We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely small hotel in heart of village.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
The Bull at Burford
Ranked #4 of 8 Hotels in Burford
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 25 October 2013

Stayed just one night in this small hotel. We were very surprised when shown to our room to find a four poster bed. Everything was spotless and a lovely modern en suite bathroom. There was tea, coffee, biscuits & bottled water in our room. The staff were friendly and helpful and in the morning a very good choice for breakfast. No complaints and will hopefully return soon.

Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
Thank Patricia W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (547)
There are newer reviews for The Bull at Burford
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

335 - 341 of 547 reviews

Reviewed 21 October 2013

Spent a great night at the Bull Inn. We had a very friendly welcome and the staff were helpfull.
Had a magnifcent dinner which very well presented and most enjoyable. The presentation of dinner meals are in a league of their own compared to other hotels which we have eaten at in the area. Breakfast was also very good. The service all round was excellent.
The room was very comfortable and the decor typical of a small village hotel. There were a few cobwebs on the very high vaulted ceiling, otherwise the room was very clean.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Gary K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 October 2013

Booked this online, a standard double, on arrival greeted and directed to my room, I did have the option of being accompanied. The room was well appointed, however a bit cluttered, just down to the amount of magazines, tea/coffee making facilities and a few other odds and sods. The bed was comfortable and the television just big enough. The bathroom was clean with toiletries. The food was nice, homemade Beef and guinness pie superb. Breakfast was again good.
Overall I was completely satisfied, I found it good value, nice location, a good base for visiting the cotswolds.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Dibbley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 October 2013 via mobile

Stayed here with my husband. We had driven through Burford on the way to Feastival and thought it a lovely village. We booked after looking at the website and thought it looked traditional and nice. When we arrived we were shown to our room by the owner who was very nice. The room was although quite big extremely dark with a view of the wall next door. The decor was all burgundy and very eighties with mismatched pictures. In an old building you expect nice antique furniture not imitation mahogany laminate. Very poorly lit during the day but once you had the lights on it was quite cosy. We had asked for a superior room but to be honest we felt it was a waste of money and a premier inn would have been better! The bathroom was awful - pine laminate floor with a mahogany beaten up bath panel. The fittings were ok but the bath very narrow and not at all luxurious and filled up when you had a shower. My bathroom at home was much nicer! Cheap toiletries and no mini bar or coffee machine.
The breakfast was grim. Although the cooked breakfast was ok the selection of other items was minimal and had a big row of half empty supermarket jam jars that you had to take a bit of jam or marmalade out of, really naf.
When we left we were not asked if our stay was enjoyable. No personal service or any care if if we had a good time and were satisfied. We have learnt a lesson not to stay at overpriced old fashioned hotels again. We usually stay at somewhere like the Pig in the New Forest who could really teach the Bull a thing or two. If this business is to thrive they need to move with the times. When you spend out on a night
away it has to be better and more luxurious than at home! Think they are relying on American tourists who will think that this is typical of British accommodation and not expect more. Well we do and you can get a lot more for your money staying in Independant hotels that actually care about giving people a fab experience!

  • Stayed: October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Retrobunny71
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 October 2013

I treated my wife to a stay at the bull for a birthday surprise. After looking through the reviews on trip advisor decided that this hotel was the place to stay. Unfortunately really didn't live up to my expectations. I opted for a superior room which was £150. What a waste of money! Definitely not superior. The room was dark, felt really stuffy and didn't feel comfortable and relaxing, which should be a minimum requirement. The pillows on the bed were very uncomfortable and were not feather. Now on to the bathroom. Awful. It wasn't unclean but was really tatty and in real need of updating. When you go to a nice hotel I believe the bathrooms should be luxurious. This was so far off the mark and if it was graded out of ten I wouldn't even give it a one. There were 6 spotlights in the ceiling however only one bulb was working. When it came to getting ready to go out in the evening we couldn't get ready in the bathroom because it was too dark. Based on the standard of the room we opted not to eat dinner in the hotel restaurant to avoid any further possible disappointment. I don't think this needs to be said but we will definitely not be coming back or recommending to anyone in the future.

  • Stayed: October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank blakeyz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 October 2013 via mobile

We stayed at The Bull for a few nights in Sept 2013. We opted for one of the superior rooms but after paying a premium for an upgrade we were slightly disappointed with how basic it was. There was nothing particularly wrong with the room other than it being extremely stuffy, warm and the decor was tired but it certainly wasn't worth the money. The restaurant on the other hand was lovely and the food was great so would recommend it as a place to eat but not stay.

Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
Thank Adam R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 October 2013

We had two nights at the Bull at Burford, a warm welcome, comfortable room with all the necessary facilities. Our evening meals were enjoyable and very pleased with the variety and quality of breakfast, served at a well presented table. The hotel does have an historic feel which we found charming and interesting. The inn does serve the public but feels more like a small hotel than a pub with rooms, in comparison to others in the area that we saw. It's well situated in the high street, with shops, cafés and local walks . Parking was fine in the high street. Overall, a great stay and good value for money. Looking forward to staying again

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lobsterintank
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Burford
0.1 mi away
The Lamb Inn
The Lamb Inn
#2 of 8 in Burford
730 reviews
2.3 mi away
The Maytime Inn
The Maytime Inn
#1 of 8 in Burford
386 reviews
0.3 mi away
Cotswold Gateway Hotel
Cotswold Gateway Hotel
#5 of 8 in Burford
557 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.4 mi away
The Slaughters Country Inn
The Slaughters Country Inn
#1 of 2 in Lower Slaughter
1,246 reviews
0.3 mi away
Travelodge Burford Cotswolds
0.1 mi away
The Bay Tree Hotel
The Bay Tree Hotel
#3 of 8 in Burford
644 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Bull at Burford? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Bull at Burford

Address: 105 High Street, Burford OX18 4RG, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cotswolds > Burford
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Burford
#3 Luxury Hotel in Burford
#3 Business Hotel in Burford
#6 Romantic Hotel in Burford
Price Range: £81 - £146 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Bull at Burford 4*
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Recently restored and re-opened as a gourmet French restaurant with rooms, The Bull at Burford now offers a varied selection of dishes to suit all palates and beautiful accommodation to match. Situated in the popular village of Burford, this historic building has recently celebrated its fourth century operating as an inn and was officially re-opened by our local MP, The Prime Minister, the Rt. Hon. David Cameron. We look forward to welcoming you. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, LateRooms, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Evoline ltd so you can book your The Bull at Burford reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Bull At Burford Hotel Burford
Old Bull Burford
The Bull At Burford Oxfordshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing