We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The Bull at Burford
Nearby Hotels
US$182
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Cotswold Gateway Hotel(Burford)(Great Value!)
US$165
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Burford House(Burford)
US$252
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Travelodge Burford Cotswolds(Burford)(Great Value!)
US$81
Travelodge
View Deal
  • Free Parking
The Lamb Inn(Shipton under Wychwood)(Great Value!)
US$168
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Old Swan & Minster Mill(Minster Lovell)
US$314
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Premier Inn Witney Hotel(Witney)(Great Value!)
US$139
PremierInn.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
No availability for your dates from our partners
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
No availability for your dates from our partners
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Lamb Inn(Burford)
No availability for your dates from our partners
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (594)
Filter reviews
594 results
Traveller rating
356
163
44
24
7
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
356
163
44
24
7
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsmueslithe hotel car parkhigh streetsuperior roomhomemade jamsuneven floorshistoric hotelold buildingcourtyard roomfour poster bedvenisonlovely restaurantsteeped in historyreception areaexcellent foodbottled waterfull english
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
378 - 383 of 594 reviews
Reviewed 29 October 2013

Booked in after a cancelled flight and was treated to an exceptional experience, the rooms are full of character and the breakfast second to none. Add all this to friendly helpful staff and you have all that is needed. Highly recommended and hope I get the chance to stay again sometime.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Tim_n_Stevie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 October 2013

Stayed just one night in this small hotel. We were very surprised when shown to our room to find a four poster bed. Everything was spotless and a lovely modern en suite bathroom. There was tea, coffee, biscuits & bottled water in our room. The staff were friendly and helpful and in the morning a very good choice for breakfast. No complaints and will hopefully return soon.

Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
Thank Patricia W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 October 2013

Spent a great night at the Bull Inn. We had a very friendly welcome and the staff were helpfull.
Had a magnifcent dinner which very well presented and most enjoyable. The presentation of dinner meals are in a league of their own compared to other hotels which we have eaten at in the area. Breakfast was also very good. The service all round was excellent.
The room was very comfortable and the decor typical of a small village hotel. There were a few cobwebs on the very high vaulted ceiling, otherwise the room was very clean.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Gary K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 October 2013

Booked this online, a standard double, on arrival greeted and directed to my room, I did have the option of being accompanied. The room was well appointed, however a bit cluttered, just down to the amount of magazines, tea/coffee making facilities and a few other odds and sods. The bed was comfortable and the television just big enough. The bathroom was clean with toiletries. The food was nice, homemade Beef and guinness pie superb. Breakfast was again good.
Overall I was completely satisfied, I found it good value, nice location, a good base for visiting the cotswolds.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Dibbley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 October 2013 via mobile

Stayed here with my husband. We had driven through Burford on the way to Feastival and thought it a lovely village. We booked after looking at the website and thought it looked traditional and nice. When we arrived we were shown to our room by the owner who was very nice. The room was although quite big extremely dark with a view of the wall next door. The decor was all burgundy and very eighties with mismatched pictures. In an old building you expect nice antique furniture not imitation mahogany laminate. Very poorly lit during the day but once you had the lights on it was quite cosy. We had asked for a superior room but to be honest we felt it was a waste of money and a premier inn would have been better! The bathroom was awful - pine laminate floor with a mahogany beaten up bath panel. The fittings were ok but the bath very narrow and not at all luxurious and filled up when you had a shower. My bathroom at home was much nicer! Cheap toiletries and no mini bar or coffee machine.
The breakfast was grim. Although the cooked breakfast was ok the selection of other items was minimal and had a big row of half empty supermarket jam jars that you had to take a bit of jam or marmalade out of, really naf.
When we left we were not asked if our stay was enjoyable. No personal service or any care if if we had a good time and were satisfied. We have learnt a lesson not to stay at overpriced old fashioned hotels again. We usually stay at somewhere like the Pig in the New Forest who could really teach the Bull a thing or two. If this business is to thrive they need to move with the times. When you spend out on a night
away it has to be better and more luxurious than at home! Think they are relying on American tourists who will think that this is typical of British accommodation and not expect more. Well we do and you can get a lot more for your money staying in Independant hotels that actually care about giving people a fab experience!

  • Stayed: October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Retrobunny71
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews