold Gateway Hotel
#5 of 8 in Burford
506 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Bull at Burford
The Bull at Burford
#3 of 8 in Burford
516 reviews
0.4 mi away
The Lamb Inn
The Lamb Inn
#2 of 8 in Burford
697 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.4 mi away
The Maytime Inn
The Maytime Inn
#1 of 8 in Burford
364 reviews
0.4 mi away
Golden Pheasant
Golden Pheasant
#8 of 8 in Burford
319 reviews
6.6 mi away
Oxford Witney Hotel
Oxford Witney Hotel
#4 of 7 in Witney
822 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Travelodge Burford Cotswolds? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Travelodge Burford Cotswolds

Property: Travelodge Burford Cotswolds
Address: 40 Bury Barn Lechlade Road, Burford OX18 4JF, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cotswolds > Burford
Amenities:
Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Romantic Hotel in Burford
#6 Family Hotel in Burford
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Travelodge Burford Cotswolds 2*
Number of rooms: 40
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelodge Hotels Ltd so you can book your Travelodge Burford Cotswolds reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Travelodge Burford Cotswolds Hotel Burford
Travel Lodge Burford
Burford Travelodge
Burford Travel Lodge
Travelodge Burford Cotswolds Oxfordshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing