We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
The Bull at Burford
Ranked #3 of 8 Hotels in Burford
Certificate of Excellence
Oxfordshire, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
35 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Great”
Reviewed 6 August 2014 via mobile

Had several meals here and would go back again and again, the food is great, freshly made in-house bread, all locally sourced food, clean and tidy, lots of original character, very nice place to visit.

Stayed October 2013, travelled on business
Helpful?
Thank Simon W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

523 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    314
    143
    36
    23
    7
See reviews for
68
298
19
38
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (140)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Gold Coast
Level 5 Contributor
56 reviews
50 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 August 2014

Hotel with history, sloping ceilings, beams, squeaky floors. Hearty full English breakfast. But . . . the bed I had in room 5 was truly awful. Soft as a slab of blancmange. Mr Manager: fix this and I'll give you five stars.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled solo
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank petrusc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
saddleworth
Level 6 Contributor
123 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 July 2014

A lovely old hotel on the main street of a picturesque Cotswold small town.What could be better.
The public rooms are charming;cool in the heatwave of the last week or so,and they (especially the upstairs salon) looked as if they would be wonderfully comfortable and snug with snow on the ground.The patio was an oasis in the heat,a lovely place for a cold (Kirin) lager and a read.
Our bedroom was spacious,and well furnished with a four poster,and whilst it overlooked the main street (and ear plugs were worryingly,but in keeping with the eye for detail of the place,provided),we had a really restful couple of nights.
The bathroom was dated but excellently equipped (no short changing on consumables in bathroom or bedroom) and clean.
The restaurant/breakfast room was simply gorgeous;a real French country hotel touch.
Dinner was excellent;notably there is an exceptional wine list at reasonable prices (although some of the more classic wines are beyond my pocket;at least they are available to those who can)
Breakfast was really good;excellent quality material expertly prepared.
Service from management and staff was exemplary;quick,quiet,professional and friendly.Couldn't ask for more.
We visit the Cotswolds a lot;I can't wait to return to this particular hotel.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jhallyday
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Norwich, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 July 2014

My colleague and I stayed at the Bull for one night to attend a training course nearby. It was a rare treat, lovely rooms, fantastic service and the steaks we had for supper, we agreed, were probably the best we'd ever had. Wished we could stay longer as the town is beautiful. Thank you!

Room Tip: Room 4 has a 4 poster but there is some traffic noise as its at the front, great view of town. Room...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled on business
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank loinchopthelizard
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Devon, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 July 2014

Stayed at The Bull whilst visiting The Royal International Air Tattoo at Fairford 13/14 July. The hotel was excellent. The staff were exceptionally friendly and helpful and the place was spotlessly clean all round. As a nice touch they served breakfast 1/2 an hour early for those of us wanting to leave early in the morning for the airshow. This was a nice touch, and the breakfast was first class. The hotel paid attention to every detail, it was a pleasure to stay here and would certainly recommend it to anyone wanting to stay in this area. The bedroom was very quaint, well equipped and well decorated. Didn't eat in the restaurant (apart for breakfast) but the menu looked good and well priced. We will certainly book again next year. Thank you for a really enjoyable stay

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rob552014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Carlos, California
Level 4 Contributor
44 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 July 2014

We were first time visitors to the Cotswolds and really didn't know what to expect. Reserved two rooms at the Bull - one for our daughters with twin beds and a separate double bed room for us. The girls' room was in a separate annex location out behind the parking lot. It was newer, clean and had a reasonable amount of space for them including a roomy bathroom. The design of the entrance to their location could be improved a bit (it was very utilitarian but the girls didn't care and it was quiet).
Our room was on the first floor at the end of an interesting maze of hallways above the kitchens. Room was quite small and lacked any charm however it was clean, the windows opened and the bathroom was functional. The beds could use a new mattress however it wasn't too bad for a couple of nights.
The breakfast was ample and service attentive. Can't say the same for the woman who checked us in; she was tired and not really interested in doing more than showing us where our rooms were. However the next day, a different woman was helpful in giving us information about where we might go for a walk to the next village.
Great meals just a few doors away at the Highway Inn. Lovely little town and nice area for walking too.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank dalbertson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Romford, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 26 June 2014

I have read the recent bad review and I would like to add my imput. I was the mother of the groom and I would refute everything that was written in the previous review about the Bull Hotel. We were a wedding party of 36 people and from the moment we arrived we were made very welcome and the service was exemplary. The staff were friendly and welcoming. Our room was lovely and we could not find fault with anything.
The hotel was unaware that the family members that were located at the top of hotel were elderly. We forgot to advise the hotel of their age and I am sure if we had advised them they would have been located on a lower floor.
The staff waited for us to return from the wedding venue and offered us drinks etc even though it was 1.30am when we finally got back.
We were advised that on the morning after the wedding, breakfast times could be extended for anyone that wanted a lie in.
The hotel had lots of charm and its 400 years old history is apparant thoughout. Its not a 5* hotel its a charming old building and a lovely place to stay.
I would return to this hotel again and would recommend it highly.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Fran B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Burford
0.1 mi away
The Lamb Inn
The Lamb Inn
#2 of 8 in Burford
709 reviews
0.3 mi away
Cotswold Gateway Hotel
Cotswold Gateway Hotel
#5 of 8 in Burford
521 reviews
2.3 mi away
The Maytime Inn
The Maytime Inn
#1 of 8 in Burford
372 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.4 mi away
The Slaughters Country Inn
The Slaughters Country Inn
#2 of 2 in Lower Slaughter
1,184 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Bay Tree Hotel
The Bay Tree Hotel
#4 of 8 in Burford
627 reviews
0.3 mi away
Travelodge Burford Cotswolds
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Bull at Burford? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Bull at Burford

Property: The Bull at Burford
Address: 105 High Street, Burford OX18 4RG, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cotswolds > Burford
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Burford
#2 Luxury Hotel in Burford
#3 Business Hotel in Burford
#6 Romantic Hotel in Burford
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — The Bull at Burford 4*
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Recently restored and re-opened as a gourmet French restaurant with rooms, The Bull at Burford now offers a varied selection of dishes to suit all palates and beautiful accommodation to match. Situated in the popular village of Burford, this historic building has recently celebrated its fourth century operating as an inn and was officially re-opened by our local MP, The Prime Minister, the Rt. Hon. David Cameron. We look forward to welcoming you. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Hotel.de, TripOnline SA, LateRooms, Priceline, Odigeo, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Evoline ltd so you can book your The Bull at Burford reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Bull At Burford Hotel Burford
Old Bull Burford
The Bull At Burford Oxfordshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing