We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (405)
Filter reviews
405 results
Traveller rating
120
108
71
63
43
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
120
108
71
63
43
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsthe pubgreat barringtonwindrush riverbeer gardengroupon dealfull englishmain barsunny dayreal aleevening mealrelaxing staycotswold stoneshort breakcouple of nightslovely roomwarm welcomewell worth a visit
Filter
Updating list...
52 - 57 of 405 reviews
Reviewed 3 September 2017

We were attending a wedding close by and this accommodation was suggested on the invitation as somewhere to stay. It was obvious when we arrived that the owners do not value this part of their business. The Bartender was checking us in between bar customers, she was not overly welcoming and the bar area was tatty by any country pub standards. Nevertheless we were shown to our room which apparently was a Mews room and therefore commanded a higher rate of £180pn. The first thing I noticed was the loft hatch was open and remained open for the duration of our stay despite being told by the lady that she would get someone to close it. The beige carpet had a thick line of black grime all the way round the edge of the entire room, the curtains were filthy, and tea and coffee ring marks were uncleaned on the bedside tables. One major problem with this room (the one pictured above), is the fact that you have to close the curtains and blinds whilst in the room as it is overlooked from every window. Unfortunately one of the blinds was broken and so I had a job to close it. No hairdryer is in the room so my husband had to go back to the bar to ask for one. The bathroom, despite the tatty peeling plaster and make-shift shower curtain, which didn't reach around the shower, served us well with plenty of hot water and a reasonable shower.

There is a big matted hairy dog wandering about the place and it made itself at home in the dining room on a sofa during breakfast the next morning. Breakfast was mediocre and we had to go in search of someone to ask for tea and coffee. There was no choice of cooked breakfast, we were just brought a plate through. Outside, the property looks neglected and unkempt. There was a distinct lack of staff, we only saw the owners and one bartender who was there when we got back late from the wedding and a waiter at breakfast, otherwise they are trying to run this place on their own. I honestly feel that they need to seriously review their business if they want it to be successful. This was outrageously expensive for what was offered. We should not have paid more that £100 maximum.

Room Tip: Don't choose a room, look elsewhere
  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank amandainglis2016
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 September 2017

We have just returned from a family Sunday lunch at The Fox and feel very disappointed and cheated with our experience. We had previously booked ( no need the place was empty, maybe the clues were there!) we were placed in a freezing cold dinning room at sticky tables our orders were taken by a lady who didn't really engage us in friendly chat or deal with us in a professional fashion it was clear that a life in the hospitality trade was either a new undertaking or just couldn't be bothered. Most of us had roast beef which was served on cold plates with presliced cold beef with the hope that the lumpy gravy would warm it up, the only hot thing on the plate was the potatoes, there wasn't an option at any point to draw this to anyone's attention as staff just disappeared as soon as the food arrived and we weren't asked when plates were cleared if we enjoyed our meal. Puddings were much better however. A visite to the loos is not encouraged and it just high lighted the general air of dirt and poor state of decoration, the whole place needs a really good deep clean. I also wonder if having loos situated opposite the open kitchen doors is appropriate?! Another small niggle was the music, I'm not sure pop music is a good meal time accompanyment especially when it keeps buffering and stopping and starting,however if we wanted to play musical chairs between courses to keep us warm it would have been perfect! It's such a shame as the bar area is cosy and full of character it's just let down by the extreme lack of professionalism of the staff and lack of care taken with the appearance and presentation in all areas. For what it is the food is very expensive too. As it stands I sadly wouldn't recommend The Fox, it needs a really good shake up by someone who knows what they are doing in all areas of the hospitality trade.

Stayed: August 2017, travelled with family
Thank c0lbut
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 August 2017 via mobile

We stopped off here for lunch on a Friday afternoon, attracted by the location. If you're doing the same I'd suggest going elsewhere. See below for pros and cons, I've tried to be balanced but the cons definitely outweigh the pros:

Pros:

* Nice village
* Near river
* Chips were nice
* Toilets okay
* Dogs allowed

Cons:

* Food not good
* Highchair dirty with crusty food inside
* Hair in salad
* Nearly stale bread
* £8 for a child's sandwich!
* Child's salad covered in oily dressing

Stayed: August 2017, travelled with family
1  Thank Wendmeister
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 August 2017

Similar comments to level of ratings on the review listings.

The room smelt musty and of smoke it was evident that they have placed us above the kitchen as the extraction fan was reverberating through the room and did not switch off until very late and turned on again early the next morning. We were also woken up by workers putting up scaffolding outside. The heating/water system also very noisy. The room was clean although it required a number of repairs and a lick of paint.

The following morning we went down to breakfast to be provided no instruction by the waiter as to what was on offer and only directed to cooked breakfast. The breakfast was of extremely poor quality and human/animal hairs were found in the food.

Although we are fan of dogs, the large dog that was around in the pub the previous evening appeared to come from the kitchen direction turned up and sat looking for any leftovers.

All in all a very poor show for the cost, more like a £60/night 2 star establishment. We would have given this feedback on leaving but we were not offered the opportunity to give feedback and no thanks for our custom.

  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Tom E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 August 2017 via mobile

We arrived at The Fox on Sunday afternoon for an overnight stay after seeing Gifford's Circus. When we arrived the landlord was talking to the female bartender, and they carried on chatting for quite some time while we stood there waiting. A sign of what we could expect from our stay....

Our room was pleasant enough except for dirty curtains and dirty marks on the headboards from previous guests' hair.

Every interaction with the staff left us feeling that they were not interested in our needs at all - dismissive, unfriendly and just not very nice. The food was bad and expensive. The whole place was dirty - fag butts everywhere, greasy tables and dirty high chairs left lying around. We came down in the morning determined to have some kind of breakfast as the stay was not cheap, but the smell of old rancid grease was so revolting, we just left. The large dog is ever-present and sits there scratching itself while you have dinner.

We paid as we didn't feel we had much choice. Left feeling robbed. Why be in the hospitality business when you so obviously don't enjoy it....

Stayed: August 2017, travelled with friends
2  Thank SootyandJinsky
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews