We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Simply Excellent”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of The Maytime Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
The Maytime Inn
Ranked #1 of 8 Hotels in Burford
Certificate of Excellence
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
42 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“Simply Excellent”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 August 2014

Booked the hotel without any research to attend a wedding over the bank holiday. Arrived and was greeted by the friendly staff at the Maytime Inn. We had lunch in the gardens; our bags taken to our room and the smoothest checkin process I've ever experienced.

The staff were all super friendly and couldn't do enough for us.

The room was amazing, they have thought of every bit of detail, right down to a remote to control the lights!

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ACCY007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

348 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    260
    60
    21
    4
    3
See reviews for
43
216
3
11
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (58)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Any
English first
Manchester
Level Contributor
36 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 August 2014 via mobile

We stayed here for two nights and it was brilliant. The rooms are modern with lots of character and the staff couldn't be anymore helpful. Would definitely recommend
The club sandwich was also very nice for lunch- only downside is taxis are expensive

Stayed August 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Dave1101
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Preston, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
102 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 August 2014

Stayed here one night in August.
The village is so quaint! It's like a blast from the past.
The rooms are top notch with modern and old world fittings.
The beds are really comfy and I had a great nights sleep.
My only slight complaint is that the shower took ages for the water to get hot and the room smelt a bit.
The restaurant is great, but food choice is limited. Unfortunately, you have to travel to find anywhere else due to the remote location. Breakfast was great, with that rare offering of a well cooked omelette.
I would stay again, but not for many nights.

Room Tip: The larger more expensive rooms will give you a bit more space, but they're all great
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled on business
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SargFowler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chester
Level Contributor
40 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 August 2014

My wife and I have just returned home after a 3 night stay at the Maytime. The location is perfect for exploring the Costswolds and visiting Oxford (both of which we did) and is very quiet and peaceful. We were greeted warmly and shown to our room which, although quite small, was beautifully decorated and well equiped with a lovely bathroom. Everything was very clean and the bed big and comfortable. Breakfast was also excellent and all the staff friendly and cheerful. We love the area so will be back and I can think of no better place to stay.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Phil M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kent
Level Contributor
32 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 August 2014 via mobile

We stayed for two nights in a beautiful room. Food in the restaurant was lovely and the staff were friendly. Beware - the room we stayed in has a low ceiling and for someone who is over 6 feet like me, it was a challenge! That aside, whilst the room was on the small side, it was beautiful.

Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank LKDAKS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kent, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
17 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 August 2014

We chose this Inn because of its location in the Cotswolds so as we were able to visit Blenheim Palace and the surrounding villages of Witney, Woodstock and Burford. We were welcomed upon arrival and our room was ready right away. The staff were all very friendly and professional and nothing was too much for them. Breakfast was very good quality and ingredients were both fresh and local. Evening menu for food was excellent to with pigs head terrine starters, which was fabulous along with pan fried skate and also pan fried plaice. There was also wild boar burger, all of which we tried. The portions might be a little on the small side but the quality and taste was excellent. The bar staff and cleaner were very friendly and made you feel at home right from the start, which was good being as the other guest never even spoke to anyone, which was strange.

Room Tip: There are only 6 rooms in this Inn so take your pick because all are excellent
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kentbry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Northern Ireland, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 August 2014

Last minute booking at the Maytime Inn. Lovely welcome and we stayed in the Hunting Room. Beautifully decorated and what a massive bed. Clean, tidy and bathroom lovely. the only thing missing from the room was a box of hankies. We ate evening meal in the restaurant and could not fault in any way. Breakfast was good but could offer a better selection of fruit and cereals. English breakfast was good and freshly prepared however toast was very thick, hard and crispy for my liking. Very friendly and we would definitely go back when we are in the area again.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Fussy340
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Burford
2.5 mi away
The Lamb Inn
The Lamb Inn
#2 of 8 in Burford
4.5 of 5 bubbles 669 reviews
20.0 mi away
Buckland Manor Country House Hotel
10.3 mi away
The Slaughters Country Inn
The Slaughters Country Inn
#1 of 2 in Lower Slaughter
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,104 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
10.8 mi away
The Old Stocks Inn
The Old Stocks Inn
#1 of 8 in Stow-on-the-Wold
5.0 of 5 bubbles 298 reviews
2.3 mi away
The Bull at Burford
The Bull at Burford
#4 of 8 in Burford
4.5 of 5 bubbles 496 reviews
10.1 mi away
Number Four at Stow and Cutler's Restaurant
Number Four at Stow and Cutler's...
#2 of 8 in Stow-on-the-Wold
4.5 of 5 bubbles 941 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Maytime Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Maytime Inn

Property: The Maytime Inn
Address: Asthall, Burford OX18 4HW, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cotswolds > Burford
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Burford
#1 Luxury Hotel in Burford
#1 Romantic Hotel in Burford
#5 Family Hotel in Burford
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — The Maytime Inn 4*
Number of rooms: 6
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Book Direct Rooms, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Maytime Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Maytime Hotel Burford
Maytime Hotel Burford
The Maytime Inn Burford, Oxfordshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing