We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Burford House(Burford)
US$165
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
The Highway Inn(Burford)(Great Value!)
US$125
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Burford Lodge(Burford)(Great Value!)
US$121
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Bull at Burford(Burford)(Great Value!)
US$125
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Savings alert! 18% below average rates

The price you found is 18% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$153/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Inn for All Seasons(Burford)(Great Value!)
US$117
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$114
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Savings alert! 14% below average rates

The price you found is 14% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$133/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

The Maytime Inn(Burford)(Great Value!)
US$139
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Cotswold Gateway Hotel(Burford)(Great Value!)
US$125
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Lamb Inn(Burford)
US$224
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$218
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Travelodge Burford Cotswolds(Burford)(Great Value!)
US$83
Travelodge
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
Savings alert! 19% below average rates

The price you found is 19% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$103/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Reviews (391)
Filter reviews
391 results
Traveller rating
120
106
68
59
38
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
120
106
68
59
38
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsthe pubgreat barringtonbeer gardenreal characterwindrush rivergroupon dealset us up for the daychoice of cerealsfull englishmain barsunny dayevening mealreal alerelaxing staycotswold stonebeautiful roomshort break
Filter
Updating list...
37 - 42 of 391 reviews
Reviewed 3 September 2017

Very poor looking hotel. Looked like a 2-3 star hotel!! There is a pub in front which is a bit sad looking. The rooms are OK size but facilities are poor. TV was a super mini size and poor quality one!! There are some cheap instant coffee sachets. Breakfast is also nothing special. Just OK. One major issue. A large smelly dog running around the dining area which is illegal in the U.K? This dog was smelly!!
Another issue was that each room was almost £180 per room which was far far over priced for what it is. It is only worth £70-£90 per night if you ask me. Will never use this place again. Also very poor at welcoming their guests!!

Room Tip: Waste of money and time. Stay if you really have to.
  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled on business
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank GBJUK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 September 2017

We were attending a wedding close by and this accommodation was suggested on the invitation as somewhere to stay. It was obvious when we arrived that the owners do not value this part of their business. The Bartender was checking us in between bar customers, she was not overly welcoming and the bar area was tatty by any country pub standards. Nevertheless we were shown to our room which apparently was a Mews room and therefore commanded a higher rate of £180pn. The first thing I noticed was the loft hatch was open and remained open for the duration of our stay despite being told by the lady that she would get someone to close it. The beige carpet had a thick line of black grime all the way round the edge of the entire room, the curtains were filthy, and tea and coffee ring marks were uncleaned on the bedside tables. One major problem with this room (the one pictured above), is the fact that you have to close the curtains and blinds whilst in the room as it is overlooked from every window. Unfortunately one of the blinds was broken and so I had a job to close it. No hairdryer is in the room so my husband had to go back to the bar to ask for one. The bathroom, despite the tatty peeling plaster and make-shift shower curtain, which didn't reach around the shower, served us well with plenty of hot water and a reasonable shower.

There is a big matted hairy dog wandering about the place and it made itself at home in the dining room on a sofa during breakfast the next morning. Breakfast was mediocre and we had to go in search of someone to ask for tea and coffee. There was no choice of cooked breakfast, we were just brought a plate through. Outside, the property looks neglected and unkempt. There was a distinct lack of staff, we only saw the owners and one bartender who was there when we got back late from the wedding and a waiter at breakfast, otherwise they are trying to run this place on their own. I honestly feel that they need to seriously review their business if they want it to be successful. This was outrageously expensive for what was offered. We should not have paid more that £100 maximum.

Room Tip: Don't choose a room, look elsewhere
  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank amandainglis2016
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 September 2017

We have just returned from a family Sunday lunch at The Fox and feel very disappointed and cheated with our experience. We had previously booked ( no need the place was empty, maybe the clues were there!) we were placed in a freezing cold dinning room at sticky tables our orders were taken by a lady who didn't really engage us in friendly chat or deal with us in a professional fashion it was clear that a life in the hospitality trade was either a new undertaking or just couldn't be bothered. Most of us had roast beef which was served on cold plates with presliced cold beef with the hope that the lumpy gravy would warm it up, the only hot thing on the plate was the potatoes, there wasn't an option at any point to draw this to anyone's attention as staff just disappeared as soon as the food arrived and we weren't asked when plates were cleared if we enjoyed our meal. Puddings were much better however. A visite to the loos is not encouraged and it just high lighted the general air of dirt and poor state of decoration, the whole place needs a really good deep clean. I also wonder if having loos situated opposite the open kitchen doors is appropriate?! Another small niggle was the music, I'm not sure pop music is a good meal time accompanyment especially when it keeps buffering and stopping and starting,however if we wanted to play musical chairs between courses to keep us warm it would have been perfect! It's such a shame as the bar area is cosy and full of character it's just let down by the extreme lack of professionalism of the staff and lack of care taken with the appearance and presentation in all areas. For what it is the food is very expensive too. As it stands I sadly wouldn't recommend The Fox, it needs a really good shake up by someone who knows what they are doing in all areas of the hospitality trade.

Stayed: August 2017, travelled with family
Thank c0lbut
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 August 2017 via mobile

We stopped off here for lunch on a Friday afternoon, attracted by the location. If you're doing the same I'd suggest going elsewhere. See below for pros and cons, I've tried to be balanced but the cons definitely outweigh the pros:

Pros:

* Nice village
* Near river
* Chips were nice
* Toilets okay
* Dogs allowed

Cons:

* Food not good
* Highchair dirty with crusty food inside
* Hair in salad
* Nearly stale bread
* £8 for a child's sandwich!
* Child's salad covered in oily dressing

Stayed: August 2017, travelled with family
1  Thank Wendmeister
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 August 2017

Similar comments to level of ratings on the review listings.

The room smelt musty and of smoke it was evident that they have placed us above the kitchen as the extraction fan was reverberating through the room and did not switch off until very late and turned on again early the next morning. We were also woken up by workers putting up scaffolding outside. The heating/water system also very noisy. The room was clean although it required a number of repairs and a lick of paint.

The following morning we went down to breakfast to be provided no instruction by the waiter as to what was on offer and only directed to cooked breakfast. The breakfast was of extremely poor quality and human/animal hairs were found in the food.

Although we are fan of dogs, the large dog that was around in the pub the previous evening appeared to come from the kitchen direction turned up and sat looking for any leftovers.

All in all a very poor show for the cost, more like a £60/night 2 star establishment. We would have given this feedback on leaving but we were not offered the opportunity to give feedback and no thanks for our custom.

  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Tom E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews