We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (407)
Filter reviews
407 results
Traveller rating
121
108
72
63
43
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
121
108
72
63
43
Show reviews that mention
All reviews the pub great barrington windrush river beer garden groupon deal full english main bar sunny day real ale evening meal relaxing stay cotswold stone short break couple of nights lovely room well worth a visit breakfast was excellent
Filter
Updating list...
70 - 75 of 407 reviews
Reviewed 21 May 2017 via mobile

The Fox is in a picture perfect location nestling as it does next to the languid River Windrush which meanders through quintessential English countryside.
The good news continues as you walk through the door. Low beams and the trademark Donnington stone floors, make this a place where you want to have a beer.
The specials board are tempting with oysters and game from the local estate.
And that's where the positives stop.
It's no good The Fox having a flash website if the welcome you receive has been blown in straight from the Arctic.
Bear in mind we were the only people in the pub.
The bar person looked as though she had just returned from abroad she shunned any attempt to make small talk, didn't smile and from the moment we sat down opposite her, didn't look up from her laptop until a local walked in twenty minutes later.
He at least got a sort of tepid welcome.
Now I don't know if she'd had a bad day or was short sleep, but in an area where the competition for customers is intense people in the hospitality business need to do better than this.
We did ask if it was Ok to bring our dogs in (on leads) and it does seem to be a dog friendly pub...shame about the one given to strangers.
We were staying a couple of miles from the pub and may well have gone back to sample what looked like a good menu, but unfortunately for the Fox there are friendlier, quality alternatives.

Stayed: May 2017, travelled as a couple
2  Thank Steven H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 May 2017

A great place to get away from it all. The host is a good guy working very hard to make this as the customer wants.
The food was just what we wanted; there is no purpose having a huge menu.
Selections of wines offered the right balance of quality, value as well as individuality.
The setting is remarkable and needs to be seen! Great views from our bedroom.....

Room Tip: For the very best view ask for the Bridal Mews
  • Stayed: May 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Rodgpeace
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 May 2017 via mobile

Booked this break via groupon deal which read very well unfortunately this is not the case - The room was very poor quality and dirty and we have literally walked in and walked out - a promise of prossecco on arrival never appeared ham egg chips , ham sandwich and 2 waters was £28 !!! Basic pub grub very disappointing .
I'm aware this is an old pub but it needs an overhaul on an upside location is pretty but accommodation is poor please view pics

Stayed: May 2017, travelled as a couple
2  Thank PaulaAshby
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 May 2017

Good location for exploring the area. Nice well finished and sizeable double room and ensuite shower room. Lovely setting by the side of the river with extensive gardens, plenty of wildlife, great views and ample free parking.
Breakfast was ok. The bar area olde worlde, which is fine for a country pub. Food from the restaurant average in quality but high in price. Personally, I would stay here again for the accommodation but dine elsewhere.
It is out in the sticks you do need a car.
Loved the pub dog.

  • Stayed: May 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ian L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 May 2017 via mobile

Dropped in to The Fox on route back to Oxford from the Malverns. What a gem of a place to find, right on the river and the two Sunday roasts we had were fantastic. The drive down the hill to it from the A40 through the lovely Cotswold village and it's green was a treat too.

Will be going back now I know where it is.

Stayed: May 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank Jim_Oxford
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews