We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“The perfect retreat in beautiful countryside”
Review of The Maytime Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
The Maytime Inn
Ranked #1 of 8 Hotels in Burford
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“The perfect retreat in beautiful countryside”
Reviewed 22 March 2014

We booked the Yard and Groom room at the last minute for the final night of a short midweek break in the Cotswolds. We were absolutely delighted when we pulled into the carpark- the Maytime is surrounded by rolling fields, the river Windrush and the very little village of Asthall. As we had booked through our mobiles the night before we hadn't realised that the inn is not actually in Burford, but a small village 5 minutes away. This wasn't a problem with a car and sat nav, but worth noting to avoid confusion if you don't know the area. We adored our little room, which as others have said, is very small. But the beautiful well sized bathroom and superb quality of finish makes the size unimportant for a short stay. The roll top bath is the most comfortable tub I've ever used, the underfloor heating is such a pleasurable surprise and the soft stone tiles are lovely to the touch. For more than a couple of nights you would want a larger room, for a short stay it is a cosy den that you can just relax into. The bed linen was of fantastic quality, so soft and silky that we didn't want to get up for breakfast.

Breakfast was very good indeed, the full English was generous and of very good quality ingredients. The continental buffet was streamlined with some cereals, lovely fresh fruit salad, yoghurt, berry compote, mini pastries and juice. All in all very impressive considering there were only ourselves and one other couple staying. We also ate dinner in the restaurant, for which I will post a review separately.

We absolutely loved the Maytime and only wished that we had spent our whole break there, as our previous spa hotel lacked the warmth and high quality touches that this place did. It serves as an ideal rural base for exploring the Cotswolds and these two weary Londoners will definitely be returning when we want to sink into a comfortable, beautifully finished home from home in the country! It was the highlight of our trip!

Room Tip: Yard and Groom Room is very good value for a couple of nights stay- the bathroom makes up for the sm...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank eroewen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

356 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    264
    63
    21
    5
    3
See reviews for
45
219
3
11
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (59)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 March 2014 via mobile

I booked the entire hotel for my wedding weekend and the staff were very friendly and accommodating to help us all out.

The food was devine and the rooms splendid.

We all had a great stay and definitely plan to visit again!

Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank JPH121
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, UK
Level Contributor
141 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 109 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 February 2014

The Maytime Inn is a lovely hotel in the picturesque village of Asthall, close to the bustling Cotswold town of Burford. Unless we missed it, there's not much in the village itself, but the surrounding countryside is beautiful and a great starting place for some lovely walks, I'm sure (we were there during the floods and some of the walking paths were cut off).
The hotel rooms are all set around a courtyard, which must be lovely to sit in during the summer months. We stayed in the Farriers Room. The room itself is quite small - there isn't much room around the king size bed - but there's a huge bathroom and we absolutely loved the furniture and decor.
We ate in the hotel restaurant for our evening meal (which I've reviewed separately) and breakfast. There was a good choice of cooked breakfast - we both opted for the full English, which was fantastic.
All of the staff were lovely - very attentive and happy to have a chat. We would definitely come back again.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AbiV
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cornwall
Level Contributor
19 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 February 2014

We stayed at the Maytime for the second time and found it just as pleasant as the first. Although this trip was for business, it was so quiet, warm and welcoming that we felt we were on holiday! The food was lovely and the room offered a large, comfortable bed with very modern facilities. We will definitely come back here again.

Room Tip: The "trophy" stags head isn't real so I would recommend the Hunting Room
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank NicolaCornwall
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Exeter, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 January 2014

We stayed here for one night midweek in January as a birthday gift to my boyfriend and would love to go back already.
We were firstly greeted on arrival and told that as it was quiet we'd been upgraded to a better room which was a nice surprise. The room was beautifully decorated with loads of character and just perfect for a night away. Not big but that didn't really concern us considering we were only there for the night. The bathroom was stunning, most incredible waterfall shower. Nice size tv in the room as well. The bed was really comfy and everything was spotlessly clean.
We chose to travel to Burford and find a restaurant there as opposed to eating at the Maytime, though the menu looked lovely and the specials board offered reasonably priced pub meals. Breakfast was nice, cereals and pastries as well as a choice of cooked breakfasts. Loved that this was included in the price as a lot of hotels charge extortionate rates for breakfast.
We would definitely return here and I would recommend it to anyone!

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Becky F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Haslemere, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
70 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 January 2014

We stayed, at the Maytime, in December 2012 to celebrate Christmas with our family.
On arrival we found our room had no heating & had to move to another room for our 2 night stay.

As ownership of the Inn had only changed in 2012 we decided to try again in December 2013.

Unfortunately on arrival we again found our room had no heating & had to move to another room for our 2 night stay.

It's such a shame because the bar & restaurant areas are excellent but the heating problems have rather overshadowed our 2 stays - From a business point of view it doesn't make sense.

My advice to anybody, staying in the winter months, is to ask if heating in the allocated room can be checked on your date of arrival.

It's unlikely we would return to the Maytime because of our experiences.

Room Tip: Ask if heating in the allocated room can be checked on your date of arrival.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Christopher I
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
Reviewed 7 January 2014

My boyfriend and I stayed here on our first anniversary. It was spontaneous as we hadn't planned to stay in cotswolds. But we are incredibly pleased that we did. Booking 5 minutes before we arrived David the barman and the manager were very welcoming even though they were not expecting a booking. We booked the Yard and groom room but as soon as we said it was our first anniversary the manager upgraded our room to The Hunting Room which was absolutely beautiful. Well equipped and decorated. It was very typical rural England style which was a great feeling since we were getting away from London. The bathroom was perfect, a big deep bath and great sized power shower. The small details added to the room really made it a great place. We didn't eat dinner there but did have breakfast and were amazed at the effort they put into it even though we were the only ones there. Cereals, fruit and yoghurt and juice laid out upon arrival. A tray of warm pastries and tea brought to us after cereal and then the option for a full English which was extremely tasty and was sourced from local places which you could tell in the taste and quality of the food. As we checked out we were sad to go back to reality but thanked our lucky stars we chose the maytime inn for our spontaneous adventure. Thank you to the staff that made our first anniversary that bit more special. Recommended place to stay if you are visiting the cotswolds or Birdland as we did only 25 minutes away driving.

  • Stayed January 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MissRBrown
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Burford
2.5 mi away
The Lamb Inn
The Lamb Inn
#2 of 8 in Burford
4.5 of 5 bubbles 674 reviews
20.0 mi away
Buckland Manor Country House Hotel
10.3 mi away
The Slaughters Country Inn
The Slaughters Country Inn
#1 of 2 in Lower Slaughter
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,131 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
10.8 mi away
The Old Stocks Inn
The Old Stocks Inn
#1 of 8 in Stow-on-the-Wold
5.0 of 5 bubbles 304 reviews
2.3 mi away
The Bull at Burford
The Bull at Burford
#3 of 8 in Burford
4.5 of 5 bubbles 504 reviews
10.1 mi away
Number Four at Stow and Cutler's Restaurant
Number Four at Stow and Cutler's...
#2 of 8 in Stow-on-the-Wold
4.5 of 5 bubbles 945 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Maytime Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Maytime Inn

Property: The Maytime Inn
Address: Asthall, Burford OX18 4HW, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cotswolds > Burford
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
#1 Luxury Hotel in Burford
#1 Business Hotel in Burford
#1 Romantic Hotel in Burford
#5 Family Hotel in Burford
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — The Maytime Inn 4*
Number of rooms: 6
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Ebookers, Expedia, Hotels.com, Book Direct Rooms and Traveltool, S.L.U. so you can book your The Maytime Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Maytime Hotel Burford
Maytime Hotel Burford
The Maytime Inn Burford, Oxfordshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing