We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Sweet hotel. Great food”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
The Bull at Burford
Ranked #4 of 8 Hotels in Burford
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 20 March 2014

I wish the Bull was nearer so it could be my local eating place! I found it very reasonable when I went for lunch with a girlfriend recently. Their homemade fishcakes are the best I've had.
We stayed the night a few months ago to break the journey to Gatwick for an early flight and were lucky and given the Market Room (definitely must be their best room) although a girlfriend coming with us also had a lovely room. The boss is a hoot - very French!

Room Tip: It's worth paying a bit more and having the Market Room, it's gorgeous.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JOEL161859
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (564)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

336 - 342 of 564 reviews

Reviewed 26 February 2014 via mobile

Although it is a 600 year old building and has its charm in a small village full of such pubs, it is not something which is really visiting again and again. One time experience was good, staff were friendly but the food especially the fish dishes could have been better.

Stayed: February 2014, travelled on business
2  Thank Travel_away_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 February 2014 via mobile

Where to start: this establishment is top quality!
Stumbled across The Bull on a trip down memory lane with my Mum, whom went to school in Burford. The staff are lovely lovely people: that welcomed us with no hesitation. I do find that quality in customer service can be poor if you are only staying for one evening - NOT at The Bull.
The room we had was a twin BEAUTIFUL with a little court yard. The little extras in the room (shower cap, ear plug's, sewing kit, iron, extra pillows) was just lovely. Don't think it's nosy by the way: it isn't! Now onto the restaurant - Mum and I had the trout, and both asked if we could marry the chef!!! Seriously guys: this chef is a talent and needs to go on a cooking programme...he would win!!!
When the staff heard of Mum going to school in Burford: they really did go out of their way to talk to Mum about this/history etc...
The breakfast - didn't eat much, but so wish that I was hungry as it was just perfect!!!...great variety.
There is a small car park at The Bull but it's first come bases, but there is street parking and a FREE car park only down the road.
The only thing to say is - book book book!...we will definitely return, THANK YOU The Bull @ Burford

Stayed: February 2014, travelled with friends
Thank Adele J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 February 2014

We stayed here with friends during a lucky lull in the storms at the beginning of February.It's a fine old Grade 11 listed building which has seen a lot of life since its rebirth in 1620.

It's the type of building where you can fall down a step while cracking your skull on the door head as you enter your room. No plumb or level here. Lovely.

It is described by the owners as a gourmet French restaurant with rooms. So first the rooms. I always phone a hotel before booking to get a feel for the attitude of the staff and maybe get a better deal and preferential treatment. We were offered a super deal with a superior room with dinner and breakfast for £105pn for two including an allowance of £70 for dinner. How bad is that?!

Our room (Trafalgar) was a generous size with sofa, table & chairs work/dressing table, wardrobe & cupboard. The bedding was good quality and the TV big enough with excellent reception. Free wifi was on offer throughout the hotel although I should imagine that setting it up must have blown the engineer's mind. Generous supplies of assorted teas, biscuits & coffee and a range of current magazines completed the room.

In the bathroom the fittings were obviously recent, the towel rail was permanently hot and the towels & robes thick & fluffy. The selection of bathroom goodies extended to prophylactics - just in case I suppose.

All in all, a good room.

The High Street frontage belies the true size of this hotel. There are two lounges, a comfortable bar as well as the restaurant and a patio for kinder days. Tucked around the back is a very confined carpark which made me appreciate the parking sensors (though there is local parking.)

Breakfast was generous with good quality local ingredients. As a fish man I was able to have kippers (whole, not b in the b) on one day and haddock with spinach & egg the other. There were more than enough choices in the fruit & cereal department and homemade muesli, marmalades & honeycomb if you could squeeze it in.

Throughout our stay the staff, without exception, warrant a gold star review of their own. They were very friendly & helpful but most importantly they were there when we wanted them.

It was interesting to learn from the assistant manager that when he and his wife are in charge they stay in a different room each night to view the room from the customers' perspective & to pick up on any faults or improvements. A policy which other hoteliers might be wise to adopt.

All in all very good and we would stay again especially on the DBB rate. Yes dinner was good too but I have reviewed that on the restaurant site.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mart126
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 January 2014

Hotel is beautifully clean
Bedrooms are spacious, warm and spotlessly clean.
Ate in the bar along with my son and his partner, was impressed by the waiter finding out the ingredients of a certain desert which didn't suit us so an alternative was offered.
Food was delicious and hot throughout.
Breakfast was plentiful and of great quality.
Would highly recommend.
Checkout was easy and quick.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Carole L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 January 2014

Wonderful food on Sunday. All cooked from fresh ingredients - Sushi, tomato salad, quiche, prawns, pork and delicious sweets. The staff were very attentive and looked after the little people. Don't hesitate to eat here!

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank generalaviationpilot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 January 2014

Popped in for lunch, lured by the "Homemade Pie Of The Day" sign outside, and we were not disappointed. The food was excellent, and at around £10 per dish, very good value. We had pie, fish and an asian seafood curry and all were outstanding. Nice, friendly staff, only downside is no real ale on tap.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Service
1  Thank Pipsterk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Burford
0.1 mi away
The Lamb Inn
The Lamb Inn
#2 of 8 in Burford
744 reviews
2.3 mi away
The Maytime Inn
The Maytime Inn
#1 of 8 in Burford
397 reviews
0.3 mi away
Cotswold Gateway Hotel
Cotswold Gateway Hotel
#5 of 8 in Burford
587 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Burford House
Burford House
#7 of 8 in Burford
299 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Bay Tree Hotel
The Bay Tree Hotel
#3 of 8 in Burford
667 reviews
8.4 mi away
The Slaughters Country Inn
The Slaughters Country Inn
#1 of 2 in Lower Slaughter
1,300 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Bull at Burford? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Bull at Burford

Address: 105 High Street, Burford OX18 4RG, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cotswolds > Burford
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Burford
#3 Luxury Hotel in Burford
#3 Business Hotel in Burford
#6 Romantic Hotel in Burford
Price Range: £83 - £135 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Bull at Burford 4*
Number of rooms: 18
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated in the middle of the popular Cotswold town of Burford, this historic former coaching inn offers 18 bedrooms catering for a variety of tastes, requirements and budgets and wonderful food in its restaurant and bar. The friendly staff are always on hand to offer help and advice. For best value try the Dinner, Bed & Breakfast rate, which gives you the best of both worlds. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Expedia, 5viajes2012 S.L., Hotels.com, Evoline ltd, LateRooms and Ebookers so you can book your The Bull at Burford reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Bull At Burford Hotel Burford
Old Bull Burford
The Bull At Burford Oxfordshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing