We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Cant wait to return”
Review of Burford Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Burford Lodge
Ranked #13 of 15 Burford B&B and Inns
Worksop, England, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“Cant wait to return”
Reviewed 16 September 2013

So glad we found this lovely Lodge. We received a 5 star welcome from the owner Sally for whom nothing was to much trouble. She made sure our bedroom was toastie warm and was very informative on the local area, best places to dine etc. We booked the four poster bed room and can certainly recommend this room and lovely comfy bed. The breakfast was also very enjoyable,
offering everything from the traditional full English to fresh strawberries. Really good value for money and we will certainly return, love this area and now love Burford Lodge.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank alyj50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

210 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    96
    59
    27
    18
    10
See reviews for
25
122
2
14
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (49)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
edinburgh
Level Contributor
25 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 September 2013

We visited the Cotswolds for the first time over a long weekend as part of a freind's wedding and our stay at Burford lodge made the experience all the more rewarding. Burford itself is beautiful and the standard of service and accomodation at Burford Lodge matched up to expectations. We were warmly greeted on arrival and given many useful tips abour places to visit and restaurants to go to.
The wedding we were going to was quite spread out and Burford isn't known for it's regular taxi service. Our hosts very kindly offered to take us back to another village where we had left the car which was hugely helpful.
The room itself was lovely, well kept and clean with a very comfy bed. Breakfast was also a hit with large range of fresh continental and cooked offerings.
Highly recommended and we would definitely return if we're in the area.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank cityhobgoblins
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oxford, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 August 2013

The new owners are doing a lovely job. The room was gorgeous, with a four poster bed and spa bath. We really enjoyed the stay and felt like we were spoiling ourselves.
The breakfast was yummy and the staff were helpful and friendly.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Deborah G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Adelaide, Australia
Level Contributor
58 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 August 2013

My husband and I stayed here for two nights. The room was small as the place was booked out and we took the only room left. Still it was lovely and we had everything we needed. The hostess, Sally was just delightful and couldn't do enough to ensure our stay was comfortable. We walked both nights to the nearby village of Burford where we enjoyed great meals at the local pubs. The village is very beautiful and well worth a visit!

The Burford Lodge breakfast was fabulous with the traditional english hot breakfast or smaller alternatives as well as a lovely selection of fresh fruit and cold options.

Room Tip: If you are carrying extra baggage or prefer more room let Sally know when booking
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PixiePam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ouagadougou
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 July 2013

If I were to sum up our experience at Burford Lodge with one word I would have to use the word, warm. We found that the warm welcome alone would draw us back again and paved the way for an enjoyable couple of days. I can't remember the last time we stayed in a B&B and was made to feel so at home. The rooms were well equipped and presented in a very attractive manor and the location was just perfect for the village with it's array of restaurant, inns and places to eat out. It was so nice to be able to just park the car and leave it there for the duration whilst we enjoyed this jewel of the Cotswold.

Thank you

Room Tip: If you are looking for accommodation close to a huge selection of places to eat out, the Burford Lod...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Andrew G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Birmingham, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
16 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 July 2013

We decided to use Burford as our hub during a short trip to the Cotswold's and wanted to stay in a hotel style B&B rather than a Mrs Miggins-with-converted-bedrooms-in-her-daughters-gap-year establishment .....Burford Lodge didn't disappoint! The welcome and service was faultless, genuine, attentive and personal without feeling in the slightest intrusive. Advice was given on where to visit for the day if you wanted it, recommendations on local eateries (and which to avoid!) and generally excellent knowledge about the area - just what you need if you're unfamiliar with where to visit.
Overall style was vintage, chic and tastefully thought through and very much reflective of this lovely building. Everywhere was spotlessly clean, the bedroom and bathroom in particular, Egyptian cotton bedding and deeply sumptuous white towelling. Quirky details such as the shower (restricted by the pitch of the roof) simply added to the charm as far as we were concerned.
It was extremely hot during our stay and the super-sonic fan provided some welcome relief during the night - this would have been no different had we been at home - the nights were sultry everywhere!
Breakfast is outstanding and drinks in the evening most welcome after a day of walking and visiting this outstanding area.
In summary, a beautiful place to stay, walking distance in to Burford, convenient for all major routes, and quite possibly the best service and welcome you're likely to receive. Prepare for something rather lovely ......

Room Tip: If you're not terribly agile call and speak to Sally prior to your visit and she will no doubt h...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Angi E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cambridge, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
42 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 July 2013

Although situated right next to the busy A40, this B&B is consequently conveniently located at the gateway to the Cotswolds, a relatively short drive from Oxford, and only a five minute walk from the very pretty village of Burford. Not being in the village itself means that parking is also easy and convenient. The proprietor is very friendly and helpful and we had a very enjoyable stay. Our room was nice and clean and the breakfasts were good. If I had to point out a couple of minor inconveniences, it would be the lack of drawer or other storage space for clothes in our room and the fact that being near such a busy road on a series of hot nights with the windows open meant that it was a little noisy.

Room Tip: If road noise bothers you, ask for a room at the back of the building away from the road.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PaulS269
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Burford hotels
0.2 mi away
Cotswold Gateway Hotel
Cotswold Gateway Hotel
#5 of 8 in Burford
506 reviews
0.4 mi away
The Bull at Burford
The Bull at Burford
#3 of 8 in Burford
516 reviews
0.1 mi away
Travelodge Burford Cotswolds
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
The Lamb Inn
The Lamb Inn
#2 of 8 in Burford
697 reviews
0.4 mi away
The Bay Tree Hotel
The Bay Tree Hotel
#4 of 8 in Burford
622 reviews
0.4 mi away
Golden Pheasant
Golden Pheasant
#8 of 8 in Burford
319 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Burford Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Burford Lodge

Property: Burford Lodge
Address: Oxford Road, Burford OX18 4PH, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cotswolds > Burford
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #13 of 15 B&Bs / Inns in Burford
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Burford Lodge 4*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Under new ownership since Spring 2012, this honey-coloured Cotswold Stone Lodge has eight individual en suite bedrooms. Our warm and welcoming small team of enthusiastic and caring local staff offer a friendly and charming atmosphere. In an area of outstanding natural beauty, the picture postcard town of Burford has a wealth of antique shops, cafes, bars, National Trust properties and delightful gardens. We serve light lunches and afternoon teas daily between 12:00 - 16:30. Our bar is open until 19:00. We hope your stay with us will be comfortable and memorable and we look forward to meeting you. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Odigeo, Expedia, Priceline, Hotel.de and Evoline ltd so you can book your Burford Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Burford Hotel Burford
Burford Lodge Oxfordshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing